Norwich Castle
Norwich Castle
4
1:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 4:30 PM
About
Built as a Norman Royal Palace and once a prison, Norwich Castle Museum and Art Gallery is packed with treasures, including fabulous fine art, archaeology, and natural history. During 2021 and 2022 construction work will be underway on the exciting Norwich Castle: Royal Palace Reborn project to transform the Castle’s Norman Keep. During these works some areas of the Castle are not accessible and this includes the main Castle Keep.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
See what travelers are saying
  • Gloggs2018
    Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France35 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    HMS Gloucester story
    Don’t miss Norwich Castle and Museum. In particularly we thoroughly enjoyed the HMS Gloucester exhibition with a fascinating tour by Nicky whose passion and knowledge of the shipwreck was captivating. Allow at least 3 hours to enjoy all areas that the museum has to offer.
    Thank you so much for the review from your time spent at Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were also able to see the Gloucester Exhibition in all its glory. We will also pass on your comments to Nicky who provided your Tour on the day. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank You
    Written October 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 12, 2023
  • Swedishtomcat
    Diss, United Kingdom4,362 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Castle currently closed
    Unfortunately, the castle is undergoing significant renovations so isn’t currently open to the public. We did still get to visit the Castle Museum and Art Gallery which were fine. The museum does feel a bit dated, however, the exhibition about HMS Gloucester was rather good. The entry fee included a free ticket to the Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell which is worth visiting.
    Thank you so much for your comments on your visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. As you note the Castle Keep itself is closed due to the ongoing Keep Project works being undertaken. We have reduced the admission price to reflect this and the offer of the voucher for the Museum of Norwich is also included. Which we are glad you also enjoyed visiting. We are also glad to read that you were able to enjoy the Gloucester Exhibition during your visit too. We look forward to welcoming you back Many thanks
    Written October 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 27, 2023
  • Andy F
    Devizes, United Kingdom1,253 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Bit Disappointing
    Not the most brilliant visit, as the actual castle keep is closed for major renovations. Had to make do with a tour of the various galleries in the associated building. The exhibition on the raising of The Gloucester was interesting, but the Victorian-era galleries of stuffed birds & animals looked a bit old-fashioned & tatty. Bottom line is you can only seev the castle itself from the outside at the moment.
    Thank you so much for your review on your visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We hope you enjoyed the highlights tour you were able to join and learn more about the items in the galleries. We are looking forward to the having the Keep back once the works are complete and welcoming in visitors to the displays and galleries which will be open in 2024. We have ensured we have a good varied of our large collections are still available to be viewed but we have had to make sure we are careful with placements due to external factors. We do hope you will return in 2024 when the Castle Keep project is completed Thank you
    Written October 23, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written July 4, 2023
  • Keith J
    North Wales, United Kingdom229 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Only partially open what is available is old fashioned and not that impressive.
    The castle and parts of the museum are currently closed for restoration. The attached museum building is however open. It consists of a number of galleries around a central café area. The galleries consist principally of displays of stuffed animals, archaeology, and art. Due to their age many of the animals coats are faded, and no longer give a true representation as to the appearance of the animals. Such displays are somewhat outdated and of limited educational value in the days of the internet. Art is very much a matter of personal choice. As such I enjoyed viewing some of the paintings but not all. For some reason, I didn't discover, a few of the paintings are hung upside down. In an upstairs circular area accessed from the café is a small military collection. There are good toilet facilities in the museum. I would consider the 'reduced' admission price of £7.40 to still be too expensive for what is currently available to view. There is however a twilight admission charge of £2.50 for the last hour of opening which is a fairer price. Admission is included in the Norfolk Museum Pass.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit to Norwich Castle Musuem and Art Galleries. We appreciate the comments you have made and we were glad to hear you were able to explore the Galleries that are currently open. The upside paintings are part of an ongoing exhibition we have Mark Wilsher: Five Paintings: Norwich-based artist and curator, Mark Wilsher, has chosen five paintings from the permanent collections to be hung upside down. With this intriguing intervention he introduces the element of surprise into the galleries. This exhibition closes at the end of March. Thank you also for your comments on the current admission price, we have reduced our ticket price to reflect what the visitor journey does include and we are also offering vouchers with bought tickets to our Museum of Norwich at the Bridewell also, which we hope you were able to visit. Thank you
    Written February 27, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written October 26, 2023
  • Peter R
    Dartford, United Kingdom1,244 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Partially closed
    Unfortunately, the castle is currently closed for renovation work but the attached museum is still open. The museum entrance fee is £7.40 or £7 for concessions, this fee also covers the Museum at the Bridewell, but we felt was still a bit expensive for what was on offer. Once inside, the first galleries contain glass display cases containing stuffed animals which will not be to all people’s taste. From the central café area various other galleries radiate out, we managed to join a guided tour which I would recommend, this took us around the various galleries pointing out some of the exhibits. When we visited there was an exhibition of Industrial Photography of Walter & Rita Nurnberg which was quite interesting.
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written February 28, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,303 reviews
Excellent
1,149
Very good
718
Average
281
Poor
98
Terrible
57

197hannah
Norwich, UK2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Family
Today we visited the castle with our 5 year old daughter.
Seemed strange to me that they don’t open till 1pm on a Sunday?
My daughter was really excited to visit as she has been learning about castles at school. However we were all very disappointed once we got inside!
Inside the keep there is hardly anything to see, apart from the well the room is almost empty! You can no longer go downstairs due to work being done however when I looked online to look at opening times this information didn’t come up, so please be aware! It does say on the website but only if you click on the link.
The children’s corner was a few books and dressing up items, nothing else!
I asked in the shop if we could buy a guide book for her to take in to school but apparently they are no longer available. Nothing for the children to take away?
VERY disappointed when we have paid nearly £30 to get in! I don’t understand why admission costs haven’t been made cheaper when you can’t view everything. My daughter was bored after an hour so we left. Don’t waste your money!
Written January 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit. Norwich Castle Keep is currently clear of museum objects as we prepare for our major redevelopment, however this offers a unique opportunity to view the Keep in this way and we have tried to add extra interpretation with pop-up banners on the Castle's history and additional guided tours that are included with admission. As well as the children's area you mentioned in the Keep, we also have a variety of other activities across the museum including trails, colouring and interactive areas with things to smell, touch and hear. With a wide range of other galleries and changing exhibitions, we feel our ticket price still offers good value for money. We do appreciate that some of our visitors may only want to visit one or two things in the museum, and we still offer our twilight tickets at £2 per person for the last hour of the day every day. This can often be a good option for those wanting to make a quick visit.
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

fork_handles
Luton, UK2,088 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
We visited Norwich Castle on a dull afternoon in August 2021. When you're walking up to the castle through the Castle Gardens, it is very hard to see where the entrance is, as there are a lot of hoardings up due to building work, there needs to be more signs especially near the bridge entrance. Eventually we found a fire exit that was in use as the entrance, again this was not especially clear. We arrived 1 hour before closing so only paid £2 per head which was a bonus as at no point was it made clear that there was no access whatsoever to the actual castle building!

There are a number of displays about Norfolk life, paintings and stuffed animals as well as a military museum, all of which were a bit depressing and not really the 'castle' that we were expecting.

When closing time was announced, we could not find the exit as again it was very poorly signed / non-existent! In the end a member of staff had to show us the way out. There are also 'Victorian Toilets' signed, as if they are something to visit, but certainly the gents was in pretty poor condition and not really particularly notable architecturally.

Overall fairly poor and precious little to do with the castle, more like a slightly dull county museum. Bonus was it was cheap and we didn't feel like we'd wasted much money on the thing.
Written August 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We are sorry to hear your visit was not what you expected. During out current Keep Project: Palace Reborn we have had to make a few adjustments to the site, as you would have seen from your visit. We are continuously reviewing our signage externally and internally and comments like yours do help in this process to ensure we are getting the correct messaging across to our visitors. We have recently had another change inside the site and we will be looking at adding additional signage to make areas, such as the exit clearer to find then what we currently have. We are also working with the Keep Project team to look at ways we can get more information in the museum about the works and the history of the Castle. Reviews like this help us know what the visitors are experiencing when on site, so we thank you again for this review. Thank You.
Written September 6, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BeckyontheRadio
Chelmsford, UK36 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
We felt rather let down by our trip to the castle. Staff were really friendly got us in before a large group of school kids. You're advised to book ahead, which we did and paid £14 for but looking at their sheet, we were only one of two people that had actually done this so I'm sure we'd have got in fine without booking ahead. Lots of the castle is closed off due to building works which was disappointing, but we were warned ahead that a few areas would be shut off. Lots of taxidermy if that's not your thing (much like myself). There wasn't really much about the castle itself which was disappointing. The grounds were disgusting, lots of rubbish and stinking of weed. They do give you free entry to the Bridewell museum but once we'd taken 30 minutes around the castle, we'd had enough exploring. It was a shame because the staff were so friendly.
Written May 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for feedback on your recent visit to the Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We will pass you compliments on to our Front of House team as you took the time to mention how friendly they had been. We do advise to book ahead because of restrictions on capacity due to health & safety and we often have large group bookings which can affect this. The Castle keep is undergoing a major redevelopment for our Place Reborn Project, you can find further information on this at https://www.museums.norfolk.gov.uk/norwich-castle/castle-keep-transformation We have reduced our prices to reflect this and the complimentary voucher you were given for Museum of Norwich can at be used any time. We hope to be able to welcome you to the Museum of Norwich soon. Thank you
Written May 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nrharley
Bournemouth, UK15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Castle is closed and the museum is not interactive so limiting for young children.
A lot of money to essentially look at some taxidermy and paintings and not actually seen any of the castle. Staff were fairly welcoming but it’s not worth the money.
Written July 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to us, we am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. Unfortunately, there was limited interactive's available for our younger visitors however, we are working with other departments in the Museum to reintroduce these as soon as we can, we have recently reinstalled interactive points in our Natural History Galleries and hoping to do the same in our other galleries in the near future. We have reduced our admission prices to coincide with what we do have on offer and we also ensure we take comments and reviews, such as yours, on board to deliver the best experience we can. Your praise to the team will also be passed on and is very much appreciated. Thank you
Written August 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cycad
Criccieth, UK44 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Couples
The castle is situated at the top of quite a steep hill. As can be seen from previous reviews, the castle itself is shut fo renovation work costing £13.5m. Fair enough. BUT there should be a notice AT THE BOTTOM of the hill stating this to be the case and adding that the museum is open BUT only on a reduced basis. Ticket prices for the museum also need to be made clear at the bottom of the hill. We walked up and gave the museum a look before paying. Very dull did not pay the entrance fee, walked back with a very bad impression of Norwich.
Written September 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review on your recent visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Gallery. We are currently working with other departments to look at the external signage we have and will soon be making amendments to this, so what is open is available prior to coming on site. We have also taken note on the comment regarding advertising ticket costs and will also review this. Whilst the Keep project is undertaken our Museum and Art Galleries are still open offering lots for visitors to see and we also have a Cafe and Shop inside which are both open. As you noted we have reduced the price to match what we are currently offering. We really appreciate visitors taking the time to review their visits as we can understand what visitors are experiencing when they do visit us and also help us identify areas we can improve on to make the visit more enjoyable. Many thanks
Written September 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Catkins77
Dubai, United Arab Emirates21 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
Having paid our 20 pounds for entry (one couple), we were then informed that there were no artifacts in the castle due to maintenance works. Oh and the dungeon/basement area where the prison was located was also closed. Great, so we essentially wandered around an empty, square, stone building. I was furious! Why doesn’t the Castle staff mention this before you stump up your cash?! Yes, we did go on to the museum but it was the castle we really wanted to see.

Don’t waste your money.
Written March 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit and I apologise if the ongoing changes were not fully communicated to you by staff. Whilst the Castle Keep is currently clear of museum objects in preparation for our redevelopment project, we have prioritised keeping as much of the space open for as long as possible. The basement floor is closed as it is an active archaeological site, but the main floors above remain open and currently offer a unique opportunity to view more of the original architecture in this area of the building. We have also increased our tours of the Keep to try and help make sure that visitors can get the most out of this space during this period of change. With a wide variety of other galleries and collections, we aim to offer something for all visitors. I'm sorry if we did not meet your expectations during this visit but hope we might be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Written March 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jules
11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Family
We knew the castle was closed due to renovation, but decided to visit anyway, whilst we were in the city. Greeted by lovely staff, on the door and inside. Spent a good couple of hours wandering around the galleries, particularly enjoyed the textile exhibition, & natural history. Went with my 14 year old daughter & we both loved it. Obviously, it’s much better with full access, but I think the reduction in price is a fair compensation for what’s missing.
Written October 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review on your recent visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We are so glad to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us and glad to also read great comments on our new Textile Exhibition. We really value our visitor feedback to ensure we are giving each visitor the best experience, even before they have stepped through our doors. Many thanks Alicia
Written October 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

guy c
Leeds, UK96 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
We visited late afternoon on a Friday and were delighted to read, that entry price after 3.30pm was reduced to £2 for adults as opposed to the standard price.
A super saving. Ok, it closes at 4.30pm, but it is great value for a whistle stop tour.
Enjoyed the paintings and Norfolk wildlife displays in particular.
Written February 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Emma R
Shrewsbury, UK141 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Norman castle sitting proudly above a man made mound specifically to raise the castle to a defensive position. It stands very proudly and quite impressive and imposing. Was quite surprised at how good the museum was and how much it had to offer from military memorabilia, art to Anglo Saxon and Roman history. 2 hours wasn’t enough. Recommend taking the free tour. Takes half hour but is worth it as interesting background from its build through to its time as a prison. It is due to close April 20 for refurb back into a royal palace. Will definitely be revisiting to see more of the museum and how it would have looked in king Henry’s day
Written January 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad you found so much to explore during your visit! We look forward to welcoming you again when our redevelopment is completed!
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicola S
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Solo
I loved the museum- extremely pleasant, helpful and well-informed staff. It isn’t their fault that there are renovations going on and they were extremely apologetic. Given the warnings when I booked about restricted access and parts being closed, my visit exceeded my expectations, particularly for only £6.00!
Good value and a lovely experience!
Written August 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review of your recent visit to Norwich Castle Museum and Art Galleries. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, even with the on going redevelopment works we have underway. As the Keep Project moves forward more of the Site will be slowly opened back to the public and we will have more to offer our visitors.
Written August 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,225
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Norwich Castle

All Norwich HotelsNorwich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Norwich
All things to do in Norwich
Casinos & Gambling in Norwich
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars