We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Terminal 1, Royal Pier | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Phone Number: 02380019192
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat - Sun 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description:

Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the...

Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 548 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 293
    Excellent
  • 160
    Very good
  • 47
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
A decent Free WiFi would be welcomed

I use the ferry service quite often in my work travels. The staff are always very friendly...the food and beverages are as good as you would expect in a service such as this...it... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
lesley r
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I use the ferry service quite often in my work travels. The staff are always very friendly...the food and beverages are as good as you would expect in a service such as this...it is always clean even with the quick turnaround. I usually manage to get some work done on my computer during the hour long journey....it's just a shame... More 

Helpful?
Thank lesley r
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First class way to travel to the I-O-W. Good service by the ferry firm, good clean ships. Good for food and drinks.

Helpful?
Thank chasw47
southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband is a breakdown and recovery driver and goes here quite a lot on breakdowns and always gets lots of help from staff. I am in a wheelchair know and the last time we travelled was when I was walking which was quite a few years ago but we will go again soon back to the island.

Helpful?
Thank baggsie
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We took our vehicle from Soutampton to Isle of Wight and everything went smooth. Providing our license plate proved to be helpful. Nice and clean, on time, no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank Jessieto
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with our number plate recognition system. Your kind comments regarding the level of service received will be forwarded to the relevant department. We look forward to seeing you back onboard again soon. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Quick check-in, loaded promptly. Staff helpful. On board facilities very good. Very good location, easy to get to

Helpful?
Thank WinnieWigs
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our service. We hope to see you back onboard again soon. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff are very quick to get you on and off the ferry as quickly and as efficiently as possible. On our return leg we were an hour early so they put us on the earlier ferry. The ferry stinks a bit and it can get really windy outside but on a hot summers day it is quite lovely going... More 

Helpful?
Thank PopcornMonkeyReviews
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We will always try our best to accommodate our passengers needs therefore it is fantastic to see that we were able to get you onto the earlier sailing. We apologise for the smell onboard the ferry, we do not usually receive this type of feedback therefore your... More 

Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were on our way to the Isle of Wight on the 12 o'clock ferry having just had lunch from the excellent cafe when we noticed a cloud of smoke from the island. It transpired that there was a fire at a garage In Cowes and that there were a lot of toxic fumes so it was unsafe to dock.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mistylilac
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent feedback. We sincerely apologise for the delays caused by the fire in Cowes however it is great to hear your kind feedback regarding the way we dealt with the situation. We will definitely pass your lovely comments onto the ships crew. We hope to see you back onboard with us again soon. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Red funnel have updated the ferries since we last used them and it was great to see they have now have a dog friendly lounge it is very comfortable clean and tidy with t v screens showing where the ferry is so you can see where you are and also train and bus information and the best thing is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

It is our goal to provide our four legged as well as two legged customers with excellent customer service on each and every visit. We would like to thank you for your comments and assure you that they shall be passed on to the relevant departments. We look forward to serving you again. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend took me out as a surprise and we ended up at the red funnel terminal at town quay Southampton. The staff at the gate were friendly and the ticket office staff were friendly and efficient. Boarding was good and we found the boat very clean with good organisation and served a lovely cup of coffee in the restaurant.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and your kind comments about our service and staff. What a lovely idea for a ‘girlie day out’. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed travelling with us and hope to welcome you and your friend back onboard again soon. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient crossing times, usually clean and tidy, always prompt and on time. Good location for transport links on both sides.

Helpful?
Thank Mushr00mTraveller
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback. We are delighted to receive your kind comments towards our service and staff and appreciate that you have taken the time to say so. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your overall experience travelling with us and look forward to welcoming you back onboard again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Funnel Ferries and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Funnel Ferries staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?