Royal Blackheath Golf Club
Royal Blackheath Golf Club
4
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Write a review
About
A warm welcome awaits you at England's oldest golf club. Dating from 1608 our wonderful parkland course in the Royal borough of Greenwich is only 9 miles from London City Airport. The stunning 17th Century clubhouse; Eltham Lodge is available to hire for special occasions and functions such as wedding receptions, banquets, parties, meetings and filming opportunities.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
39 reviews
Excellent
22
Very good
7
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
2

chrisdodd4
London, UK397 contributions
Oct 2020 • Solo
We have been to the royal blackheath golf club twice now to celebrate a birthday in the family, and it does not leave you disappointed.

As you walk down the grand entrance up to the security gate, you realised why this golf club is one of the oldest golf club around.

The manicured putting green, the way the fairways are looked after just oozes with class.

We entered the club house, and as you climb the staircase to where you dine,look at the honours boards dating back as long as the year dot.

You then get greeted by the staff,who on both occasions,you cannot fault for there attention to detail and they showed us to our table, from the window you get to see another vista looking out over the golf course and the surrounding areas the word tranquil comes to mind.

On both occasions we had the Sunday lunch, so please visit the Royal Blackheath Golf Club website to enquire.

So in summary, this wonderful golf club, will hopefully get you in your car and DRIVE from a FAIRWAY to visit, and don’t be late so PUTT and date in your diary to visit as soon as possible.

Written October 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Trevor C
St. Neots, UK112 contributions
Oct 2021
We visited Eltham Lodge for afternoon tea which was the best we have ever had. Although the afternoon tea may be dearer than some other places, this is more than compensated by the excellent quality and quantity of the food. The staff were very welcoming and service was very attentive.

We also booked a tour of the building which was very interesting.

We would certainly recommend afternoon tea at the Lodge and look forward to visiting again.
Written November 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Maria S
Kent, UK4 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
We visited today for Sunday lunch.

Staff were welcoming and friendly ensuring all our needs were met.

The homemade Three course meal was a delight to eat we have left today feeling very satisfied and would recommend this venue highly.

The whole service felt personalised
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joanne S
Kent17 contributions
Mar 2013 • Couples
I visited this venue to see what all the fuss was about and have to say it blew me away. Its arcitecture was beautiful and when I went inside I could see why so many people are interested in it for a reception. The staff were so attentive to every single person it just made you feel special
Written March 14, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Royal Blackheath. It is indeed such a beautiful venue that we want to share with as many people as possible. we hope to see you again.
Written November 11, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MFAS
3 contributions
May 2019 • Friends
We paid £28 a head for 32 guests, providing our own flowers and bubbly.
Please look at our photographs of the savouries and cakes. One more tray of sandwiches was brought in later, as we were leaving.
Tea, teacups and saucers were just left on a table at the end of the room. Service and food supplied were very disappointing indeed and guests noticed. Comments.."sandwiches like doorstops, no butter for cheese scones, cakes cut from a slab".
Room, view and good company rescued the afternoon.
Written June 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Steve K
Greater London, UK201 contributions
Feb 2019 • Friends
First time here for the Sunday lunch specials that they run occasionally.

Amazing grounds and table had s superb view. Food was top quality - 3 courses for £25 inc tea and coffee.

Staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Would definitely go back.
Written March 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bluebells2013
London, UK1 contribution
Sep 2015 • Solo
Last Christmas I arranged golf lessons for my husband. Sadly, since purchasing the lessons he suffered a herniated disk in his lower back and has been told he may never be able to play golf again. Initially we emailed the club to see if we could have the lessons refunded due to his injury, but no one replied. Then my husband contacted the Golf Pro shop to ask if the lessons could be refunded but the Golf Pro was short with him and didn't seem to care at all that he'd been injured. He also refused to refund the lessons.The whole situation had been very distressing for the whole family as it has made a debilitating injury that much more upsetting.
Written September 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Madam, I am sorry that you feel that you have received a negative service from Royal Blackheath Golf Club. Management have looked into your complaint and we would like to offer the following response: Firstly The vouchers for you husbands lessons were purchased last November 2014, as per our club policy, refunds are not issued for any lessons after the first 28 days of purchase. Furthermore the lessons were purchased by your mother who has previously been contacted and agreed that the lessons were not going to be refunded as per our refund policy. At this point our Golf Professional offered to still honour the voucher so that it could be transferred to someone else or held until your husband was able to use it. She was very happy with this conclusion when our Golf professional spoke to her on the phone last week. Further points to make are: •A refund to the gentleman in question cannot be issued because he was not the purchaser of the voucher. •Royal Blackheath have only received one email which was responded to the next day. •The Golf professional has never spoken to the voucher recipient or his wife or recieved a phone call from them, so the comment of being short with him is hard to understand. No doubt, it is a shame that this gentleman has had an injury and we wish him a speedy recovery however we feel that as a club we are being more than reasonable honoring this voucher (which was purchased nearly 10 months ago) for another person or a later date. Royal Blackheath Golf club and its staff pride ourselves on providing a professional service to all clients and visitors to the club at all times. We hope this response will be considered by other customers wishing to visit our Club in the future. Yours Sincerely, Management
Written September 15, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hevprenticwe
united6 contributions
Feb 2018
Great afternoon spent here,historical tour followed by high tea,which was very nice staff very attentive nothing to much trouble,another pot of tea no problem sir,Earl Grey again yes please sitting watching golfers putting on the eighteenth green ,no time limit even had a drink in the nineteenth hole afterwards lovely,when booking the tour as an extra ask if possible to see the golf museum
Written March 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Derek S
Colchester, UK312 contributions
Nov 2016 • Couples
We attended a ladies night held at the Royal black Heath golf club champagne reception accompanied by a 7 piece temple brass band which played and sung before we went into dinner the setting is sumptuios with old oil paintings adorning the walls and intricate ceilings I had soup to start which was wholesome followed by the. The best beef I have had in years it melted in the mouth full of Flavour and a joy to the taste buds the potatoes and vegetable cooked to perfection and desert followed by a fantastic I cheese board complemented by the great service this was excellent fast and Efficient
I don't play golf but the bpviews presented over the grounds was stunning when you consider that you are in London
Written November 20, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karl D
Leavenheath, UK41 contributions
Jun 2015 • Friends
Not a review of the golf: just the restaurant. Our society plays this, the oldest Golf Club (note, "Club" not "Course") in the world every year, and the golf is fantastic. Why can't the catering live up to the course?
On arrival,awful coffee: we need a proper caffeine fix after two hours driving, not this thin, weak tasteless, pale brown fluid. Good croissants though.
Lunch: good grub spoiled by ineffectual service, a buffet empty of ham, egg and chips. Requests to re-supply cheerfully accepted, and ten minutes later a plate of ham arrives, but the chips remain outstanding, until a further request pursuades them to fire up the friar (the chef pausing to take a phone call while we waited. We gave up on the eggs, with afternoon tee-off times scheduled, a buffet lunch should have been ideal, but alas, the reality fell far short of the ideal.
Dinner was better, but far from subtle, with the table d'hote comprising a whole baked Camembert per head! A great quantity of cheese, crudely garnished with barely toasted "garlic bread" and an undressed rocket salad. Perhaps OK for a winter starter, but on a hot day in June, this trencherman's portion represented culinary imbalance of the highest order. It was only because the meal was served half-an hour late that I was able to finish half, round our table, most of the "appetisers" went to waste.
By contrast, the rack of lamb was excellent, well-executed (just pink) and garnished with good vegetables: full marks here.
Pudding, however, reverted to type, a large lump of stodge, quite horrible.
Friendly, but unskilled staff, I don't think I'm alone in being surprised when waiters lean over my plate, while I'm still eating, to clear a neighbours setting.
This sounds a bit curmudgeonly, and perhaps nit-picking, but this is a top venue, that sets high standards in so many areas, and all of these issues could have been avoided by better staff training: all, I suppose, bar the choice to serve that awfull cheese starter!
Written June 5, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 38
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Royal Blackheath Golf Club (London) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Blackheath Golf Club

Royal Blackheath Golf Club is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM