We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Acorn Farm

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Depot Road | Kirkby, Liverpool L33 3AR, England
Phone Number: +44 151 548 1524
Website
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Description:

Acorn Farm is a visitor attraction offering a fun and educational day out...

Acorn Farm is a visitor attraction offering a fun and educational day out in Kirkby, Liverpool. The farm park offers lots of animals to see and feed, two fantastic play areas, small animal petting and horse rides during weekends and school holidays, a cafe serving delicious home-cooked specials and desserts, a farm shop selling toys and gifts, refreshments and free-range home produced meat, eggs and goats milk ice cream and a plant sales area. The farm also runs a day service for local people with learning disabilities and also hosts Riding for the Disabled lessons on Friday mornings. Admission:Adults £2.50Children £1.50 (under 12 months free of charge)Admission prices correct as of 1st March 2012.Groups of 15 or more must book a guided tour, for which there is an additional charge.Small animal petting sessions and horse rides are available every weekend and during KMBC school holidays - please see our website for times. Petting costs £1 per person and horse rides are £2 per ride.Acorn Farm is a working farm as well as a visitor attraction and sells home-produced free-range eggs, beef, pork and lamb. We also produce our own goats milk ice cream in a wide range of delicious flavours. Special events and activities are often held at the farm, including our Halloween Party and Christmas Grotto. Acorn Farm also run an extensive educational programme, which consists of incubator hire, Animobile mobile farm and guided tours.We have a birthday party room available to hire for £40 and also run an animal sponsorship programme - the perfect gift for any animal lover or fan of the farm!(All prices displayed are liable to alteration without notice. Please call us for prices and availability. Thank you!)

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 248 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 140
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Great little farm

A great place for the kids. I have visited here a few times and took my 10 & 2 year old and they loved it. Meeting newborn animals and being able to hold a selection of animals in... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
gazken1981
,
Southport, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A great place for the kids. I have visited here a few times and took my 10 & 2 year old and they loved it. Meeting newborn animals and being able to hold a selection of animals in the hut. superb affordable place with a nice little cafe and gift shop. Great staff.

Helpful?
Thank gazken1981
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Acorn Farm and lovely to read that you and your children are return visitors. We love seeing people enjoying the farm and having a good time here. We try our best to keep it affordable, which can help to make a day out with children even MORE enjoyable. More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I did not enjoy my visit to this farm. I have been to many farms with my daughter, but this was the worst. It was not clean and some of the animals did not look healthy.

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit, we get so many positive comments and reviews and visitors who come time and again with or without children. What area of the farm were unclean? We pride ourselves on keeping the site as tidy, litter free and clean as is possible on a working farm with hundreds of visitors. Our animals... More 

Region of Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Decent animals, kids enjoyed it, especially feeding the animals and riding a horse. You pay extra for fun things to do. The cafe was a bit grubby, but served a purpose.

Helpful?
Thank Pmcsquee
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit, we try to keep our prices low and don't include all of the activities in the admission price because not all visitors want to do everything so by having the option to pay separately it can save some visitors money. Sorry the café was less than tidy during your visit, we have been understaffed in... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice little farm a bit of a pain to get to if you have no car but kids love it and love the little play area too. Animals look well after and its nice kids get a chance to feed them too

Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the farm. Because of our location it can be a little difficult to access via public transport. The buses which stop very near to the farm are: 198, 23 and 57A. We hope you will come and visit us again soon More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Only cheap to gain entry.. Proof is in the price as it is a budget farm and for £2.50 your not gonna get no farmer teds but it was a lovely little day out for my 2 year old nephew. He had a lovely day, staff were friendly.. Animals well cared for.. Couldn't fault it for the money ☺️

Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. We try to keep our prices as low as possible as we recognise that not all visitors have a lot of spare cash these days and as we all know visiting places of interest with young children can get very expensive sometimes. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought this was a lovely farm with a nice cafe and home made icecream. The farm was well looked after and really pretty. The only down side was I felt it was a bit dominated by goats. The petting section and pony rides are only at weekends and holidays. If they had been in the week I'd have give... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsSidley
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .... our ice cream is delicious. I wonder what flavour you had? The ice cream is made in our on site dairy and there are so many flavours to choose from. We are offering horse rides and the small animal petting sessions daily now until 5th September. We do have a number of different goats,... More 

Crosby Ravensworth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Acorn Farm is a small, friendly visitors farm with sheep, lambs, goats and kids, pigs, horses, ducks and chickens . It is a compact site with excellent access. You can buy feed for the goats/sheep and for chickens/ ducks which is great fun for little ones. It also has a woodland walk and a playground. The onsite cafe is basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imiller9
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable visit and we hope you will come back and see us again soon More 

Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner visited Acorn Farm Yesterday, pulled into the car park and went into the shop/cafe. No particular welcome, payed £5 to get in for the worst "farm" I've seen a few pens with the odd sheep, goat or pig in them and that was it. A waste of money and the trip down there.

Helpful?
Thank Aaron-Beccy1993
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't have a good visit to Acorn farm, we do our best to be friendly and welcoming and I apologise if we fell short of the mark. We have a good variety of animals here, you mentioned that you saw a few pens with sheep, goat or pig in them, so I am assuming you missed our... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I read all the other reviews for acorn farm saying how good it was. So me and my partner decided to go and visit it yesterday. Costing us £5 for the both of is didn't seem worth it. There wasn't many animals to look at we was only there for about 5 minutes. So it seem worth going there. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank beccy-aaron14
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't have a good visit to Acorn farm, we consider that we have a good variety of animals here, sheep, goats, rabbits, pigs, calves in them, ducks and chickens with their new hatchlings, Meerkats and horse. I hope you found time to visit the sensory garden and the woodland walk too. We try to keep our admission... More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took my son and his cousin for a day out. The kids love feeding the animals but just wish there was a little more variety. There is only so many goats, pigs and chickens you can feed, especially when other people have fed the animals already.

Helpful?
Thank NYCSavage
AcornFarm, Project Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for coming to visit Acorn Farm. Our animals are very well fed because there are days when we get a huge number of visitors. We have calves, a horse, meerkats and rabbits too and if you come during the weekend or school holidays you could book a session in the small animal petting barn for the children (and yourself)... More 

Travelers who viewed Acorn Farm also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Acorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Acorn Farm and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Burnley, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?