We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Living Coasts

Features Animals
Beacon Quay | Torquay Harbourside, Torquay TQ1 2BG, England
+44 1803 202470
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A very unique and special attraction

We visited whilst on holiday without two young sons. As soon as we got outside there was a penguin... read more

Reviewed yesterday
VicG1985
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice but expensive

Nice day out but a bit on the expensive side for what there is though you can get a free return... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Mike A
via mobile
Read all 2,181 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Welcome to Living Coasts, an all weather attraction, located on Torquay seafront in South Devon, where there’s plenty to see and do: mingle with the playful penguins, get up close to the otters, octopus and seals, and much more. Visit Penguin Beach to walk with the African and macaroni penguins and catch our entertaining feeding time talks.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“paignton zoo” (254 reviews)
“feeding times” (100 reviews)
“octopus” (91 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Beacon Quay | Torquay Harbourside, Torquay TQ1 2BG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1803 202470
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"paignton zoo"
in 254 reviews
"feeding times"
in 100 reviews
"octopus"
in 91 reviews
"sea creatures"
in 30 reviews
"zooper ticket"
in 42 reviews
"fur seals"
in 36 reviews
"penguin feeding"
in 27 reviews
"penguin beach"
in 26 reviews
"baby seal"
in 25 reviews
"macaroni"
in 23 reviews
"joint ticket"
in 27 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 104 reviews
"few hours"
in 95 reviews
"gift shop"
in 83 reviews
"value for money"
in 86 reviews
"walk around"
in 33 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 91 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We visited whilst on holiday without two young sons. As soon as we got outside there was a penguin breakfast being shown. The penguins literally walk right past you to get to their fish and are very entertaining. The lady presenting was very informative and...More

Thank VicG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Nice day out but a bit on the expensive side for what there is though you can get a free return visit if coming back within seven days. I felt the great auk bit could've been a lot better, seemed little more than a video...More

Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to visit as we had been walking and saw many birds flying around a huge netted sky area which was this glorious sightseeing gem. It was amazing to see how relaxed the birds and animals seem to be with people being around. Great...More

Thank jackiemorgan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So expensive for a very short and underwhelming experience. Barely any animals to see, no fish, but the penguins were cute, not worth £12.40 though!More

Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Living Coasts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Joe, thank you for visiting Living Coasts and taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you felt your visit to us was a short and underwhelming experience. We feel that our admission prices represent value for money for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’m recently in a wheelchair. This has great disabled access. I found it a tranquil place. Loved seeing the marine life, the birds and the zebra crossing for penguins! The cafe had lovely coffee, coffee is one of my obsessions. They serve water in cans...More

Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing. If you have joined the zoo which includes entrance to Living coasts ok, but not worth spending the money on just to visit Living Coasts.More

Thank 543Tomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Living Coasts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for visiting Living Coasts and taking the time leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to us. We feel that our single admission prices represent value for money for the experience we offer. Our tickets...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent well over a couple of hours here and went round twice. Plenty to see.The staff were really good and the talks were very informative. Loved the lay out and the salted caramel ice cream was the topping! Even better as I sat watching the...More

Thank royalblueEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A wonderful day spent with my girlfriend visiting the site. The facilities were great and the birds and animals were wonderfully looked after! Several of the birds had chicks and others were busy nest building. I would strongly recommend visiting here.

Thank paulsparrowref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got lots of information from the keepers, even though the zoo is tiny, I think it is well worth it, coming from Switzerland this was the first time I saw an octopus feeding, and the alks are very impressive as well, we even went...More

Thank anjamarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little place. Very educational and easy for kids to understand. Lots of animals including fish, lobsters, sea horses and seals. Even a soft play at the end. Definitely coming back

Thank nkurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 87 hotels in Torquay
The Regina Hotel
259 reviews
.03 miles away
The Imperial Torquay
3,426 reviews
.20 miles away
Trinity Mews
171 reviews
.21 miles away
Bay Torbay Hotel
841 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Number 7 Fish Bistro
1,438 reviews
.02 miles away
The Elephant
1,071 reviews
.02 miles away
Lulu's Coffee Shop and Wine Bar
332 reviews
.13 miles away
Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant
825 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Inner Harbour
543 reviews
.19 miles away
Torquays Dinosaur World
425 reviews
.17 miles away
Torquay Museum
397 reviews
.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
charlenem497
August 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Growlersmum | Reviewed this property |
From what I can recall. Yes. It's a lovely visit and the staff I met were friendly helpful and knowledgable. I can't think of anywhere inaccessible to push chairs or wheelchairs
2
Votes
Louise S
May 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Katherine S | Property representative |
Hi Louise, We are an all weather attraction, with half outside (e.g. penguins, seals, otters, estuary birds, etc...) and half inside (underwater viewing areas, aquarium, etc..). All our keeper talks/presentations happen... More
1
Vote
RichardBarkwaySmith
July 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Katherine S | Property representative |
Hi Richard, Living Coasts is an education and conservation charity, so discounts are few and far between. There are currently only two discounts available. One is the Zooper ticket which is discounted entry to both Paignton... More
2
Votes
;