The Shadow Lounge
The Shadow Lounge
4
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Monday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Friday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 PM - 3:00 AM
About
A late night dance club with a reputation for attracting top celebrities and associated long lines. Shadow Lounge is Europe's original gay members club.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Soho
The go-to district for a good time in London, Soho hosts a wealth of world-class theatres and a compelling lineup of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars, and clubs. At Soho's core is London's original Red Light District and the epicenter of the LGBT scene – and thus the city's hottest nightlife. For shopping enthusiasts, Soho is not only the home of London's greatest concentration of boutique shops, but also the most strategic place to set off on a tour of the world's most celebrated department stores. In the southern part of the neighborhood lies Chinatown, with its multitude of delicious and affordable restaurants. Closer to the Thames, Chinatown's narrow and teeming lantern-lit lanes spill onto the expansive hub of glitzy Leicester Square.
How to get there
  • Piccadilly Circus • 4 min walk
  • Leicester Square • 5 min walk
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
91 reviews
Excellent
59
Very good
15
Average
2
Poor
7
Terrible
8

Sebastian V
Bucharest, Romania1 contribution
Jul 2016 • Business
I had a booking a couple of weeks back and I must say I highly rate this place. It was my first visit there and from the very beginning when we booked the table, the service was impeccable. On the night, the security, the waiters and overall the entire atmosphere was incredible. Can't wait for my next visit.
Written July 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shakiralondon
560 contributions
Jul 2015 • Friends
The Shadow Lounge has changed and improved in the last decade. I remember the venue being a place where only exclusive people would enter. The layout before was okay - though it felt a bit squashed. Today the venue looks and feels very different, more spacious, friendlier staff, and there is even a LGBTQ friendly night on Wednesdays': Bombshell. It's nice to be able to compare how a venue was and how it has changed today; for the best! Be sure to call the club directly and talk to the pompous and friendly Cat or any of the staff members on the guest list team. Thanks for the countless guest-list adds team. Luv, Shakira. X
Written July 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Shakira, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that Shadow Lounge manages to deliver an environment where you and your friends come back time and time again. Since the refurbishment we have tried to create a more contemporary feel as well as a familiar atmosphere, as it is one of our beliefs that everyone is part of the Shadow family. We hope to keep on surprising you and providing the right location to create many wonderful memories. Whenever you would like to come to see us again, please let us know and it would me our pleasure to organize something for you. The easiest way to do that is on 0207 317 9270 of alternatively on info@theshadowlounge.co.uk Many thanks. The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written July 30, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Piotr J
2 contributions
Jun 2015 • Friends
I love Shadow Lounge. The club is clean, nice and costumer service is just the way I like. I am there quite often and always I am in Shadow Lounge I have so much fun.
Written June 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Piotr, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to see that we continue to meet your expectations and provide a great night out for you and your friends. Recently we have launched our new nights, Playground and ShadowMasochism and we hope to see you enjoying yourself soon. Whenever you would like to come to see us again, please let us know and it would me our pleasure to organize something for you. The easiest way to do that is on 0207 317 9270 of alternatively on info@theshadowlounge.co.uk Many thanks. The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written June 11, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tania M
3 contributions
Jun 2014
The rudest door staff ever, for a private party. Even worst. Left drink at the door to go for a smoke on door staff request. 2 min, drinks gone. Door staff saying it s not their responsibility in such a rude way. They lost 10 guests in 5 min who will never come back and will never give a good word about this place in the london gay scene.
Written June 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Tania, Thank you so much for your feedback. since your review, however, we have continued to improve and deliver a clean and superior service to all of our guests. We hope to see you in our venue soon in order to offer you a chance to experience Shadow Lounge again. Please let us know when you and your friends would like to come next at info@theshadowlounge.co.uk or alternatively on 0207 317 9270. Many thanks, The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written May 9, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ChristopherL11
44 contributions
Over priced rude staff who kick you off a table because there friends have arrived. The people in there are either 40plus trying too hard to be 25 or too young to be up too no good. The lighting is amazing and a wast improvement on before. If you do get a booth you can't see the floor properly. There was the constant smell of fireworks as as people competed over champagne. Overall too much effort.
Written June 21, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Christopher, Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking our to hear our customers thoughts and are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not everything you wanted it to be. We are always improving and so we hope to see you back soon in order to maybe change your mind. Please let us know when you and your friends would like to come next at info@theshadowlounge.co.uk or alternatively on 0207 317 9270. Many thanks, The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written May 9, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fox M
London, UK113 contributions
As clubs go the music is good. The people are nice (although there are loads of posers) However 2 things that stick in the forefront of my mind are 1. It was too busy, maybe there should be a cap on the number of people being let in. 2. I was asked on more than one occasion if I wanted drugs. I personally am not a drug taker so found it inappropriate.
Written June 6, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Fox, Thank you so much for your feedback. As a venue we have a zero policy to drugs and so we ask our customers to signal any fraudulent activity in order to provide a clean night and an amazing experience. We are sorry to hear that we did not meed your expectations, but we hope to have another chance to maybe change that. Please let us know when you and your friends would like to come next at info@theshadowlounge.co.uk or alternatively on 0207 317 9270. Many thanks, The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written May 9, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stokey82
London81 contributions
Jul 2016 • Solo
I rocked up to the Shadow Lounge at 11.30pm after a few drinks in Soho and the bouncer let me in no questions asked (being a pretty girl and all that :p)
The club was EMPTY and remained so until roughly 1.30am when it became half full only.
The clientele was not that select with quite a few straight men (in a couple of cases with their GFs) hanging around and tourists in trainers, flip-flop, and shorts.
3 resident dancers performed so beautifully a few times which was a nice distraction. A lot of girls walked in, bought drinks, and left before even finishing them (I presume to do with the lack of atmosphere as well as the odd mix of party-goers).
The reality of the night was a far cry from the reviews online and I'm not saying this to be mean but to warn anyone who's looking for a good dance vibe, I did find this to be the place. However, the DJ was superb!! The music itself fabulous.
The cocktails at £8.50 are reasonably priced but badly made, my bartender -who was a super nice guy- struggled with both the Mojito and Porn Star Martini.
I was searching for a great dance atmosphere to simply have a boogie and some clean fun and the club did not offer me that...
Written July 24, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mariano T
13 contributions
Jun 2016 • Friends
Shadow Lounge used to be a great place to party. But since the refurbishments, the place looks awful, and the doormen have become umbearable. I went there for my stag, my friends were already in, and I was not allowed in "because of how I was dressed". I offered to change and they said no. So basically they ruined my stag. It's just a basement that thinks it's something special. Don't bother.
Written June 6, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Justin Y
Houston, Texas, United States6 contributions
May 2015 • Couples
Douche bag central. The bouncer are above themselves and want to let thinks and coke heads to the front of the line. We had an ungrateful "sigh" when checking our passports.

