We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Deep

Features Animals
Open Now: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Took my 2 year old grandson

I have been to the Deep twice now , once with my older children and the last time with my 2 year... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kerryeibhlin
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fun for a few hours

We came to The Deep as our original plans for today were ruined by poor weather. It's clearly... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Brumboy85
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 4,187 reviews
1,812
All photos (1,812)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“fish”(1,085 reviews)
“sea life”(207 reviews)
“main tank”(135 reviews)
About
Located in Hull, The Deep is an award winning aquarium home to 3,500 fish including green sawfish, spectacular sharks, rays and a colony of Gentoo penguins. Journey through the story of the world's oceans travelling through a unique blend of...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Tower Street, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 4DP, England
Website
+44 1482 381000
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (4,187)
There are newer reviews for The Deep
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
4,142 results
Traveler rating
2,000
1,269
573
185
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,000
1,269
573
185
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish sea life main tank large tank bubble lift penguin enclosure an aquarium annual pass gift aid soft play area picnic area all ages interactive displays school holidays car park family ticket half term
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 20 of 4,142 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstanding experience here at the end of November , we started with a private tour of the entire place and then continued with dining in the tunnel afterwards for just myself and my wife with no other guests on the floor, great food , great...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Egatien12
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes The Deep Crew

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to the Deep twice now , once with my older children and the last time with my 2 year old grandson .. there was quite a lot of walking up and down stairs ( if the queues where long for the lift...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank kerryeibhlin
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes The Deep Crew

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great exhibition, leet down by the poor quality catering, learn to cook chips! Just checking the tables i could tell i wasnt the only one not impressed by the state of the food...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mazuul
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food in the cafe. I have passed on your comments to the catering staff and hope you will see the improvements on your next visit....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to The Deep as our original plans for today were ruined by poor weather. It's clearly aimed at kids and students, but we did really enjoy ourselves. There are lots of little interactive displays dotted around and the main tank is really impressive....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Brumboy85
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. In order to create the right ambience to the attraction we do keep the light level fairly low, however walkways are clearly signed....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful attraction and we took our time to enjoy the exhibits. I loved the layout, starting at the top, then slowly making our way through so many different levels. It was fascinating.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Lynda B
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes, The Deep Crew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were new to Hull so the first thing I loved was how well it was signposted! Car park is £3 for the day and convenient for other museums etc so good value. Very well organised place and everyone friendly and helpful, family friendly, budget...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Barbara M
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes, The Deep Crew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Deep had a lot more to offer than we first thought but lacked in other areas. Great layout and can be accessed by everyone. However we found fixed messages throughout; lots about conservation and reducing plastic waste (all good stuff) however if you go...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank I4996RBjoannap
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. Following customer feedback, and with a catalyst of The Deep’s public commitment this year to the One Less campaign (to help to reduce the prevalence of single use water bottles), I can assure you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great for fish but the penguins enclosure is just sad. Would rate it no more than mediocre an would not return.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 491jasmineo
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. Our penguin enclosure is built to house 21 penguins and we have just 13 in residence. In the wild penguins live very close together so the exhibit has been designed with this in mind. They are extremely happy and well...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went with the family for a day out and we left very impressed indeed. There were hundreds upon hundreds of interesting displays of fish and one tank was even full of sharks! There was an area which teaches you all about the history of...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tommyhorsfield
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes The Deep Crew

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited on a Sunday afternoon during school half-term when it was very busy, but due to the excellent design of the The Deep we had no problem seeing all the tanks at the various levels. There is a eide variety of exhibits the view...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nick B
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope to ‘sea’ you again soon! Best Fishes The Deep Crew

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
1,809 reviews
.11 miles away
Hideout Hotel
74 reviews
.26 miles away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
733 reviews
.53 miles away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
1,033 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 722 nearby restaurants
The Lion & Key
876 reviews
.14 miles away
Hitchcock's Vegetarian Restaurant
283 reviews
.12 miles away
The Old House
366 reviews
.15 miles away
The Brain Jar
78 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 199 nearby attractions
Streetlife Museum of Transport
2,129 reviews
.08 miles away
Arctic Corsair
280 reviews
.04 miles away
Hull's Old Town
737 reviews
.10 miles away
Hull & East Riding Museum
352 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
skeggybaby
June 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TheDeep-HU14DP | Property representative |
Hi! Obviously this can depend on the day but as a general guide for a quieter experience we do suggest visiting outside our busy periods of 11am and 3pm. With Thanks The Deep Crew
0
Votes
Dave C
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from traceyjaynewilson | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is wheelchair friendly
0
Votes
JanJenkins2016
April 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TheOuchPoucher | Reviewed this property |
There are stairs available, but the lift is brilliant and enhances your trip and I get vertigo badly and petrified of heights, but I can easily handle the lift!
1
Vote
Travel Forum Posts
Magpie147
Cloud Cuckoo Land
The Deep and Hull for Wheelchair User ? (12 Replies)
I wonder if someone could tell me if The Deep is worth a visit, and is it Wheelchair friendly? Also is the Shopping Centre area in Hull easy accessed by a Wheelchair user with regards to flatness, shops access, Parking etc? Many Thanks
May 25, 2010|
Response fromian s|
Hi Maggie147. Yes the deep is very wheel chair friendly and I do believe the "pusher" get's in for nowt. We have 3 main shopping centre's in Hull and all have lift's. If you want any more info about Hull just ask. ian480.
congeestar
toronto
free wifi (2 Replies)
any free wifi spot around The Deep or City Cenre
March 11, 2010|
Response fromian s|
hi congeestar. I do believe the 3 Weatherspoon bars in the city centre as free wifi. ian480.
Smiiithy
Newcastle, UK
Best cabin / park stopover Savannah - Great Smoky Mountains (4 Replies)
Good afternoon all, I'm planning a road trip across the Deep South during June/July 2018. Early on our itinerary are Savannah and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Having stayed at state park camping cabins in Florida, I hear that GA has many parks with fantastic facilities. Would anyone be able to suggest state parks with small(er) camping cabins or similar lodgings (linens supplied, with a BBQ/fire pit etc.) which could make a good stopover for two adults our way to NC/TN? ...More
December 04, 2017|
Response fromTeona D|
Hi, Wrong Forum