Smokin' Aces
5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Sunday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Write a review
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
219 reviews
Excellent
150
Very good
35
Average
16
Poor
6
Terrible
12

Dazz99
London14 contributions
Oct 2021 • Friends
Was in Bournemouth for the weekend and popped into this bar on Saturday. Loved the atmosphere and play list. We were downstairs by the whiskey lounge singing and dancing to a few of the great songs Service was friendly and wished I could have stayed longer. Would recommend if you like an indie tune.
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for going to the trouble of leaving us a review. It's very kind of you and we hope to see you again soon!
Written February 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca P
Clapham, UK4 contributions
Aug 2020 • Friends
I went there on the bank holiday weekend, the staff were lovely and very helpful given the current climate making you feel at ease as soon as you walk through. The bar has a great vibe too it and a great selection of cocktails and drinks - perfect for evening drinks.
The table is easy to book online and drinks easily ordered via an app with great social distancing precautions in place. Would highly recommend
Written September 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Rebecca, thank you so so much for leaving us a review!! Very kind of you to take the time to do so. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you again soon!!
Written September 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julesy
Northamptonshire, UK16 contributions
Jun 2021 • Couples
Great bar with a lovely atmosphere. Bar staff friendly and knowledgeable.
I tried 3 different cocktails…my favourite (and my partners ) was the Tiki Teasy A must try!
I nearly won myself a free shot by naming almost all the famous faces on the wall by 2
I think if I had, I might not of made it to the restaurant 😉
Written June 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Juliana, thank you SO much. It was great to meet you and we're delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails!! Hope to see you again soon!!
Written June 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maria M
13 contributions
Jul 2020 • Friends
I visited Smokin’ Aces on 31st July with my fiancé and two friends for cocktails. This was our first night out since lockdown so we were really looking forward to it. I booked a 2 hour slot as required on their website. We actually arrived prior to this but had the courtesy of waiting outside until our allotted time. We spent almost £100 collectively on drinks. The next group who had booked a table arrived 20 minutes early and immediately a member of bar staff came over and asked us to hurry up as they were waiting for our table.

This wasn’t where my bad experience ended unfortunately! The next day I had a rude email from the Manager saying they were charging me £40 (£10 per person) for not turning up for my reservation! Even though we all did!!! And I had photographic evidence and bank statements to prove I was there. I would never not show up for a reservation. I was absolutely fuming to discover £40 had left my account. I eventually got this returned to me 5 days later after I had to make numerous phone calls to the Manager as he didn’t return my call that evening as promised. Obviously refunds don’t get processed straight away from the bank so I was left without money for the weekend, good job I didn’t have bills to pay. So I definitely wouldn’t recommend this place unless you want to be out of pocket and hurried along by the staff. Also the music was very loud so we couldn’t even have a conversation and it is very cramped in there.
Written September 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Maria, thanks for your review. I'd like to clear up a few points that you have made in the review: Firstly, no-one from your group (as far as I am aware) mentioned that you had a booking and you were, therefore, treated as a "walk-in". Obviously, we do try to accommodate walk-ins but reservations take priority. This was why your arrival was not confirmed on our system and you were subsequently charged as a no-show. It is also why you were asked to leave before your 2-hour slot was complete. Had we been aware that you actually had a booking, you would not have been moved or asked to vacate the table and you would not have been charged. While I'm pretty confident that no-one from your group mentioned that you had a booking, it is possible that we made a mistake. At the time of your visit, all of these systems were brand new to us and, as I'm sure you can appreciate, they take a bit of getting used to. If this was the case, I can only apologise profusely. Due to this incident, we have since amended our processes to make sure this doesn't happen again. You were charged at midday on 1st August and refunded in full at around 5.30pm on the same day. You made 2 phone calls - one in response to the email in the early afternoon and one in the evening, when you were refunded. I promised to call you that evening but you rang me as I was entering the building. I immediately set up the card machine and refunded you in full. Our refund is instantaneous, however, your card issuer may delay, or take a while to process the refund. Please feel free to contact them as to why it took 5 days because it is usually instant. I'm not convinced that email that you were sent was "rude". I have included it below for your reference: ---------------- Dear Maria, Your booking for 4 people at Smokin’ Aces on 31st July 2020 was not claimed. As I’m sure you can appreciate, no-shows cost us a considerable amount of money, since we turn away other potential bookings. We allow changes/cancellations of bookings until 6 hours before your reservation. In line with our terms and conditions, we have charged you a fee of £10 per person for the unclaimed booking. Many thanks. ---------------- I apologise that your experience was not at all what you were hoping for, or expected. As I said, we have since changed our processes completely in order to prevent this sort of thing happening in future. Hope to see you again sometime!
Written September 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nikki
United Kingdom104 contributions
Jun 2021
Loved loved loved this place! We were down from Essex for the weekend and wanted somewhere to go on Friday night after we'd eaten. I'd found this on Trip advisor and it looked/sounded great so booked a table at 10pm for the six of us and boy am I glad I did!

We had a brilliant time. The decor is fantastic - could feel like you were in a bar in Nashville or something! The atmosphere and music was great and the bar staff were super friendly and very efficient with our drinks. And the drinks were fab! We all tried a variety of cocktails.

