We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
Phone Number: 441424718776
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Located in the historic Old Town, take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue...

Located in the historic Old Town, take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings. Enjoy incredibly close encounters with seahorses, native sharks, giant octopus and hundreds of amazing aquatic creatures. At the aquarium's heart is a giant ocean display - walk through the mesmerising underwater tunnel and come face to face with shoals of colourful fish. With talks and feeds all day you can even get hands on with our Remarkable Reptiles during animal encounters. Don't forget to grab a bite to eat in the Blue Reef Cafe and even book your Pirate or Mermaid themed birthday party. There's so much to sea under the sea!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 344 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 55
    Excellent
  • 114
    Very good
  • 86
    Average
  • 51
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
Great visit.

We were very impressed by our visit yesterday. We've been before, but it seems improved from a few years ago, as in more to see. The tanks were clean and well looked after and the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
slingbacksixty
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were very impressed by our visit yesterday. We've been before, but it seems improved from a few years ago, as in more to see. The tanks were clean and well looked after and the fish were lively and active. Plenty to see, lots to read (if you took the time!) and we enjoyed watching the rays and crabs being... More 

Helpful?
Thank slingbacksixty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This aquarium is a nice place to go to for an hour or so. It's obviously not going to be the reason why you go to Hastings, but going here (we brought our 17mth old daughter with us) and then to the eat @the stade cafe (which was excellent) meant we were out for a few hours doing something nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale M
italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's not so different to other aquariums but all the same it was fun to walk around. Th entrance fee is valid all day so you can go in and out if you wish to.

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited recently along with our son and family which included our 18mth Grandson. We really enjoyed all the aquarium had to offer and found this attraction value for money

Helpful?
Thank TinaJH296
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

It took us a good hour to go around. The family ticket was OK compared to other aquarium. Some of the larger fish looked worse for wear however. The reptile meet was excellent and the helpers knowledgeable. Good for school age kids, though I think it needs more interactive exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Kids did enjoy it but feel for the price they charge it's very short and not really enough to look at! Paid £39 for us to get in and was out within 40 mins ! Not really happy about that!

Helpful?
Thank lisylucy
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was very small and quite dark inside. Very warm. If u get claustrophobic be careful otherwise it wasn't too bad. Lovely fish on display as well as reptiles

Helpful?
Thank pamalahill
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear pamalahill, Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon. Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the prices being near enough the same as other leading aquariums I was happy to pay the money until I got to the end, which came within about 20 mins after arriving, not much to see and several tanks empty for cleaning. No one around to explain anything not even at the open tanks. We were in and out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catinka85
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Catinka85, Thank you for your review. We only wish you spoke to us on the day as we would have discussed your concerns in person. It takes about an hour to get around the aquarium and your ticket is an all day pass allowing you to come and go all day. Currently we have one empty tank which is... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The kids will love this .. sounds odd but the place is just full of what look like happy fish. We had a ball went back twice, its small but perfectly formed a great way to spend and hour or two

Helpful?
Thank Sarab B
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Sarab B, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again soon. Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings. More 

Vossevangen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointing. Very small aquarium with limited species of fish. Expected a lot more variation. Only takes a little while to walk round.

Helpful?
Thank Vossseagull
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this review

Dear Vossseagull, Thank you for your review. We only wish you had spoken to us on the day so we could have discussed your concerns in person. It takes around an hour to visit the aquarium and your ticket is an all day pass allowing you access to the hourly talks and feeds. We have a huge variety of fish... More 

Travelers who viewed Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?