Copa de Cava

Copa de Cava, London: Hours, Address, Copa de Cava Reviews: 4.5/5

Copa de Cava
4.5
Bars & Clubs
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Copa de Cava is the UK's first dedicated and authentic cava bar and a real labour of love from the team behind Camino. Opened in May 2013, it's nestled amid the brick vaults below Camino Blackfriars and is a beautiful nod to the atmospheric bodegas dotted across the Catalan region. We proudly showcase 29 of the most exceptional cavas from Spain, perfectly paired with creative tapas, seafood, cheeses and the finest hand carved jamon from Executive Chef Nacho del Campo. Alongside this, we offer a range of Spanish wines, beers and gorgeous cava cocktails to continue the voyage of discovery! Most cava comes from Penedes in Catalunya, North Eastern Spain and is made in the metodo tradicional (like Champagne), fermented in deep underground caves that inspire its name. This long and laborious process gives an incredible range and complexity... Try for yourself with our tasting flights of brut, reserva and gran reserva cavas or join us for one of our popular masterclasses, where we'll talk you through the different styles. Copa de Cava is warm, friendly and relaxed, with an expert team of staff on hand to guide you through the menu. From after work drinks to romantic dates, special occasions to corporate events, discover one of the most unique bars in London, just a minute's walk from Blackfriars station and 3 minutes from St Pauls.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience similar attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighborhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighborhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
How to get there
  • Blackfriars • 3 min walk
  • St. Paul's • 6 min walk

4.5
48 reviews
Excellent
32
Very good
10
Average
4
Poor
2
Terrible
0

Hnm1
Portsmouth, UK2 contributions
Excellent Private Hire
Jan 2016 • Friends
We hired the downstairs bar in January this year, to celebrate my partners 25th birthday. The staff were enormously helpful and went above and beyond to make sure the night went well. I cannot thank the staff enough, every single person working was so lovely and attentive to all of our guests.

I would highly recommend this venue to anyone planning a private party.

Thank you all again so much!
Written November 6, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

louxadra
21 contributions
Disappointed
Oct 2016 • Couples
I had such high expectations of this place because I've been to Camino in King's cross several times and loved it but unfortunately the experience was disappointing.

Pros
Location: You can't beat it really being in the heart of St Paul's.

Cons
Let me clarify that I went on a Saturday to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and I called twice in the week before to confirm several details.

Booking: The booking was for 4 people, my boyfriend, me and another couple. I was told that we had a sofa booked but upon arrival we were told that a group of 3 girls had requested the sofa so they had given it away and we were put on a wobbly table with uncomfortable chairs.

Service: Most of the space was closed off for a function so I understand that the stuff could be busy. That doesn't justify though waiting at the bar for 10' and being ignored by a guy behind the bar to get drinks.

Kitchen/bar service: I was told when I made the booking that the kitchen closed at 11pm which was fine because we were there only for drinks which I also told the guy on the phone both times I spoke to him. I was surprised to find out that the bar also closed at 11pm when we went to get another drink and we were told they were no longer serving (the bar closed at midnight) .

Music: One more thing I made sure to ask on the phone twice was whether the music would be as lively as upstairs because we were celebrating a birthday. Again I was told that yes, the dj would be playing until midnight when the bar closed upstairs and the music was also for downstairs. The music however stopped downstairs where we were at 11pm. We went upstairs and it continued normally.

I don't remember ever posting a bad review but this was just so disappointing. Will not be returning.
Written October 16, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Alexandra G, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate our guests giving us feedback as we are always looking to improve. I'm really sorry to hear you didn't have the experience you expected and this is not the way we usually provide service. Please get in touch with our General Manager if you wish to discuss this further. yves.r@camino.uk.com Once again please accept our apologies, we do hope to see you back at Copa de Cava and will make sure you won't be disappointed. Kind regards, Copa de Cava
Written November 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

IdowuFamily
Holmfirth, UK9 contributions
lovely spot for a bit of the fizzy stuff!
Sep 2016 • Family
Ended up here during happy hour which made it quite a treat. Lots too choose from and food too although only we only had snacks
Written September 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear IdowuFamily, Thanks a lot for taking the time to write us review, we really appreciate that! And we are of course happy you had a good time and enjoyed our drinks and food. We hope to see you again some time soon! Kind regards, Copa de Cava
Written September 21, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark E
Redlands, CA46 contributions
You MUST try this place.
Jul 2016
I spent 5 days in London, ate out every meal and this was the best value, best service and best experience of my entire stay. The epicurean high point if you will. Ollie, our waiter was a real pleasure and not afraid to share his recommendations of menu items....he was spot on. Located steps from the River Thames, the ambiance is hard to beat and the place is spotless despite the volume of folks they serve. Well done Copa de Cava, well done!
Written July 13, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Mark, Thank you very much for visiting us and leaving us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you have had such a great time and would love to see you again the next time you're in London. Kind regards, Camino Blackfriars & Copa de Cava
Written July 18, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dee P
9 contributions
My sisters surprise 40th
Jun 2016 • Friends
I have been planning my sisters 40th since October 2015 , Harvey has been so so patient with me and been super helpful . All staff are super friendly and professional . The venue is amazing for private parties , thank you to all involved at copadecave in helping me planning this big event Dee xx
Written June 28, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Dee, Thank you very much for hosting your event at Copa de Cava and taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled to hear you have had such a great experience, we will make sure to communicate this to all our staff working on the night. Thanks again and we hope to see you at Copa de Cava again soon! Kind regards, Camino Blackfriars & Copa de Cava
Written June 29, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jade F
Brisbane, Australia36 contributions
Excellent Venue with Friendly Staff
Jun 2016 • Friends
I recently organised a charity Trivia Night and chose Copa De Cava as we are a local business who frequents the Camino Happy Hour...we wire familiar with the premises :)

