We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

So SPA by Sofitel

Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood:
St. James's
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number: 442077472204
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Description:

Sofitel London St James is enhanced with a luxury spa, So SPA, which offers...

Sofitel London St James is enhanced with a luxury spa, So SPA, which offers a unique and personalised experience. Distributed over three floors, the original grade II listed building features high ceilings and natural daylight, providing the most spectacular backdrop for a spa.

So SPA has chosen to partner with highly prestigious brands from French cosmetology, Carita and Cinq Mondes, as well as Marisa Berenson for her natural and holistic approach to beauty.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 112 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 97
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Perfect experience

I booked the So Magnifique experience for my boyfriend's birthday, and it was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The package included a one-hour massage each and afternoon... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
FayeNewt
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked the So Magnifique experience for my boyfriend's birthday, and it was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The package included a one-hour massage each and afternoon tea, and I opted to upgrade to pay £20 extra so we could use the steam room and Jacuzzi for an hour. When we arrived, we filled out a (sparkly!!) form to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FayeNewt
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear madam, I am really pleased to hear that yourself and your boyfriend have had the most amazing experience in our So-SPA be steam room / Jacuzzi be massage and be Afternoon Tea. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

I received a day Spa trip as a birthday present. This is the first time I'd ever been to a spa so I decided to book in for a massage. Upon entering the massage room I de-robed and lay face down (as this is what they do in the movies). I was then met with a lively Victorian era sounding... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael P
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. Actually I am confused by your comment as we do not have any man therapist in our So-SPA... We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Before any treatments, you have to complete a Guest Profile form, which asks you what aroma in the room would you like, bed temperature - heated or not, music selection, lighting level, usual health questions whilst completing this you are offered a glass of hibiscus tea and a warm face cloth to freshen up. Then taken downstairs in a lift,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am so pleased to hear that yourself and your daughter have had the best time in our So-SPA! Your entire satisfaction is our utmost reward. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention in our haven of peace. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

Super clean luxury spa and nice staff, We had a Great express massage with spa facilities, Love the Jacuzzi and steam rooms, very relaxing environment.nice green teas, cocktails are super, location is central to restaurants, etc..i will come back again and again.

Helpful?
3 Thank chips c
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your positive feedback. Thank you for letting us know about your relaxing and peaceful experience as our aim is to pamper our guests in our haven of peace. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

That is a realy nice spa/hotel. You can expect a really good service. Nice staff and nice facilities. Will recommend definitely.

Helpful?
1 Thank 450Anna
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you very much for your positive feedback and also for recommending our So-SPA to TripAdvisor surfers. We look forward to welcoming you back. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

swindon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Came here on a Saturday for a half 5 appointment. Unfortunately we were running 10 minutes late, however we were still given the full hour massage and didn't feel rushed at any point. We were greeted by friendly staff at desk and were asked to sit down and fill in a form. Pretty impressive form, I have never been to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sweethal
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your words of praise regarding the high standards of service you were provided with during your most recent visit at the So-SPA. As a matter of fact we want our guests to feel like in a haven of peace. I also thank you for recommending the So-SPA to your entourage. This is our utmost... More 

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

I've been to So Spa before for a facial which I enjoyed. However myself and my partner went for a 90 minute deep tissue massage and were very disappointed. It definitely wasn't a professional massage, more like someone gently going over the same area over and over again and it didn't feel good. I went in with no muscle pain... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Crazywest
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am surprised with your comment as we did not have any guest complaining after a massage as far as I can remember. It is a pity not to have raised this issue on the spot as we very much favour face to face interaction. I am sorry that you have disliked... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I, as a hoteliere myself visiting hotels on regular basis, had really high expectations for Sofitel as brand. I heard good words about Sofitel So Spa and had never give it a try. This first experience with So Spa together with my boyfriend on my birthday is not what I wished for. The product we ordered was a one hour... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lana Z
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I thank you for your detailed feedback and I am sorry about your experience. I am aware that you have spoken with the Director of Operations. I wish you good luck with your relocation. With my best regards. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We decided to treat ourselves to a treatment at the spa before we were due to fly home as we had a few hours before our flight. What a treat!!! The hot stone massage was the best I have ever had and the use of the relaxation room afterwards was a great bonus as we had a few hours to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilibee243
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. I am glad to know you managed to have a relaxing time in the spa before your flight and hope you had a great journey. Kind regards Nicolas Pesty More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

One of the best spas in London can't wait to visit again we were welcomed with tea and hot cloth a very nice touch and taken to changing rooms we then had our treatment and relaxed in the relaxation room overall an amazing experience

Helpful?
2 Thank Aysha1000
N_Pesty, General Manager at So SPA by Sofitel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for letting us know about your amazing experience in our So-SPA! We genuinely love to pamper our guests therefore we were delighted to read your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visits. A bientot. Nicolas Pesty General Manager Sofitel London St James More 

Travelers who viewed So SPA by Sofitel also viewed

 

Been to So SPA by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of So SPA by Sofitel and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from So SPA by Sofitel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood