Bar Rumba
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Monday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Friday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Sunday
7:00 PM - 3:00 AM
About
Bar Rumba is a late night club by Leicester Square which shows no restrain when it comes to a fun night out of dancing and drinking in the West End. The commercial music, chart hits, RnB and pop is the engine of this wild and crazy club but the generous happy hours and drinks promotions do their bit to fuel the spirits. There is also a comedy club side to Bar Rumba, especially on Friday and Saturdays.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Reviews may contain information about traveler safety at this business.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles378 reviews
Excellent
118
Very good
47
Average
40
Poor
32
Terrible
141

Lucy
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
There is 2 managers. both of them are r*cist. They’re spending their day saying the N word and talking sh*t about black (and people of colour in general) people. They are refusing entry to a lot of people because of their skin colour or nationality. + they’re touching customers inappropriately (girls obviously) and talking to the the staff inappropriately too. (Girls) I never had or saw any problem with the security staff but I know a lot of people who complain about them saying that they’re har*ssing customers as well. Except from the horrible managers : the bar is tiny, toilet sink, prices are indecent and music is bullsh*t. Don’t go there and run if you’re a girl. Same if you want to apply there. 🤢 (they’re not hiring boys as bartenders : only girls. Boys are only glass collectors. I let you guess why. and girls have to dress a certain way to attract customers.) this place is disg*sting.
Written July 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joeley Gibson
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
Monday night.

(Irish, large build, said was new on job, but has worked in security long time, didn't get name)

We turn up as 7 girls, tell security guard 2 guys are coming, he has no problem with this and is going to let us in. we all put out our ID'S, our friends arrive behind us and do just the same. Note we have said they are joining. We all know each other from drama school.

He had no problem letting in a large group of white girls, however when our 2 black friends show up. He says he suddenly feels uncomfortable letting us in, citing a hunch/ and supposed 'aggressive' ID giving from our two friends (we were all there they handed over their ID's just the same) We were all stunned and confused about this sudden shift in attitude. Looks like guard racistly stereotyped our friends as criminals/suspicious characters. We ask him why he is doing this, he gets defensive about how their are two many questions to answer and that he's been doing this a long time, does not articulate what is blatant racism.

We go to speak to the manager, his immediate (rehearsed) response is 'I won't be bullied by accusations of racism'. He refuses to accommodate our concerns AT ALL and closes ranks, tossing out what we've said and suggesting its ridiculous without even speaking to involved staff member or offering to look into it. He is saying 'bullying' to someone two feet smaller than him. He uses his black staff members to suggest this could never happen, offers no concessions, and outright refuses to discuss it or give a hint of apology.

So basically MANAGEMENT needs to learn how to handle these situations in a way that doesn't come off as arrogant and rude, and be willing to challenge their staff on intolerable behaviour. If you are suspicious of someone in line, you could just search us. But the reality is the actions of the guard where nothing to do with protection or safety.
Written September 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Joley, Your new friends that joined your group last minute had already been refused entry prior to your arrival. Letting strangers join your group last minute in the queue and alleging that you are now together and demanding they enter with you raises concerns of your intentions. Rumba is a very diverse establishment in a very diverse city, allegations as such we refute. Not to mention your approach of bullying and harassing staff which is totally unacceptable. You will be reported to join the list of other problematic customers who believe that they have a pass to accusing and abusing door staff when things do not go your way.
Written September 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emma
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
If I could rate 0 stars I would. The staff seem to take pleasure out of belittling people, and the blatant racism is appalling - my friend (who is black) got his ID taken off him to make sure he "didn't cause trouble", something that no one else was made to do, and was overcharged for entry. He was also told by the bouncer to calm down or he'd be kicked out when he had only just arrived. Please boycott this place, there are plenty of other places to go in London that will treat people with respect.
Written November 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Justine
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Friends
Rude security and owner, came out with a group of friends, we all came in separate but in the space of 30 minutes(within the same hour-so prices should of not changed). We all paid different prices of entry, ranging from £5-20 per person??? There seemed to be a correlation that our white British friends paid less, and my black friends, or myself with an accent paid more. This is completely unacceptable, I have worked myself on club front doors and we have never made prices based on how someone looks. Do better, inequality written all over!!
Written November 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