As American tourists, avoid this place at all costs. The tab amounts depend among the bar tenders, as the same drinks are charged different amounts among each bar tender. Two single jack and coke can range from €11.50 to €22 depending on the bar tender.

The layout it tiny... Dallas and Houston have better clubs, larger dance floors and much better sound systems. This hole in the wall had no bass what so ever.
Written May 16, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Justin, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback from your experience in Shadow Lounge. We are sorry to hear that your night was not as pleasant as we would have liked it to be. There are couple of reasons why this may be. In regards to the various prices on drinks my only explanation would be that you have had a both house and premium drinks from the same type of alcohol (example: prices are different for each type of vodka). If you have notified a member of staff I am certain that they would have helped with this misunderstanding. The Shadow Lounge is a members club and this is one of the reasons why the space allows not more than 280 people at the same time. In terms of music we have completely changed our sound system which was designed by the same company that has designed a number of clubs in Ibiza. The reason why there are not speakers on the stairs and outside the main room is because we don’t encourage people to stay there (due to health and safety reasons on the night). We understand that you were on holiday and you are currently not able to revisit us but we would like to invite you back and hopefully improve your experience in the venue. If you are unable to make it but you have any friends around who would like to take this opportunity and report to you their experience they are more than welcome to do so. Our team always provides the best customer service possible and we would really appreciate the opportunity to change your impression of Shadow Lounge. Please, do contact us on pavel.stoychev@novusleisure.com (Sales and Events Manager) or +44 (0) 207 317 9270. Many thanks, The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written May 20, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris G
4 contributions
Jun 2014
Visited this venue for a friend's party yesterday night (7th June) and was first taken by the bad management at the door. The staff seem very unorganised and confused. The guest list seemed to have gone out the window, and we were asked how many of us they were. As the night went on, the venue became increasingly bonged out with their smoke machine which left a thick fog circulating throughout the night. Could barely see toward the end. Genuinely surprised about how smoked out it was. Didn't overly rate the place. 3/10
Written June 8, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Chris, Thank you so much for your feedback. Since your visit we have continued to adapt and improve and we hope that on your next visit you will notice that. the smoke machine has been adjusted and changed and so we hope you will enjy your next night in Shadow. Please let us know when you and your friends would like to come next at info@theshadowlounge.co.uk or alternatively on 0207 317 9270. Many thanks, The Shadow Lounge Events Team
Written May 9, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 91
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

The Shadow Lounge (London) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about The Shadow Lounge

The Shadow Lounge is open:
  • Mon - Sat 9:00 PM - 3:00 AM


Restaurants near The Shadow Lounge: View all restaurants near The Shadow Lounge on Tripadvisor