We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in St. Albans
The Roman City of St Albans Private Tour
$340.65 per adult
344Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 196
  • 117
  • 28
  • 2
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peter Y wrote a review Oct 1
32 contributions11 helpful votes
Great walk up those ancient steps, rewarded by a stunning view. Well worth the effort but need a rest!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
derekmcl2015 wrote a review Mar 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom233 contributions45 helpful votes
I was walking through St Albans Market one sunny Saturday afternoon when I saw that the clock tower was open to visitors. It is opened at weekends in the summer and staffed by volunteers. The clock mechanism is fascinating but the real revelation is how small and definitely less corpulent (than me) they were in those days. However, making the effort to climb to the roof affords wonderful views over St Albans.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
sugarrose wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom92 contributions26 helpful votes
Very disappointed to find this tower closed even tho we checked online and it said open. So bear this in mind we had 2 disappointed children but visited the cathedral which was amazing.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from St_Albans_Museums, Manager at St Albans Clock Tower
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear sugarrose - we're sorry you were unable to visit - the Tower is generally open between Easter and the end of September which we make clear on the Museums website, St Albans tourism website and other listings we have control of.
Read more
1949etwall wrote a review Jan 2020
Ashbourne, United Kingdom1,545 contributions432 helpful votes
Not the reason to visit St Albans- but this is a key structure in the historic centre of St Albans. Well signed with its relationships to various events in the past history, and relationship to local buildings. It is features like this which create the atmosphere of the city.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Jaybird wrote a review Jan 2020
Chesterfield, United Kingdom3,339 contributions672 helpful votes
Lovely to see. A pity the clock is not working but another sight to take in on our whistle stop trip
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about St Albans Clock Tower