I 100% recommend this bar. Keep up the great work guys!
Written June 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wow. Thank you very VERY much for taking the time to leave us a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back and see us soon!! x
Written June 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dartrock
Bexley, UK51 contributions
Jun 2022
This bar was recommended to us by hotel staff, walked in on the Friday evening, great bar.
Loved the decor, very rock feel about it, had a solo singer on that night, had a great time, stayed longer than we intended as the atmosphere was so good .
Staff fantastic and friendly, we even went back for a quieter drink on the Sunday night before we headed home, special thanks to Alice for her welcome, laughs, and tour of the basement bar
Written July 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

LJY
Slough, United Kingdom5 contributions
Feb 2022 • Couples
We heard good things about this place and thought we would try it on our trip to Bournemouth! Well…I would not be going back there! The lady that work there was rude! A guy behind the bar kept telling us he didn’t work there even though he was serving drinks. They have no cocktail menu so thought we could ask for any cocktail (like the website says) we ordered a Long Island ice tea and then the guy told us we could only have one as he wasn’t making them anymore. We ordered another cocktail and the lady said she didn’t make them! Unfriendly & unwelcoming…would avoid this place!
Written February 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Hazel D
Exeter, UK2 contributions
Jul 2021 • Friends
Really cool place, full of soul, authentic and rustic vibes, staff were so so lovely, special thanks to the lovely Lasma and Alice who made us feel very welcomed. First time in Bournemouth and will definitely be coming back to smokin aces. Loved that there were lots of options in terms of how you order and pay, very flexible. Great music and didn’t want to leave..only thing to improve the experience would be to have a few snacks or crisps available! Felt very looked after. Even have us free shots because our drinks were slightly delayed but we honestly weren’t bothered and knew they were quite busy. Thank you for a lovely evening smokin-aces-staff❤️
Written July 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hazel, thank you so so much for your review!! We're lucky to have such incredible staff and customers and we truly do appreciate that fact. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we'd love to see you again soon.
Written September 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Timjuu
Bournemouth, UK26 contributions
Aug 2020 • Couples
Booked a table in advance, was given a perch at the bar - great spot pre-covid, maybe, but really NOT good enough to keep anyone safe now.

Irresponsible. No screen, no awareness of sanitising or distancing.

Reduced menu. Grumpy inflexible manager called Luke.

Used to be ace.
Written August 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We're fully aware that sometimes we don't get things right and, when we mess up, we are more than willing to hold up our hands and apologise. In this situation, however, we acted properly and with the safety of our customers and staff our highest priority. Let me address your points... All reservations are allocated automatically by a system called ResDiary. Obviously, this system prioritises seating based upon group size, time of booking, etc. If you are in a group of 2 people, it will not allocate you a booth which can seat 6 people (which is what you wanted). This is clearly stated on the booking page of our website. The reasons for this should be obvious but let me explain... We are currently operating at around 30% of our usual capacity. Obviously, that puts a massive financial strain on the business, although we are hugely grateful to be open at all. If we start allocating booths (which can seat 6 people) to groups of 2 people, we would be operating at around 10% of our usual capacity. Clearly that is not financially viable. As I said, there are a list of temporary changes to the venue on our website that you were asked (a total of 3 times) to read and accept before placing your booking. The bar itself is over 2 metres deep, meaning that you and your friend were perfectly able to socially distance at that location. Given the 2 metre gap, no screen is required. We have gone FAR beyond government guidelines with re-opening the venue and to accuse us of endangering anyone is, quite frankly, utterly absurd. We delayed re-opening for 2 weeks (at considerable cost) because we wanted to make absolutely certain that all of our customers and staff are safe at all times before we opened our doors to welcome customers back. I realise that sitting at the bar may not have been your preferred spot but, as I told you at the time, we were fully booked for the entire evening and there was literally nowhere to move you. If we DO have spare space, we make every effort to accommodate customers' requests. You were politely made aware that we had nowhere to move you to. You then decided to leave, which is absolutely fair enough. As you left, I wished you a good evening and thanked you for your visit. Just because someone is unable to accommodate your every whim and request, it doesn't necessarily mean they are "grumpy" or "inflexible" I'm afraid - sometimes it just means that it's not possible. We have multiple screens up in the venue to protect our customers and each and EVERY area is thoroughly sanitised with an anti-bacterial and anti-viral cleaning compound. Given that you watched us clean your seats and bar area before you sat down (I've checked the CCTV - you were literally standing there, watching, as we did it), I'm slightly surprised. Maybe you thought the spray bottle and thorough wiping of the area was something else? We enforce social distancing at all times, we thoroughly sanitise all areas throughout the evening and booths, tables, etc. between groups. I also notice that you mentioned it "used to be ace". Unfortunate then that you never felt the urge to leave a positive review in the past. All that said, I do apologise that your evening at Smokin' Aces was not what you had hoped for. I can assure you that we are trying our absolute hardest to give our customers the best experience possible during these crazy times. It's great to be able to welcome back so many amazing people through our doors. We do ask for some understanding from our customers with the changes to the venue and the experience and we have tried to be as clear, open and transparent about these changes as humanly possible by clearly listing them on our website and asking customers to read and agree to them before booking. We understand that some of them may be frustrating but ALL of our alterations to service have been made with the safety of customers and staff in mind. Hope to see you again sometime, perhaps when you can dance on the bar instead of simply sitting at it!!
Written March 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon d
Aldershot, UK3 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
My partner and I went there to enjoy some nice cocktails. We had a fantastic evening and would like to say a big thank you to the bar tenders "Danni the wolf" and Sam for introducing us to some on the menu and off the menu cocktails. I would highly recommend their off the menu Sazerac with lemon twist, it was fantastic.
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hahaha. Danny the Wolf... I'm sure he'll be happy to hear that you enjoyed the cocktails. Hope to see you again and thank you for leaving a review.
Written March 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 218
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Smokin' Aces (Bournemouth) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Smokin' Aces

Smokin' Aces is open:
  • Sun - Sun 7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
  • Wed - Thu 5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
  • Fri - Sat 5:00 PM - 2:00 AM