The Prospect of Whitby

The Prospect of Whitby, London: Hours, Address, The Prospect of Whitby Reviews: 4/5

The Prospect of Whitby
4
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Write a review

Top ways to experience The Prospect of Whitby and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
615 reviews
Excellent
256
Very good
163
Average
67
Poor
63
Terrible
67

Michelle
London, UK1 contribution
Friends
The amazing Shay and Libby went above and beyond on a busy sunny Saturday afternoon to retrieve an expensive ring which had inadvertently fallen behind a radiator. They could have just taken my number and asked me to come back another time but they persisted trying various different implements until they had success. I am very grateful for their efforts and now live this place even more than before. Thank you so much Shay and Libby.
Written March 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kavith B
1 contribution
Business
I was a dj for a 30th birthday party last week in the pub in a function room upstairs
Julia a member of staff who was upstairs made me and my dj partner feel welcome and she was very professional and helpful all the guest were actually on the terrace most of the Evening untill julia got the guest inside for a dance as Julia felt bad that we was playing music and none of the guest were inside enjoying the music,she was very friendly and very vocal managed to get al the guests inside to start enjoying he music which we appriciated and She was very helpful and friendly and made sure everyone was enjoying themselves. Although Julia had other customers to entertain she made a effort in constantly checking everyone was ok even checking me and my dj partner was ok . What a lovely team member very friendly and pleasurable
Written May 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your positive comments our lovely Julia, she does a great job looking after our parties so she'll be very pleased to read these comments. Have a great day 😀
Written May 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Blackth0rn
Bristol, UK1,235 contributions
A well known and highly regarded pub on the banks of The Thames, it looks quite traditional from the outside with a brick façade and black wood panelling with curved white windows facing on to the street. It’s worth taking a walk down the passageway at the side of the pub, where you cannot only see the rear elevation, but the banks of the river and a hangman’s noose as a reminder of the executions that used to be carried out nearby.

The menu offered a selection of “pub grub” dishes such as Hunter’s Chicken, Sausage & Mash, Lasagne and so on, and these were mostly priced in the £10 - £15 range. My Gammon, Egg & Chips was a decent enough dish, being a generous portion and a tasty piece of meat. If I were being critical I would say that the gammon could have been a bit tenderer and the egg yoks a bit runnier, but that’s really being a bit picky it was an enjoyable meal. It was nice to get a proper bottle of tomato sauce as well, rather than those infuriating little sachets or a small tub with something indeterminate in it, as happens in so many pubs. Across the table, the fish and chips with tartare sauce was also well received. All in all, a lovely old pub and well worth checking out.
Written May 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our pub, Im glad you enjoyed your time with us so much! We look forward to your next visit, take care!
Written May 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jeremy Kile
5 contributions
The evening starting with a cold welcome from lady behind bar, as if we had dared visit their establishment at 1900 on a Sunday night but this did not really matter as we were there for a good time.

Came to order food and they had none of the options we had chosen so we quickly decided on something else. Went back to our table to double check we had got it right with the rest of the party whilst leaving my partner to pay, alas there was an error so quickly returned to bar as the receipt was behind handed over. Requested to change the order, beef burger for chicken and the manager went to the kitchen to check. She replied saying no, 'the kitchen have already put it on.'

This was obviously a lie. We had ordered a large amount of starters with burgers for mains so if anything had been"put on" it would have been the starters not the mains. If the mains had already been put on then they would have been sitting under the lamps for possibly 45 minutes, disgusting. Regardless of this a beef burger patty is a cheap item, majority of restaurants with a shred of customer respect would have changed the order.

Went to complain and brought up the point that the burgers if "put on" at the same time as starters would be sitting around for 45 minutes. The waiter responded that the kitchen was closing soon and they would cook everything at the same time. It was 1930. Website says the kitchen it open till 2100.

We then replied that either the burger was changed or we would cancel the whole order and the kitchen confirmed they would cancel the order rather than change the burger.

So in conclusion, the kitchen refused to change the order initially because the burger had been 'put on'. One would expect this was because they did not want to waste the food. BUT, they would happily cancel the whole order throwing away four half cooked and four half cooked mains.

This place hides behind its historic status. We drove 90 minutes to visit this place and was met by rude staff, lying managers and a kitchen who could not be bothered to serve us food at a reasonable time.
Written November 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm very sorry to hear of this experience that you had with us Jeremy. You weren't lied to by the manager though as this is the first I have heard of this incident, be assured though that I will be looking into what happened here as we do indeed serve food until 9pm. Please could you email me on 7234@greeneking.co.uk and I will get to the bottom of it and and hopefully be able to resolve it for you.
Written November 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

angelajane2016
London, UK58 contributions
Family
Christmas Day lunch was absolutely appalling .
First of all we ordered a bottle of Prosecco which was plonked in the middle of the table and left for us to open. I suspect this is against health and safety .
Main course was served and we asked repeatedly for the gravy to be served with it . 25 minutes later it was and by then the food was stone cold and hardly eaten.
Desert was served the same time as the cheese platter , both together with no cutlery at all to eat any of it . Asked the waitress twice for cutlery but none was given. We had to take some off another table. Other people looked on in disbelief at the service we were getting and offers were complaining too .
The waitress was rude and abrupt and told us the at we should expect this kind of service as we had chosen to eat out on Christmas Day!!
We ordered further drinks and were told they didn’t have theses drinks in stock 15 minutes later. My son then went to the bar to enquire what they had and he was told to “look”.
This was so upsetting as we have been regulars at this pub for many years. It totally spoilt our Christmas !
Written December 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Angela, I am truly sorry to hear that we spoilt your Christmas, all of our team really did try our best for you, from making changes to your booking a couple of times in the days leading up to Christmas Day, to making peppercorn sauce that you had requested even though it wasn't on the Christmas Day menu. As I'm sure you are aware, it has been an extremely unpredictable time for the hospitality industry, and even up to a few days before, with 7 team members, including our head chef, off due to Covid we weren't sure we were even going to be able to open. We managed to find covering team members from other pubs to come and work here for the day so that we didn't have to cancel any bookings, so I'm sorry that they weren't totally familiar with the pub and our systems or where to find things, they really did step up though and work very hard and I am grateful for each and everyone of them that came into work that day. Again in the kitchen with the head chef off, 2 part-time chefs stepped up and ran the kitchen for the day and on the whole did a fantastic job, getting out 4 courses to all our bookings, including the extra ones we picked up last minute due to other pubs having to close. Supply is still an ongoing issue for us and the industry as a whole, so I apologise also if we didn't have the choice of drinks that you wanted that day. I'm also sorry that the Prosecco wasn't opened for you, some guests prefer to open it themselves (it is not against health & safety), but if you had asked it should have been done for you. All the tables were laid out with all the cutlery at the start of the shift, I checked them myself, so I'm not sure what happened to yours, maybe someone else took it off the table? Apologies. We did listen to your feedback on the day itself, and comped your full 4 course meal off the bill, as a gesture of goodwill, and thought we had made recompense for spoiling your Christmas, so I'm sorry and disappointed to hear that wasn't the case and you still left unhappy, we really do want to all our guests to always leave happy, so to hear that someone thought we were appalling is very upsetting to hear for both myself and my team. Thank you for your comments about the other tables, we didn't receive any other complaints on the day though, and to my knowledge everyone else left happy.
Written December 31, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ResliCostabell
London, UK99 contributions
I brought friends, and was embarrassed by how bad it was.

The place was not particularly busy, but food service staff were hard to find. They didn't check tables to see if diners needed anything. Meanwhile, there were bar staff with not much to do.

Loaded nachos were supposed to have two kinds of cheese. They arrived with no cheese we could detect. The serving staff didn't ask how our food was. I went to the bar to ask them to fix it, noting that the cheese needs to be melted on, not just added later. She just brought out a small dish of lukewarm cheese. She pointed to a thin scraping of yellow stuff on a few of the nachos, and said that was the other cheese. Instead of hot loaded nachos, we ended up with chilly nachos with cheese on the side. Lots of sour creme and guacamole, lots of peppers. But the cheese situation was pathetic. They didn't apologise.

Chicken wings were greasy and tasteless.

Beyond Meat burger was tasteless. Bun was too dry. Tiny burger, for £11.29. Oddly, they had the burger available as a main, but not as the starter we requested.

Spicy fried halloumi was ok. I didn't expect such a thick coating of batter. Very greasy. It was the least bad part of the meal.

They are generous with the sliced hot peppers. Perhaps they're trying to cover up for the lack of flavour otherwise.

Staff never asked whether we wanted more food or drinks.

The only reason I gave two stars instead of one is that the building and location are good. I love the history of the place.
Written March 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

PV74
London, UK167 contributions
Couples
We have been twice for Sunday lunch on the terrace in the past six weeks or so. I guess everyone had their own appetite for risks in eating out in these times - for us it’s an outside space, and staff that follow social distancing procedures.

The prospect has both, plus the staff have been friendly and efficient, and the food has been tasty and good value. We have both had Sunday lunches on one occasion, another occasion one of us had Sunday lunch and the other a delicious pie and mash! Sitting outside can be a bit of a risk, but on both occasions the weather was fine, and the view over the Thames is great.

Two small niggles for the restaurant to improve - on both occasions the ordering on the green king app has not worked properly. There are differences between the paper menu and the app (eg can’t order glasses of wine for some wines for some reason?) but no matter, we just asked the waiter/waitress. And I’d recommend they invest in outdoor heaters over the winter for those customers like us who won’t be sitting indoors this year! (And guys, always good to serve the food on hot plates!)

Anyway, just wanted to recognise the staff at the prospect for their great food and hospitality. We will be coming back regularly as long as the weather permits!

Written October 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your kind review, and also your feedback, it is always useful to hear. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visits with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon, and I shall certainly share your comments with the team.
Written May 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

zombie_nurse
Hastings, UK53 contributions
Couples
My girlfriend and I were looking forward to visiting here and had booked a table for food. On entering we were greeted with a very bland welcome from a barmaid that couldn’t smile. After she pointed to where our table was we sat down and decided to order 2 soft drinks (£8) and due to having a large breakfast elsewhere we decided that we would just have pudding. From the choice of 4 they only had one, no apology and even then it wasn’t said in particularly professional manner. Would be a great pub if it wasn’t for the staff. We won’t return.
Written April 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there zombie_nurse, I am very sorry and disappointed to hear about this interaction with one of our members of the team. This is not the usual standard of service that we offer hear at the Prospect! I apologise for us not having deserts earlier this week, we were very short and were let down by some our our suppliers, but this was rectified by the end of the week. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not spoken to in a professional manner. If you would like to contact me to give me more detail about your visit please email me on 7234@greeneking.co.uk, so that I can find out what happened exactly, and make sure that this does not happen again. Please do come again, so that we can show you what we really are about and give you a 5-star visit. All the best.
Written April 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hackneycub
London, UK32 contributions
Friends
Our visit was marred by a supervisor whose behaviour was far from exemplary. First she told off members of staff in front of me as they put my drinks where the dirty glasses went, despite no-one else being around and no dirty glasses. It was embarrassing for them and me. I got told by a staff member that someone would come and take our food order before others were told that they had to go elsewhere and order. Then the same supervisor aggressively chastised us when we couldn’t decide on who ordered first by telling us all the food was arriving at the same time so it wouldn’t be an issue. It didn’t, of course, food took 20 mins from first plate to last and most had finished by the time the last plate arrived. The supervisor with the tattoos on the back of her neck was really unprofessional and rude and soured the whole experience.
Written June 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Prospect of Whitby Wapping. I would appreciate if you could email me with regards to when you came in so I can look into it further. Thank you. 7234@greeneking.co.uk
Written June 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SamanthaB
London, UK31 contributions
Couples
I have never been so disappointed when visiting a pub. The female host (which I later found out was the manager) was foul!!! She seemed to upset everyone else, as she barked at some other guests in front of the whole garden. Which then turned into ALL of us sharing our experience with her. One lady said she nearly made her cry. The only reason we all stayed was because of a team member going around and respectfully apologising on her behalf. He was still desperately trying to have her back. We found out his name is Kenny! What a legend. #promotionforkenny
Written June 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Samantha, I'm sorry that you had a disappointing visit with us. I'd just like to first point out that it was not the manager who was hosting that day as I have been in self-isolation for the last 10 days. I would appreciate it if you could email me with some more detail about your visit, when it was and what happened so I can look into this further. Our email is 7234@greeneking.co.uk Thank you
Written June 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 555
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Prospect of Whitby

The Prospect of Whitby is open:
  • Sun - Sun 12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Mon - Sat 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking The Prospect of Whitby tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 5 The Prospect of Whitby tours on Tripadvisor