We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Deep

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great day out.

We have been a few times now but this was our first visit with our 3 yr old grand daughter. She... read more

Reviewed today
philt397
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent day out!

Had a great day out with kids here. Good value for money including the restaurant. Lots for kids to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
965lucylou
,
Leicester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 4,260 reviews
1,896
All photos (1,896)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“fish”(1,096 reviews)
“sea life”(212 reviews)
“main tank”(135 reviews)
About
Located in Hull, The Deep is an award winning aquarium home to 3,500 fish including green sawfish, spectacular sharks, rays and a colony of Gentoo penguins. Journey through the story of the world's oceans travelling through a unique blend of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Tower Street, Kingston-upon-Hull HU1 4DP, England
Website
+44 1482 381000
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (4,260)
Filter reviews
4,212 results
Traveler rating
2,031
1,297
581
187
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,031
1,297
581
187
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish sea life main tank large tank penguin enclosure bubble lift an aquarium annual pass gift aid soft play area all ages picnic area interactive displays school holidays car park family ticket half term
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,212 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

I went to The Deep yesterday with my grandparents and it was beyond amazing! Not only was it an amazing aquarium full of great wildlife that seem to be cared for well but the length they go to make disabled people comfortable to fantastic. My...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ellie G
Reviewed today via mobile

We have been a few times now but this was our first visit with our 3 yr old grand daughter. She loves it and wants a penguin!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank philt397
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Had a lovely day out with the kids a good place to visit every once in while for a nice trip out of town.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 622belindaw
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded today

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit! 'Bob' in again soon! Thanks The Deep Crew

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Booked in advance as we had to travel two and a half hours to get here only to be welcomed by an enormous queue, with queue jumping locals galore We haven’t even got in yet but the only organisation is to cram more people into...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Mike E
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Mike Just to quickly follow this up we responded immediately to your emails and twitter posts to discuss the queuing system, why booking slots are not something we offer, and how we were working as hard and as quickly as possible to help our...More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had a great day out with kids here. Good value for money including the restaurant. Lots for kids to see and do. It was very busy since it was half term and queues going on was big however once inside there was plenty of room....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 965lucylou
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we do hope you will visit us again soon. I have passed on your comments regarding parking to our management team. With Thanks The Deep Crew

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Parking was a farce, lots of people telling us where to park but fee machines didn’t take credit cards and the parking guides had ‘no change’ facilities. Long queue and no special assistance for children with autism. Longer queues everywhere so suggest a time slot...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 811JayneM
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback and great to hear that your children enjoyed their time with us. Our parking fee machines only take change however tickets can also be bought at our shop and reception should you need to pay with notes or a credit/debit...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Glad we had 2 for 1 tickets as for what you get it’s expensive Wasnt very clean and staff were quite ignorant! Didnt try the food there based on how dirty the areas were

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank vix_5011
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi vix_5011 We do not offer a 2 for 1 ticket so we are unsure if this review is meant for another attraction. With Thanks The Deep Crew

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Our first experience at this establishment was an unprofessional interaction with a staff member called Luda. We had a simple question regarding parking and she laughed at us and scoffed. She was very demeaning with her customer service and this did not set us in...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pseudonym95
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your time with us and that you felt you had not received the level of customer service we adhere to. Our tickets prices include unlimited return visits for 12 months so we believe are great value...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Really great place with plenty of interactive exhibits for the kids. The place gets pretty packed on weekends and half term so get there early (<10am) as there is limited parking

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank timw394
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Hope to 'sea' you again soon!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We arrived at around 11am with to enter for around 45 minutes. Once inside the deep is a well run, well maintained entertainment location for 1-2 hours. If you’re with children there is an indoor adventure area at the end. Lots of aquariums around with...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank tomcloo2
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best fishes, The Deep Crew

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
1,844 reviews
.11 miles away
Hideout Hotel
74 reviews
.26 miles away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
743 reviews
.53 miles away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
1,039 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 749 nearby restaurants
The Lion & Key
903 reviews
.14 miles away
Hitchcock's Vegetarian Restaurant
287 reviews
.12 miles away
The Brain Jar
84 reviews
.27 miles away
The Old House
373 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 199 nearby attractions
Streetlife Museum of Transport
2,173 reviews
.08 miles away
Arctic Corsair
284 reviews
.04 miles away
Hull's Old Town
747 reviews
.10 miles away
Hull & East Riding Museum
355 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
skeggybaby
June 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TheDeep-HU14DP | Property representative |
Hi! Obviously this can depend on the day but as a general guide for a quieter experience we do suggest visiting outside our busy periods of 11am and 3pm. With Thanks The Deep Crew
0
Votes
Dave C
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from traceyjaynewilson | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is wheelchair friendly
0
Votes
JanJenkins2016
April 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TheOuchPoucher | Reviewed this property |
There are stairs available, but the lift is brilliant and enhances your trip and I get vertigo badly and petrified of heights, but I can easily handle the lift!
1
Vote
Travel Forum Posts
Magpie147
Cloud Cuckoo Land
The Deep and Hull for Wheelchair User ? (12 Replies)
I wonder if someone could tell me if The Deep is worth a visit, and is it Wheelchair friendly? Also is the Shopping Centre area in Hull easy accessed by a Wheelchair user with regards to flatness, shops access, Parking etc? Many Thanks
May 25, 2010|
Response fromian s|
Hi Maggie147. Yes the deep is very wheel chair friendly and I do believe the "pusher" get's in for nowt. We have 3 main shopping centre's in Hull and all have lift's. If you want any more info about Hull just ask. ian480.
congeestar
toronto
free wifi (2 Replies)
any free wifi spot around The Deep or City Cenre
March 11, 2010|
Response fromian s|
hi congeestar. I do believe the 3 Weatherspoon bars in the city centre as free wifi. ian480.
Smiiithy
Newcastle, UK
Best cabin / park stopover Savannah - Great Smoky Mountains (4 Replies)
Good afternoon all, I'm planning a road trip across the Deep South during June/July 2018. Early on our itinerary are Savannah and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Having stayed at state park camping cabins in Florida, I hear that GA has many parks with fantastic facilities. Would anyone be able to suggest state parks with small(er) camping cabins or similar lodgings (linens supplied, with a BBQ/fire pit etc.) which could make a good stopover for two adults our way to NC/TN? ...More
December 04, 2017|
Response fromTeona D|
Hi, Wrong Forum