We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Champneys St Albans

Open Now: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM
Review Highlights
Relaxation

My husband and I had been given Groupon vouchers, so he opted for a full massage and I had a back... read more

Reviewed October 20, 2018
Carole M
,
Watford, United Kingdom
Great first experience! 😘

First time in champneys at albans. Had a voucher to use for my facial treatment and booked a back... read more

Reviewed September 10, 2018
annafmwebb
,
Canterbury
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
All photos (1)
All photos (1)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
About
Nestled in the historic Market Place of leafy St. Albans, our City Spa is the place to experience world-class spa pampering and beauty treatments. Spend an hour with us, and you’ll feel relaxed and refreshed. The longer you linger, the more...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM
See all hours
Contact
23 Market Place, St. Albans AL3 5DP, England
Website
+44 1727 864893
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
30
17
7
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
30
17
7
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pregnancy massage left feeling relaxed visited champneys wonderful massage elemis products exercise classes professional therapists luxury pedicure regular basis hot stone massage bump knots masseuse session
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for a pregnancy (Bump) massage and had a lovely experience. My therapist was called Amber and she was really good. It was a nice mix of relaxing and working on parts of my body which needed extra pressure. I would recommend.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank kanddhanson
Reviewed October 20, 2018

My husband and I had been given Groupon vouchers, so he opted for a full massage and I had a back, neck and shoulders massage and a facial. My husband said his massage was very good. My treatment was excellent and during my facial I...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Carole M
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

First time in champneys at albans. Had a voucher to use for my facial treatment and booked a back massage. Wonderful massage and one of the best I've had! My therapist was amazing and I felt looked after. Could have easily spent longer here and...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank annafmwebb
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

Today I visited champneys in St Albans with my daughter. We both had very experienced professional therapists. I had a massage and facial. I liked the fact that my therapist did not chat all the way through as they do in many other places. I...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 358suzyh
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I tried on two separate occasions to reserve a date for treatment. The phone kept ringing and ringing there was no answer. The telephone number was a number that charges you 7 pence a minute just to make a reservation. I don't know of any...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank nedageranfar
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, I will pass this information on to our reservations team. Our direct number for St Albans is 01727864893 which is charged at standard rates. Please give us a call on this number and we can arrange your treatment's for you...More

Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

I got a voucher from friends for my birthday, so thought I would treat myself. I opted for eyebrow tinting, and gel nails. The tinting took about 2 minutes, and although I stated I didn't want them to look top dark as I'm blonde, they...More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank christinebB6303GH
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are very disappointing to hear about your recent visit here in our St Albans branch. Please could you email us on stalbans@champneys.com with this feedback so we are able to follow this up with you. Many thanks

Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Having been to Champneys Henlow and Tring I was really looking forward to my luxury pedicure but was sadly underwhelmed. Booked using a buyagift voucher and this was all great although I did not get a phone call the day before as promised so had...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jo C
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for your feedback this is very disappointing to hear. Please could you email us on stalbans@champneys.com with this feedback so we are able to follow this up with you. Many thanks

Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Yesterday I came out of Champneys St Albans not feeling like I had a great experience, compared to my visit many years ago. It all felt rushed, and not professional at all. My manicure wasn’t done well, it was rushed and the polish kept denting,...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Lettylou1
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. I'm really disappointed to hear you were unhappy with your visit. Are you able to email the spa on stalbans@Champneys.com with more details so I can look into this further for you.

Reviewed May 20, 2018

I had a amazing Hot stone massage with Emily, who removed many stress knots from my back I felt total relaxed afterwards and will book the treatment again. I have also visited on a Saturday which is not the best day for relaxation due to...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank melaniej20
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2018

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

I was lucky enough to visit the Champneys City Spa in St Albans today to have a massage. My masseuse was a young lady called Dortoya (might be spelt wrong). Over the years I’ve had many massages but this by far was the best, she...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 896fionam
Charlotte G, Manager at Champneys St Albans, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you so much for your comments. I will pass them onto Dorota. We hope you see you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
691 reviews
.17 miles away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
971 reviews
.20 miles away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
682 reviews
.44 miles away
Ardmore House
623 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 385 nearby restaurants
Tabure
510 reviews
.04 miles away
L'Italiana
953 reviews
.06 miles away
Little Marrakech
605 reviews
.02 miles away
The Boot Public House
158 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 97 nearby attractions
St Albans Cathedral
2,035 reviews
.17 miles away
St Albans Clock Tower
323 reviews
.06 miles away
St Albans Farmers Market
31 reviews
.01 miles away
Alban Way
9 reviews
.41 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Champneys St Albans staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines