We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An absolute little gem!

I Visited this beautiful house on Easter Sunday, to be honest my interest in a certain Captain Ross... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
REDBEARDBristol
,
BRISTOL
via mobile
So many stories

We visited the house as a birthday treat for some ‘Poldark’ fans in our family and we were not... read more

Reviewed March 16, 2019
CornishBoy77
,
Bath, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 371 reviews
All photos (120)
All photos (120)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“historic house”(20 reviews)
“guided tour”(40 reviews)
About
CHAVENAGE HOUSE is a privately owned Elizabethan Manor House open to the public. It has been used as a TV location for many productions and is at present playing Trenwith in the popular Poldark. There is so much more to see and enjoy. Guided tours...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
| Chavenage, Tetbury GL8 8XP, England
Website
+44 1666 502329
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
328
30
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
328
30
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic house lowsley williams guided tour oliver cromwell amusing anecdotes scones family history great humour family affair lovely house tv series come alive two hours wonderful stories personal tour english civil war memorable tour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I Visited this beautiful house on Easter Sunday, to be honest my interest in a certain Captain Ross Poldark took me there! Oh to of walked where he had walked! 😍. But what I found was much more, a lovely caring friendly family who met...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank REDBEARDBristol
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bitterly, bitterly cold, colder inside than out! The fire not drawing in the dining room so the room is full of awful woodsmoke which quickly makes you feel ill. How anyone can expect people to eat in such circumstances is beyond me. This place should...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank angela914
CarolineChav, Manager at Chavenage House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Caroline L-W - which function did you come to? As you can imagine it is difficult to heat old Grade 1 listed properties, we do try our best to insure the comfort of guest attending functions. That means we do use the old method of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apparently they had had a water pipe burst about a year ago and still not sorted the place out.If we had known we would not have paid £9.00 each and £3.00 for parking as we are pensioners and there was hardly anything to see.And you...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Margaret R
CarolineChav, Owner at Chavenage House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Caroline L-W here - I was perplexed by this review as we have not had a flood here at Chavenage in living memory, we have free on site Car Parking and our teas are served in the House. I am sorry that Margaret R had...More

Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

We visited the house as a birthday treat for some ‘Poldark’ fans in our family and we were not disappointed. As previous reviewers have said, Caroline and her family make this place come alive. Caroline took us on the tour and brought each room alive,...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank CornishBoy77
Reviewed October 28, 2018

This tour has received rave reviews for a reason. Caroline and family make it entertaining, tie in real history, and have perfected their stories so well that even our kids (ages 10-15) were engaged (could have had something to do with the family dogs and...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank kevin1martin
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We visited as a group of 20 friends and I can honestly say i have never enjoyed a visit as much as this. We were shown round the house by Caroline who was incredibly knowledgable about the history of this beautiful place. It has risen...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank not_now_kato
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Magnificent... Caroline your tour was steeped in history woven with personal families stories and when combined with your witty humour made for a fabulous time. It was lovely that you sat down with my family over tea and scones and gave us even more stories...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Lauren N
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We were in a small group but joined with a larger group. From the start we were enthralled by Caroline's dry humour and informative introduction. We were then handed over to her brother George, who talked us through the Cromwell room with its historic tapestries,...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Caroline K
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Yesterday was another Red Letter day when we visited Chavenage again!! Once again the Lowsley Williams family welcomed us into their home and gave us a a treat ...Rhoda David George and Caroline made our day so special with wonderful memories and snippets of history...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gill L
Reviewed October 3, 2018

we took a group of 48 people from a Retirement Club in South Somerset for a private tour of Chavenage House. What a delight! Caroline and her brother George entertained is with really funny anecdotes about the family, family history and the filming of Poldark....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ChristineH2437
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
The Priory Inn
657 reviews
.84 miles away
The Ormond at Tetbury
603 reviews
.98 miles away
The Close Hotel
533 reviews
1.01 miles away
Snooty Fox Hotel
740 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 nearby restaurants
The Shore Hotel
236 reviews
.56 miles away
Casa La Cucina Italiana
232 reviews
.90 miles away
Cafe 53
462 reviews
.89 miles away
The Priory Inn
607 reviews
.85 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Calcot Spa
72 reviews
2.55 miles away
Hands on Bushcraft
33 reviews
3.91 miles away
Torbay Express Limited
98 reviews
4.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
shawnmariec2017
September 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from CarolineChav | Property representative |
Hello - Caroline Lowsley-Williams here - though we are closed from the end of the month, we do have a tour on Tuesday 2.10.18 at 10.30am. It would be a drive of 50 minutes to an hour to get here from Stow-on-the -Wold. The... More
0
Votes
Lynne H
September 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CarolineChav | Property representative |
HELLO THERE - Just in the office before we open this afternoon. We are open on THURSDAY 13th SEPTEMBER, 2018 to the General Public from 2pm to 5pm, though I would advise you to get here as near 2pm as possible. It is an... More
0
Votes
annbT2543ZE
July 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CarolineChav | Property representative |
I am sorry I did not spot this queston until today - we did not have any tours on Friday and we were hosting a clients wedding on Saturday. Hopefully you can come for a tour sometime in the future. CLW
1
Vote