We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Laboratory Spa and Health Club

The Avenue | Muswell Hill, London, England
+44 20 8482 3000
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice place !

We found this place at the very last minutes (1 week before and for 5 girls !!). We booked a spa... read more

Reviewed May 24, 2016
LaxBelette
,
Paris, France
5 Star Health Club in North London. Period.

As an experienced and well travelled user of gyms and health clubs (yes there is a difference!) I... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2016
KB6666
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 55 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good14%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible18%
Jan 15, 2018
“Non members prioritised in private lesson”
Nov 27, 2017
“Spinning classes at Muswell Hill - great motivational instructors, shame about management!”
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
LOCATION
The Avenue | Muswell Hill, London, England
Clapham / Battersea 
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 8482 3000
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $36.90
More Info
from $45.40
More Info
from $130.60
More Info
from $112.20
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

11 - 20 of 55 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2016

We found this place at the very last minutes (1 week before and for 5 girls !!). We booked a spa day + 1 treatment for a friend and we had a small lunch as well. Lunch was a little too salty but still very...More

Thank LaxBelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

As an experienced and well travelled user of gyms and health clubs (yes there is a difference!) I have to say that the Lab is not your run-of-the-mill health clubs. Yes it is not cheap (but you get what you pay for). Its very clean....More

Thank KB6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

This looked like my dream pool, so when I finally made it there for swimming lessons, I was quite disappointed. The pool was crowded and noisy, but, worse, the staff were very mean with towels. They wouldn’t give me a towel for sauna - despite...More

1  Thank Una M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2016

I went on a guest pass and did the Body pump class and really loved it. Will definitely go back. The gym is very clean and the staff were very kind and friendly. The pool and spa area,which was apparently redone last year looks fantastic....More

Thank IngridP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

I have not been yet, but just recently booked myself a spa day with my mum (part of which was a voucher, otherwise I certainly would of asked for a full refund). I called once to book - person on the phone took my details...More

1  Thank Latranla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2015

Not like it used to be. They do not maintain and renovate anywhere near enough. The changing rooms and walkway to pool are often dirty. I joined because it was that much nicer than the the others and it was worth paying the premium but...More

4  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb B, General Manager at The Laboratory Spa and Health Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Dear Simon, Thankyou for posting your feedback. In order to isolate areas of specific improvement we have recently set up an ongoing mystery shopper programme, however I would like to explore a little more by what you mean in your post. Could you perhaps email...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

I used to really like going to the lab but recently the staff have become incredibly rude, some of the machines are rusty, the boxing gloves are disgusting and there's never enough room or equipment on the mats. Its just generally a really bad experience,...More

7  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb B, General Manager at The Laboratory Spa and Health Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Hi Dave, Firstly thank you for taking the time to comment and we’re sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Lab Muswell Hill. We are currently in the process of re-fitting and re-designing the gym and decided not to close which would have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

I just want to take a moment to say a huge thanks to the caring and efficient staff who acted promptly and professionally during an incident I had at the pool a few days ago. It gave me a scare but they managed to keep...More

1  Thank Atia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb B, General Manager at The Laboratory Spa and Health Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Thank you for this lovely review and for your beautiful flowers! The pleasure is all ours, we are just all thankful that you were ok, and as you said, that it ended up not being serious. We look forward to seeing you in the club...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2015

Terrible terrible company do NOT go there. Booked an appointment and turned up only to be told it was not at that branch but the other side of London. Said they would not refund the fee even though no therapy was provided and charged me...More

6  Thank MoFiz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb B, General Manager at The Laboratory Spa and Health Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Sir, From what we understand of the incident, the miscommunication was all yours, however to meet you half way we offered and applied a very generous 50% reduction in the cost. "The other side of London" only happened to be 15 minutes away of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

I love this place. At first i really didn't want to pay so much for a gym, but then one of the managers by the name of Hilary offered me a week free trial and by day 3 i was hooked! Not only has this...More

1  Thank NickyMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seb B, General Manager at The Laboratory Spa and Health Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Thankyou for your lovely comment of which I have passed onto the team. We get into this business to truly make a difference and change peoples lives so feedback like this is music to our ears. Look forward to seeing you in the Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,081 hotels in London
National Hotel
153 reviews
.57 miles away
Muswell Hill Guest House
18 reviews
.79 miles away
Travelodge London Wood Green hotel
63 reviews
1.14 miles away
White Lodge Hotel
223 reviews
1.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
La Lluna
181 reviews
.47 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Muswell Hill
182 reviews
.49 miles away
Cilicia Cafe & Restaurant
151 reviews
.48 miles away
Blue Legume, Muswell Hill
69 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New River Walk
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Spice Monkey Cookery School
148 reviews
.19 miles away
Secret London Walking Tours
57 reviews
.58 miles away
Alexandra Palace
623 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
daffodilsSL
May 7, 2017|
Answer
Response from teamYaahBaby | Reviewed this property |
I think the lab spa as a business has chosen to not display their membership fee for a reason and that ought to be respected. Best to contact Luca(them) directly
-6
Votes
John S
July 12, 2016|
Answer
Response from KB6666 | Reviewed this property |
You have to be aged 16 to become a member.
0
Votes
Christine C
April 26, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The Laboratory ... M | Property representative |
Hello there Christine, Off peak membership is £89 per month (Monday to Friday 7am to 10pm) and £104 for peak (weekdays and weekends), the joining fee currently is £75, contact Vas on 02084823000 if you would like further... More
4
Votes