We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Water Rats

#47 of 1,339 Nightlife in London
Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Share
Review Highlights
The water rats fine dine : )

Price is reasonable with good customer service from waiter. Ordered Sirloin steak at 12 pound only... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
Kevin W
,
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
via mobile
Water Rats

Popped here for a few drinks, very lovely venue with live music in the evenings, lots of history to... read more

Reviewed September 8, 2018
Archer1129
,
Hawarden, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 237 reviews
84
All photos (84)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“nice pub”(9 reviews)
“music venue”(5 reviews)
About
The music club that hosted Bob Dylan in 1963. Live Venue, Gastro Pub, Breakfasts, Real Ales, Comedy Club, Live Bands, Cocktail Bar - Open 8.30am till Midnight 7 days a week - available for private hire and special events
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
328 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8BZ, England
Website
+44 20 7833 3312
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $32.60
More Info
from $62.60
More Info
from $43.00
More Info
from $19.60
More Info
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
76
51
13
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
76
51
13
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice pub music venue grays inn road intimate gig sunday roast lucas arms kings x katy perry kings cross st pancras great history bar staff stage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great food, fantastic atmosphere and pleasant service. We were looking for a place for a late dinner as soon as we arrived in London and this place was recommended at the reception of our hotel - we were not disappointed. Place has it all!

Thank LeenAmro
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying nearby and ate here twice on our trip. The staff were very friendly & service was much better than other restaurants we had tried. Very cozy atmosphere & yummy food! The mac & cheese is delicious! We also tried the fish and...More

Thank Jessica Z
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review - we will be sure to inform the staff that their friendliness was noticed and commented upon - it is always a delight to read positive feedback We are open from...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great venue, easy to find, excellant food before the performance. Staff helpfull and attentive, lovely waiter. All good. No complaints.More

Thank Suegibbo
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are delighted to read that you had a good experience whilst you were visiting us here at The Water Rats Indeed we are in a very good location for transport links, there are good stations at Kings Cross, St Pancras International and Euston, a...More

Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Staying at Hotel next door. The bar tender scowled at my American accent.. Rather unfriendly.. one of the most poorly designed bars I have ever sat at.. no way to sit straight..no room for legs. Food standard pub food.More

Thank Peter B
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time out to come here and write your review - we are unsure of why you felt it was an American accent that caused you to feel as though the bar tender 'scowled' we have a great many Americans that...More

Reviewed October 1, 2018

The environment is a little tense in there, I can't really pinpoint why but it was not a relaxing place to have a beer at all and I was annoyed that there was a minimum for using a credit card - very few places do...More

1  Thank 0emmast
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Firstly we would like to address that you felt we were an 'unpleasant bar' - our website and Facebook clearly show internal images of our establishment which we believe give a good reflection of our furniture, atmosphere and surroundings it therefore is a surprise to...More

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Ordered orange juice on entering & a jug of tap water, 15 minutes and still waiting, just keep getting told it will arrive, it did after twenty minutes, I had to ask again for the water which did eventually arrive. We ordered Eggs benedict &...More

Thank John_Do999999
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

It is always difficult for us to read negative reviews, however we take on board all comments, suggestions and recommendations with a view to making improvements so that our customers experience a positive time and will most likely encourage a repeat visit It would of...More

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Price is reasonable with good customer service from waiter. Ordered Sirloin steak at 12 pound only (promo day) Unaware there is live band on selected day as well. Check it out if u prefer some music to go along !More

Thank Kevin W
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

On Mondays we offer Sirloin Steak and Chips for £12.50 which is proving to be exceptionally popular and we sell out most Mondays, several people now book tables to be sure they do not miss the offer We have a long history of being a...More

Reviewed September 21, 2018

Unfortunately we did not about this restaurant earlier because we would have gone everyday. We were a group of 4 people trying to find a restaurant to host us on Sunday evening. A lot of restaurants were refusing us since it was 9pm. However the...More

Thank Rachel S
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

A great review and we thank you for taking the time to come here and write it - we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience when you visited us, often many venues in the area are closed early on a Sunday or...More

Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Popped here for a few drinks, very lovely venue with live music in the evenings, lots of history to the place. Drinks a tad on the expensive side, even only across the road the prices are much cheaper. Overall a nice venue and worth a...More

Thank Archer1129
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for coming here to write your review, we do have a lot of history and value keeping the live music part of the venue alive and well for many of our customers to enjoy and participate in We did a lot of research...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018

My wife and I had two full English breakfasts. The food was good. The service was excellent - friendly, smiling waiters. The place is very clean. I watched the waiters really clean up after each table. At the back is a theatre/stage which looked interesting....More

Thank Hey_Just_Visiting
GrayRat S, Public Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

We are delighted that you have given us such a positive review, it makes all the work that the staff do feel worth it and they feel valued when our customers take the time to come here and inform others of their experience - we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,087 nearby hotels
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
5,438 reviews
.02 miles away
Arriva Hotel
815 reviews
.06 miles away
Hotel Montana Excel
421 reviews
.09 miles away
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
1,786 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 25,457 nearby restaurants
Aux Pains de Papy
254 reviews
.04 miles away
Cappadocia
304 reviews
.06 miles away
Best Mangal Kings Cross Branch
497 reviews
.12 miles away
The Lucas Arms
302 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6,388 nearby attractions
The Meeting Place Statue, St. Pancras Station
36 reviews
.20 miles away
The Church Of The Holy Cross
6 reviews
.12 miles away
The Camden Centre
7 reviews
.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kevin B
April 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from pjb945 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure exactly. But the staff are helpful and I feel sure they would sort something!
0
Votes