soniamiranda87
Edinburgh, UK5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Friends
One of the worse clubs I ever been in. Security extremely rude, drinks very expensive compared with other places. 10£ entry plus drinks plus 2£ each jacket (if you are sitting in a chair the jacket cant be at the back of your seat). My hand was stamped after paid, went out and when tried to go in again we were denied. Spend all the money to be in 30 min and have one drink. Why are u stamped my hand and take a picture of me if I am not allowed to go out for 5 minutes... We left and went to another club and had a super great night... avoid Rumba at all cost!
Written November 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sonia, sorry you feel you had a bad experience with us. Entry is only £10 if you arrive late and do not pre book! We offer free entry before 9pm on the door - and online it starts from free - £5. We do not require cloakroom but we do ask that customers wear or carry their clothes if they do not want to cloakroom them. This is because we are not liable for lost property that is not in our cloakroom and therefore if you leave your coat on a chair and it is taken/lost – There is not much we can do. We also do not allow re entry so if you leave the venue completely, you will not be able to come back in.
Written December 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jack F
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
We booked 5x tickets for £40 each and were denied entry before 2:00am on New Years Eve even when the tickets highlighted you could turn up at anytime. Do not go near this bar, it’s awful and the bouncers are a disgrace as they are so rude and ignore you. Worst bar i’ve been at in London. Ruined my New Years Eve & all of my friends.
Written December 31, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lana S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Friends
I visited Bar Rumba with my friend to have some fun. However the nigth out was completely ruined after my friend and I were refused to enter the premises. After dancing for a few hours we went to get some fresh air but the Security had refused us to return because they alleged that my friend and I were intoxicated. It wasn't true. The Security had forsed us to stay in the cold for 15 minutes, bering in mind that we was dressed very lightly, when the temperature was 0 degree. I attempted to reason with the female Security person that we were cold, to wich she replied that we should stay quite or face with the ban to enter the premises at all. Approx 15 min after the same fimale Security person asked our tickets and shortly after she had brought our belongings. Following thiis I attempted to speak to the duty Manager but it didn't go anywhere , because he was very opinionated and dismissive. It is my understanding that there poor customer services and atrocious behaviour towards its customers is sanctioned by the Management, this matter will there for be referred to the traiding standards as an alert for sexisem and racism. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE !
Written December 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bob r
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
Me and my friends went to have fun which we did but as usual the club had some few strange men wondering around looking for girls and as me and my friends were sat dow we saw a girl being harassed by the toilets and it took me less than 10 seconds to realise but I saw the security guy look at them and simply walk away. I feel as a security guard his job should be to help the vulnerable. I then told people at the bar about the security guard and she said “ how would he know “ hun, I think it’s pretty obvious.

Vincenzo
Written March 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Maddi B
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Friends
One star is an overate the woman threatened to slap my friend across the face because we was in a group of 11 for my friends 21st. Honestly disgusting behaviour from a security guard for no reason. We waited over 30 minutes to be told as a group we was never going to be allowed to get in. The woman genuinely should not be in security.
Written July 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Magnus S
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Friends
Got accused of being drunk despite being absolutely sober after they let my visibly drunk lady acquaintances in. They allowed me to wait on the side for 20 minutes to ‘sober up,’ and waited the entire time until I got back to the front of the line again to tell me that I wasn’t allowed to wear my joggers in. They didn’t seem outright hostile as stated in other reviews, but they were definitely either incompetent or being intentionally daft. Can’t speak much of the service once inside because I do not intend on returning to that lame place.
Written September 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Magnus. Sorry you feel you were not told quickly enough about your clothes not meeting our dress code policy. This should have been told on arrival – However, it is clear on our website and on our tickets that we have a smart casual dress code. It also specifically states no sportswear. Unfortunately you would not be allowed into any club or bar around us, in a pair of joggers.
Written September 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 354
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Bar Rumba - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in London
All things to do in London
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars