We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Clarence Esplanade, Portsmouth PO5 3PB, England
Phone Number:
+44 23 9287 5222
Description:

Take the ultimate undersea safari at the Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth....

Take the ultimate undersea safari at the Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth. Enjoy close encounters with everything from tropical sharks to fascinating frogs and adorable otters!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 457 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 63
    Excellent
  • 99
    Very good
  • 151
    Average
  • 72
    Poor
  • 64
    Terrible
Not worth it

The staff here are really friendly but the facilities are in desperate need of some attention and money. I think it's very expensive and not worth the entrance fee price. Having... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
SammieA
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 449: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

well what can I say other than this place is completely magical. I haven't seen this many tropical fish since i visited my great uncle all the way in the Caribbean Island of Jamaica one love for the rasta them man love the sticky icky! However I will say the sharks here are nothing compared to the ones i had... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheAfricanTripod
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I took my Grandson last Tuesday (February 21). We were there for just over four hours. The regular talks were so interesting and educational. Fantastic value for money. The staff were not only friendly and helpful, they are also qualified where appropriate. It was good to know that this venue is regularly audited by the external authorities - a monitoring... More 

Helpful?
Thank 622tony2017
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff here are really friendly but the facilities are in desperate need of some attention and money. I think it's very expensive and not worth the entrance fee price. Having visited Brighton Sealife centre in December I'd say you're undoubtedly better off going there for the day instead.

Helpful?
Thank SammieA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a shame this place needs a lot of support to restore to its former glory. The staff were incredibly helpful in advising on talk times and printing some more pictures for my girls to colour in. If only the facilities themselves lived up to the staff - outdated, and unmanageable by the limited resources to look after them.

Helpful?
Thank Da_Burge
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to see that the staff were friendly and helpful on your visit and we hope you found a good place to hang the colouring pictures up at home. Being open every day apart from Christmas day unfortunately can make it quite difficult for us to continually... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is more like a hobbiest collection of sea life not an Aquarium in a major seaside city! You can re-enter as many times as you like during the day which may offer the hence to see different talks etc there is pay at the meter parking right outside if you go when it's quiet and lovely view over the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank E11i3
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit. Unfortunately it was always planned for two species of our sharks to be moved to a sister aquarium and there was a press release stating this on our website and social media platforms. We do have 7 other... More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely time spent with my great nieces of 5, 3 and 6 months BUT the place is very dowdy and run down. The staff are excellent though and the displays of fish and sea life very good but the lights over information plaques were broken and so had to use phone on mobile to read. Needs a lick of... More 

Helpful?
Thank mags v
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to see that you and your family enjoyed your time at the aquarium! Lighting is an issue that we have on site, however it is something we are trying to get fixed with as little disruption to the fish as possible. More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The reviews said needed a bit of talc and it does... We were not impressed and have been to other blue reef aquariums and expected more, especially as small thought the standard would be higher. Fish looked well cared for as did the other creatures, the fabric and furnishings were the sad point. Tape on aquariums and very wet floors.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your visit to us - would you mind going into a bit more detail to say what say what you preferred at the other Blue Reef sites? More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't know why people are giving it negative reviews. It is fabulous. I have been once with,as an lsa, on a school trip. I enjoyed it soooo much that 3 years later, I went with my husband and my elderly mum. We all enjoyed our visit and I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank mrs Amanda D
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to see that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the aquarium! We have lots of events coming up in the year and these can be viewed on our website. More 

Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was worth a visit and our baby loved looking at the exhibits, sadly its looking a little shabby in places and the otter exhibit was just plain sad, I personally would release the otters and stick to the aquatics. Comic from Scotland where otters live free then I see no need for them to be kept captive in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. That's great to see that you and your baby enjoyed the different displays here. The Otter enclosure is something that we are constantly checking to ensure they have enough enrichment throughout the day. We do this by moving round bits and bobs in the enclosure and hiding food in different spots for them to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

School inset day! Needed somewhere in doors to go on a cold windy day. Checked our the Blue Reef Aquarium and the reviews on here. Despite some very negative reviews my 8yr old and I decide to give it a go! We paid for an hour's parking thinking that would be long enough - it wasn't!!! You pay for all... More 

Helpful?
Thank melaniej15
BlueReefPortsmouth01, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to see that you and your family enjoyed your visit and took advantage of the ticket valid all day policy. It sounds like you all learnt a lot from your trip which is fantastic! Our Rain Forest area is going to re-vamped as an Asian rainforest for... More 

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blue Reef Aquarium and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Farnham, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Reef Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?