We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ghost Walk of the Lanes

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 9 Brighton Place, Brighton BN1 1HJ, England
Phone Number: 01273 – 328297
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 213 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 123
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Out of the box!

Such great fun. Even someone who has been in Brighton for years, I was taken to new places.... and murder scenes!

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Faye_Collyer
,
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Brighton

Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Brighton Ghost Walk seemed to me a little over dramatic, although very entertaining. An hour and a quarter walk around the Lanes, including a twitten I had never seen before.

Helpful?
Thank looneyjuney
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such great fun. Even someone who has been in Brighton for years, I was taken to new places.... and murder scenes!

Helpful?
Thank Faye_Collyer
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Hi, there! Great to hear you enjoyed the ghost walk and learned a few things about Brighton that you didn't already know. We have a good deal of locals come along who also make discoveries about the town they live in. Many thanks for the kind review. Kind regards, Rob More 

Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting walk through some of the older parts of Brighton. A somewhat creepy, somehwhat quirky character (Jasper, in my case) tells interesting stories form Brighton's history with a ghostly twist and bawdy jokes.

Helpful?
Thank BjoernKW
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed the ghost walk and, moreover, Jasper's quirky performance. Many thanks for your kind review. Kind regards, Rob (Silas) More 

JONI1234
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I went on the tour Thursday night, I was expecting it to be reasonably cheesey, I was correct in my assumption but everyone was in good spirits. The tour itself was quite haphazard going backwards and forwards from one place to another often retracing itself the route seemed quite strange, a couple of times jasper started talking... More 

Helpful?
Thank JONI1234
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Sorry hear that the ghost walk was not all you expected it to be. However, we aim to pitch the walk to try and suit everyone with long-established accounts of hauntings coupled with light-hearted banter. The walk is straightforward and, with the exception of a short walk down to the Steine, does not retrace itself. Many thanks for you review.... More 

Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed the theatre and the appalling jokes - Ebenezer is entertaining and the tour gave us a flavour of what life was like in the Lanes in times gone by. Good value for an hour's diversion - can imagine that with a bigger group and less light the experience would be even better. Thank you x

Helpful?
Thank McpMidlands
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Hello there! Delighted to hear you enjoyed the ghost walk. Perhaps you'll have to come back on a dark winter's night. Kind regards, Rob (Silas) More 

Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Ebenezer was a top geezer we found his jokes hilarious and it was the perfect tour for this city. He didn't take himself too seriously which is exactly how we are. Great for adults and kids alike. Full of dad jokes.

Helpful?
1 Thank pdmatthew
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you all enjoyed the ghost walk and, moreover, Ebenezer's jokes. W aim to make the Ghost Walk of the Lanes family friendly. Kind regards, Rob (SIlas) More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the Ghost Walk with Ebenezer. It was family friendly and equal measures of funny and frightening! Definitely recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe R
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening on the Ghost Walk of the Lanes. We aim to strike a balance between ghoulish tales of strange goings on in the Lanes coupled with light-hearted banter. Kind regards, Rob (Silas) More 

Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Jasper was our guide, the weather was drizzly so we were just 4 walkers. Let's face it it's tongue in cheek, bit of fun and if you paid attention there were little gems of facts to be gleaned. Some of the alleys were dark and clostrophobic, I wouldn't like to be wandering around alone! I was quite disappointed that it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank snannysnow
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Seems you came along on a quiet, rather grim night. However, our policy is to run whatever the weather. Nonetheless, I trust this added to the atmospheric quality of the show. The walk should last around 70 mins. I can only surmise Jasper moved things along a little due to the inclement weather. Kind regards, Rob (Silas) More 

Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Was more of a race how quick we had to walk. And all about how much sex we had back then and how bad women were how much we sold ourself on street corners .. And a girl being put in a box by her boyfriend. Maybe we did but more ghost be good Then got left in a pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
ferrymanBrighton, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

I think you may be confused with another ghost walk as this isn't a story that we tell. Best regards Rob More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

As a tour of the old streets of Brighton goes, this is a good, funny and lighthearted tour (though you don't learn much). As a ghost tour, it's poor. Starting outside the Druid's Head, we were met by our cloaked guide bearing a top hat and a five o'clock shadow and carrying a large duffel bag and bell. My boyfriend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodi M
ferrymanBrighton, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this review

Hello' Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Ghost Walk of the Lanes. However, as a former teacher, I must mark you down for your swollen rhetoric. What you say could have been more succinctly put in a single paragraph Clearly you are not a Brighton person and fail to enjoy quirky humour and bonhomie, which is much a... More 

Travelers who viewed Ghost Walk of the Lanes also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ghost Walk of the Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ghost Walk of the Lanes and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
6 months ago
Emsworth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ghost Walk of the Lanes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?