We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum

Clarence Street, Cheltenham GL50 3JT, England
+44 1242 237431
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A few interesting Collection

Not so many famour artworks as you would see in a city art museum, but the collection here is... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Angshu_Kolkata
,
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Interesting exhibits and paintaings

It was a good way of killing about 90 minutes. The paintings didn't do it for us, but the exhibits... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Martin G
,
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Read all 368 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Four new floors house extensive galleries for temporary exhibitions - for international / national touring shows, special highlights from our collections and fun shows for families - space to discover local heroes and archive collections, including the great Edward Wilson (one of Scott's key men on his 1912 expedition to Antarctica), and a new gallery space in which the internationally renowned Arts & Crafts collection will be shown.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Clarence Street, Cheltenham GL50 3JT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1242 237431
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 14 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"furniture collection"
in 4 reviews
"antarctic explorer"
in 4 reviews
"wide range of exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"craft shop"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 13 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 18 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"free entry"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 5 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"cake"
in 7 reviews
"high street"
in 4 reviews
"town centre"
in 4 reviews
"guild"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not so many famour artworks as you would see in a city art museum, but the collection here is interesting. We have seen a second edition of the Communist Manifesto by Marx and Engels.

Thank Angshu_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a good way of killing about 90 minutes. The paintings didn't do it for us, but the exhibits were very good - lots of history up to and including the Antarctic expedition of Scott (local interest). Some excellent Egyptian items caught my eye,...More

Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

This museum has been extended and has some very well presented displays. The Arts and Crafts furniture collection was a particular highlight for me. There is a good display about Edward Wilson, after whom the museum is named.More

1  Thank PDSK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments, we are very pleased to hear you found our displays well presented and enjoyed looking around the collections. The story of Edward Adrian Wilson and his expeditions to the Antarctic is fascinating, and the watercolours he did are a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2018

We were very much more impressed by this museum than we expected to be. The paintings on the ground floor are mainly unexceptional and the installation on the third floor didn't detain us for more than a minute but we were enthralled by the fantastic...More

Thank JVR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review on your visit to The Wilson. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Arts and Crafts display, showcasing our highly regarded designated collection. It’s a shame to hear you did not enjoy the fine art display, but we understand...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

My wife and I visited Cheltenham for the first time recently and had a Friday night stay. On the Saturday morning we went to The Wilson and not having been before didn't know what to expect, but we do like to check out local galleries...More

1  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wilson. Our Arts and Crafts Collection has a status of designated importance and is a must see, it’s great to hear you were impressed. We do also have specialist talks and tours on our collections, including...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

If arts and crafts furniture is your thing, you will love it here. There is also an eclectic mix of modern art and artefacts from different eras and from around the world. Lots to explore. Great access to all levels (lift /ramps) and something for...More

Thank smeehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed exploring our eclectic collection. Our arts and crafts collection is definitely a highlight and has a status of designated importance. It is great to hear you found our building easily accessible. I have passed on your comments to the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Looking for something to do in Cheltenham we went for a visit here. A splendid mixture of different items but the real highlight was a tour around the Arts and Crafts exhibit with the fabulous Dave who really passed on his enthusiasm for the subject...More

Thank RobAndAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to look around our fantastic collections, our arts & crafts specialist has decades of knowledge, knowing your experience has been positive is brilliant to hear. I have passed your kind comments onto him. We do plan on putting more...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

We made a special journey for The Wilson. On our first day in Cheltenham, we were too tired to face going round and would not have valued the visit as highly, so we went back to town a second time later in our week. It...More

Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Knowing you made a second journey especially to come back and see The Wilson is amazing! We are pleased you felt it was worth the effort. We have recently installed new signage around the building to add clarity and colour so the feedback is appreciated....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Having been reading about the Arts & Crafts movement for some time, I managed to persuade my family to make a trip to The Wilson. It’s an unusual set-up, we walked past the entrance as thought was to something else, we only visited the Arts...More

Thank KateEpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to visit our Arts & Crafts collection, it is a designated collection of importance and is one of the best in the country because of its breadth of mediums and techniques. We are lucky that the Cotswolds was a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

The Wilson is a great free gallery to visit for a couple of hours if in Cheltenham. Their collection of paintings were quite poor in quality, but their room of historical antiquities and furniture was fascinating and extensive. The cafe is lovely too, with a...More

Thank zoelondon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham T, Public Relations Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is a shame you didn’t enjoy our paintings display but we understand everyone has different tastes, art is subjective and in the eye of the beholder. However we are very pleased you did enjoy the Furniture store and Arts & Crafts section, it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Cheltenham
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
382 reviews
.04 miles away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
283 reviews
.11 miles away
The George Hotel
592 reviews
.21 miles away
Central Hotel Cheltenham
323 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lumiere
755 reviews
.06 miles away
L'Artisan
788 reviews
.05 miles away
Well Walk Tea Room
489 reviews
.02 miles away
The White Spoon
461 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Everyman Theatre
375 reviews
.16 miles away
Neptune Fountain
137 reviews
.12 miles away
The Minotaur and the Hare
36 reviews
.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
trevordavies1
February 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CotswoldTina | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for delay in replying. I don't know anything about Graham Gardiner. Hope you get some information. Best wishes, Tina
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor