We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Full view
Location
Contact
Chavenage, Tetbury GL8 8XP England
Get to know the area
Bath&Beyond: (Full Day) Driver-Guided Experience - Southern Cotswolds
Cultural Tours

Bath&Beyond: (Full Day) Driver-Guided Experience - Southern Cotswolds

The tour will:<br>- be delivered by the UK's only qualified tourist guides - the internationally respected BLUE BADGE registered / fully insured / Institute of Tourist Guiding qualified guides.<br>- ensure the clients will take away a complete understanding of the tour location, including how it fits into the history and geography of the UK as a whole.<br>- be informative, interesting, appropriately entertaining!<br>- be undertaken by a fully licensed, insured, qualified / advanced driver (Institute of Advanced Motorists).<br>- be undertaken in a luxury specified SUV, licensed for a maximum of 4 passengers.<br>The price is for the full day and for you and family / friends (up to the maximum of 4 passengers) - you will be transported, with commentary as appropriate en route, then guided around the sites listed and the surrounding areas / towns as appropriate. Each tour will be as flexible as possible, allowing you to experience whatever takes your fancy!
$853.55 per adult
453Reviews28Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 410
  • 36
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Katy wrote a review Sep 2020
Weston-Super-Mare6 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I had booked a weekend to Tetbury to celebrate our wedding anniversary and as a gift my Mum booked us a private tour of Chavenage House, followed by a surprise afternoon tea! Caroline had given great directions on how to find them and met us on arrival, she then introduced us to George who took us on our guided tour! The tour was brilliant, full of history and interesting facts and also lots of anecdotes about all the filming that has taken place there! Mind you I think we may be the first people to visit who haven't actually seen Poldark!! George also gave a great insight into what it was like to have grown up in such a place, which really added a personal aspect to the tour and I think it's great that the family take such delight in sharing their home with others. Our afternoon tea was delicious and it was lovely to chat more with George and David, who also came out to say hello to us while we were there. Having retired from giving the tours I think he enjoyed the chance to share some of his stories too. We had a really lovely time and it made for a memorable weekend and anniversary. I really hope to visit again in the future and would highly recommend the house as a place to visit if you are in the area. (contacting them first of course until 'normal' service can resume!)
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Footprints651272 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Hopeless cafe, forgot drinks and was made to wait 20 min for them whilst serving everyone else. And now run out of the drink. Just poor service, never seen it from a basic restaurant.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CarolineChav, Manager at Chavenage House
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Hi there, I am sorry you felt you had to write this review, in fact it has come up on Chavenage House when you visited the entirely separate establishment of Wild Carrot, who have a coffee stop on site. Reports on Wild Carrot have been very positive and I am sure your experience was a one off. Kind regards. Caroline Lowsley-Williams
Read more
Mark W wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
A most beautiful house and setting, and by far the best guided tour ever! I emailed asking if we could have a tour and tea for my 50th birthday celebration on 5th January. From the outset I had a very friendly email back from Caroline, the first of many back and forth, making sure all the arrangements were perfect. The day itself surpassed expectation in every way (and I had high hopes!). The family were extremely relaxed and accommodating in sharing their home with us. Caroline’s tour was so entertaining and amusing that we imbibed the history without any effort whatsoever, so clever is she at weaving it through with anecdotes and humour. All 14 adults and 4 children were captivated, including those not as desperately interested in old houses as I am. The Afternoon Tea provided by Caroline’s sister, Joanna, and her helpers was absolutely delicious too, and she went to a great deal of trouble catering for the little ones and those with dietary issues. Caroline had thoughtfully warned us to wear warm clothes for a tour of a big old house in winter, so consequently we weren’t chilly, and when we were shown into the Ball Room where tea was served we found a big cosy log fire burning, as well as an additional electric fire as back-up. Both tour and tea were amazingly good value for money, particularly considering that we had a private viewing of the house led by one of the family. This was an experience like no other - descriptions don't do it justice, you just have to go do it!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
alicerR66QJ wrote a review Dec 2019
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
Was an interesting visit, enjoyable afternoon. Thought a little pricey. Signage to find was poor as only small which was difficult to spot when driving, good job had passenger looking. Family members make you feel welcomed and take tours in turn,
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
PeterJ1952 wrote a review Nov 2019
Calne, United Kingdom322 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
We had a group visit from Bowood House, the only downside of that being that we had to do this in our closed season. And it was a cold day. Chavenage has very little heating so every room was perishing cold. Every time we moved to a different room it seemed even colder, probably because as human radiators we managed eventually to take the chill of each room. However...I’ll still give Chavenage top marks. It’s a beautiful house with a fascinating history, superbly accomplished and witty guides from the owning family, Caroline and Richard, and one of the best homemade lunches you can get. Next time though we’ll go in warmer weather!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Chavenage House