I met with Harvey and together we planned the event - food, drinks and how we would co-ordinate the evening. Harvey was extremely accommodating and worked with our budget so that we could focus on our event being charitable. And he responded to all our questions and changes quickly and without hassle!

On the night, the food and drink were excellent as was the service provided by Raj and his team - they were all very friendly and accommodating. Thank you for helping us to host our fundraising event!
Written June 10, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Jade, Thank you very much for hosting your event with us at Copa de Cava. We are happy to hear you had such a great experience with us and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Camino Blackfriars & Copa de Cava
Written June 13, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

corksapphire
London, UK4 contributions
Exceptional hospitality and food absolutely first class!
Apr 2016 • Business
Business Junction runs 80 events across central London each year. We enjoyed the most exceptional hospitality at the Business Junction networking lunch at Camino last week. It really was an outstanding event in every respect. We have had such lovely reports back from our guests about the warm welcome they received, the excellent venue, professional staff and, of course, the delicious and plentiful buffet lunch.

Clearly everyone is so expert at their jobs and the service was first class throughout. The team are absolutely first rate and the head chef Carlos prepared absolutely mouth-watering food and everyone ate so much of his delicious Spanish food. The croquettes were do die for; the squid is what you always hope you are going to get when you order it but rarely do; the cerviche fish was amazing; and the generous selection of cured meats were outstanding. As were all the other dishes – there wasn’t one that was less than excellent. Padron peppers, sausages – all the dishes need to be name-checked! It really was one of the best buffets we have had at our events and we have run 60 a year for 15+ years! And so plentiful too! I would recommend this venue to anyone.
Written May 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear corksapphire, Thank you very much for choosing Copa de Cava for your event, we are happy that you have had such a great experience, it was an absolute pleasure! We surely hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Camino Blackfriars & Copa de Cava
Written May 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dadface
Bushey, UK3 contributions
Great venue for a party - friendly and attentive staff
May 2016 • Friends
We booked the venue for a birthday party and had about 65 guests. The venue was well presented and was ideal for a party with areas were you could dance and well as quieter 'nooks & crannies' for eating and socialising.

The food and drink was excellent and the service provided by Raj and his team on the night was nothing less than superb. The pre-party arrangements were co-ordinated by Harvey and all went according to plan.

Could certainly highly recommend this venue for party or event - all of my guests commented on how much they enjoyed the evening.

Many thanks to the Copa Team!
Written May 17, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Dadface, Thank you very much, we are thrilled to hear you have had such a great experience with us. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Camino Blackfriars & Copa de Cava
Written May 23, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

FoodiesAnonymous
Sarasota, FL152 contributions
Had higher expectations?
May 2016
Went here recently as we have been tasting more cavas lately (versus proseccos/cremants,etc) and we were curious to see what this place could offer. Sadly it was a bit disappointing. Loud (well,what can you expect at Happy Hour at the end of the week in the City?) and a very short list of cavas on offer. One of them even being unavailable,period. Tapas were all right, the aubergine was especially nice. My husband was happier with the experience than I was, but I don't think we will be back. Sorry. Really wanted to "like"!
Written May 10, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear FoodiesAnonymous, Thank you for your review of Copa de Cava. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the tapas and will make sure to communicate this to our Chef. However I'm sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your experience at Copa de Cava. We are usually fully stocked on all Cava, so please accept my apology for this wasn't the case when you came down. If you want to continue this conversation please get in touch with yves.r@camino.uk.com. Thank you, Copa de Cava
Written June 6, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

EveP
Romford, UK84 contributions
Spanish Tapas
May 2016 • Friends
The food was lovely and the service good. A varied menu plenty of tapas and other dishes to choose from.
The restaurant was in the basement which was three sets of stairs one of the party had difficulty with mobility they had a lift but it was filled with furniture, so don't go if you have any mobility issues.
They did have a ground floor area to have food but it didn't have the ambience of the basement.
Written May 8, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Evelyn P, Thank you for leaving a review. I am really happy to hear you enjoyed our tapas and I will make sure to communicate this to our Chef. I am sorry to hear you had difficulties with the lift, please except my apology as this shouldn't have been the case and normally isn't. I will make sure our team is informed about this and make sure the lift will be in use at all times. If you want to continue this conversation please get in touch with yves.r@camino.uk.com. Thank you and we hope to see you at Copa de Cava some time soon! Kind regards, Copa de Cava
Written June 6, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 48
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing