We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: 87 Noel Road | N1 8HD, London, England
Phone Number: 020 7354 8741
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Description:

A truly unique pub in the heart of Islington.As the only pub in the British...

A truly unique pub in the heart of Islington.As the only pub in the British Isles to bear the name, The Island Queen really is one of a kind. Tucked away on Islington's quiet backstreets, "the Queen" is a quaint oasis of comfy sofas, high ceilings and intriguing original features reminiscent of a classic London gin palace. Our deceptively bijou bar serves a gargantuan range of speciality drinks, while our colonial-inspired interior - embellished by etched glass and hand-painted mirrors - makes for a uniquely cosy backdrop in which to savour them.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 24 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Great looking, but still the least good pub in the area

The Island Queen looks truly marvelous and maybe has the best atmosphere in the area. It's very comfortable and is probably very nice for a tourist. However, both the beers... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed March 5, 2016
Renton2B
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
London, England
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

A nice evening, but the food is incredibly overpriced and really pretty poor in standard, and the staff were rude especially around closing time. Wouldn't recommend or return.

Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyAfternoon
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your most recent experience with us. Our pricing policy is in line with the pubs in the surrounding area. We have introduced a new menu in the last week which has some great new tastes. We hope you find this better value. Please direct message us to go into further detail regarding... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

Expected a little more given the prices; ordered fish and chips the fish was clearly oven cooked from frozen and the chips were cold and under cooked, the lease served with the meal were overly minted, it was akin to eating mint purée. Probably okay for drinks but give the food miss

Helpful?
1 Thank Isobelle B
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our fish and chips on your most recent visit. we would like to assure you that we never cook fish from frozen. On the introduction of our new menu we have changed the fish we use to line caught cod and people are really enjoying the meal. We hope this one negative... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

The Island Queen looks truly marvelous and maybe has the best atmosphere in the area. It's very comfortable and is probably very nice for a tourist. However, both the beers and the food are quite poor. Go to the Earl of Essex instead. Or well, have a drink at both!

Helpful?
Thank Renton2B
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent visit. We take the opinions of our guests seriously and we are constantly changing and rotating our food and drink selection to try and find the best fit for everyone. We are truly sorry that the food and drink selection did not live up to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

This popular pub (best to book ahead at peak times...) is in a nice historic building with high ceilings and a tropical theme to the decor, a few moments’ walk from the canal. Does good Sunday roasts including a veggie option, not cheap but a fairly standard price for the area.

Helpful?
Thank MPriaulx
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit. Just to let you know we are constantly on the hunt for new and exciting items to enhance the character and honour the long standing history of this fantastic place, which we love very much. Hope to see you again soon Andy More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Chose to stop at this Pub for lunch on a walk along The Regents Canal after seeing what looked like an interesting menu. The staff were friendly and helpful, the beer in good condition but the food was only average. I had a beef&Ale pie with seasonal veg. Tasted OK, pastry a bit heavy duty, the gravy came up in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rudigar
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

Myself and all the guys here were so happy to know that you enjoyed our service and the quality of beers we have available. Our product range is constantly changing and we always have something new and exciting to offer on our pumps. Sorry to hear that the food was not up to scratch on this occasion but please know... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

I booked this pub ( had not been before) on the strength of their website pushing their Sunday roasts as being the best ever, and the mostly positive reviews etc. We were a party of six - mixed ages, family and friends eagerly looking forward to a brilliant Sunday roast - for Sunday at 3.30 and booked the Wednesday before,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
IslandQueen2016, General Manager at Island Queen, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Myself and my management team took over at the beginning of September and it has taken some time in order to iron out all of the problems that we faced. From reading your review we see that you came across many of them too. I am really sorry that you have a negative experience with us but we... More 

Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Went here for a friends birthday party. A table had been reserved for us and was ready and clear on arrival. Lots of beers, lagers, craft beers to choose from, as well as some cocktails and a good gin and tonic menu. We all (10 of us) had food and it was all well cooked and tasty and delivered quickly,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PeteGreensmith
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I have been visiting the Island Queen since I first came to London over third years ago so when my sister was in town to visit we went there with my daughter and grand-daughters. It was a lovely a day and most people were outside. We were the only people sitting inside and it was very nice with great service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

I'm not normally one to complain but the staff in this pub are shockingly rude and have no idea about customer service or general politeness. We were given the menu from the night before which wasn't accurate, we tried order two bottles of wine that were on the list but they didn't have either and they tried to serve our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Aesthetically a beautiful old pub but so badly run. The food is really quite poor - the burgers were pretty pathetic (see picture) and the chicken Caesar salad was drowned in Mayo and, for some inexplicable reason, had a solitary anchovy in it. Sadly too they have no idea on service. The staff are quite sweet but without wanting to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klauskii

Travelers who viewed Island Queen also viewed

 

Been to Island Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island Queen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?