We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
WORTH A VISIT

The museum is now closed for renovations but you can still see into the garden area, Roman ruins... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
1104GG
,
London, United Kingdom
Historic Site

Looks great from the road side, unfortunately the venue was closed when we took our cultural walk... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2018
K2138VGmarks
Read all 158 reviews
All photos (73)
All photos (73)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good44%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“roman baths”(25 reviews)
“roman times”(8 reviews)
“city centre”(8 reviews)
About
Please note Jewry Wall Museum is currently closed for refurbishment. The Roman Jewry Wall and archaelogical site is still available to view.
Contact
156-160 St. Nicholas Circle, Leicester LE1 4LB, England
More
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leicester
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
53
64
25
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
53
64
25
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman baths roman times city centre great place to visit up to date richard iii ruins museum history
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The museum is now closed for renovations but you can still see into the garden area, Roman ruins and the impressive Jewry Wall. Roman baths were on this site. There is a path going round the back of the wall and you can look down...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 1104GG
Reviewed March 31, 2019

Fabulous museum and a must see for all who want to get a great understanding of Roman Leicester. Very informative, interesting and a great place to visit as a family

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank maunderca
Reviewed February 13, 2019

We travelled to see Richard iii and the the Jewry Wall. Unfortunately even after checking the website the Jewry Wall was closed, which was a shame. Whilst you can see the site, we would have chosen another day to visit if we had known. I...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Maria G
James H, Marketing and Communications at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2019

Hi Maria, sorry for your disappointment on the Jewry Wall Museum visit. The museum is currently closed for refurbishment at present, but we hope you still enjoyed the site and the Richard III visitor centre and that we can welcome you back once the museum...More

Reviewed February 6, 2019

Situated in the city centre this site is free to enter. The museum was closed for renovation which was a disappointment but the sheer size of the Jewry Wall was impressive. There isn't any parking on site so its a short walk from a city...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MarkGNewport
James H, Marketing and Communications at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Many thanks for your visit to the Jewry Wall site, we look forward to welcoming you back when the museum re-opens after refurbishment.

Reviewed September 20, 2018

The title says it all. The museum is presently shut for refurbishment. Nothing on the English Hericaceous website to indicate this. A wasted journey.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank PhilNichols
James H, Marketing and Communications at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Sorry Phil to hear about your journey to the Jewry Wall site. The museum is currently closed for refurbishment, so hope you can return when the museum re-opens.

Reviewed August 22, 2018

Looks great from the road side, unfortunately the venue was closed when we took our cultural walk around a very historic Leicester

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank K2138VGmarks
James H, Marketing and Communications at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Many thanks Mark for your review and visit to the Jewry Wall site. We hope you can return when the museum is redeveloped.

Reviewed July 30, 2018

Great to view the ruins. No cost to walk and wander around. Wonderful to see. Part of this was blocked off so I could not walk everywhere, but wonderful to step back in time.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Marlene K
James H, Marketing and Communications at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Many thanks Marlene for your review and visit to the site. Hope you can come back and visit when the museum re-opens after its major refurbishment!

Reviewed June 4, 2018

Me and my partner went to the Jewry Wall and the museum opposite and we were both impressed and fascinated by the history of the location. It will not take you all day to look round but it's an interesting place to go.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Stephen311
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Obviously the wall is centuries old dating back to Roman times.. However, the museum is currently closed for renovation. It's possible to take a good photo from the street side..

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Malcw1
James H, Communications and Marketing at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Many thanks for your review and visit. Please do come back and visit us once the museums refurbished in due course.

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Worth seeing. There is so much history to see in Leicester that I was amazed. Such an old discovery & preserved so well. We'll done to Leicester for keeping it safe for all to see.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank TheLeopard79
James H, Communications and Marketing at Jewry Wall, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Many thanks for your review and visit to the site. Hope you can come back and see us again when the refurbished Jewry Wall Museum re-opens!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
Quality City Westbridge Wharf
39 reviews
.05 miles away
Holiday Inn Leicester
1,156 reviews
.07 miles away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
634 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel Maiyango
368 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,437 nearby restaurants
Lilu Cuisine
697 reviews
.13 miles away
World Peace Cafe
148 reviews
.17 miles away
Turtle Bay
1,655 reviews
.16 miles away
King Richard III Pub
135 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 287 nearby attractions
Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Wood
6 reviews
.19 miles away
King Richard III Visitor Centre
1,931 reviews
.25 miles away
Leicester Guildhall
506 reviews
.17 miles away
Highcross Leicester
291 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jrdo5959
May 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from James H | Property representative |
Hi there, the Jewry Wall Museum is currently closed for major refurbishment. However, the Roman wall and bath house are still available for public viewing. There's some on-street parking next to the site or an NCP car park... More
0
Votes
lovehistory4ever2016
March 27, 2016|
Answer
Response from James H | Property representative |
Thanks for your interest. No its free admission for a general visit, no ticket required. We do have an events programme which have a small charge but for a general visit, please just come on the day! All best wishes, James
2
Votes