We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Exeter Phoenix

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Friendly busy place

Went for a lecture and auditorium like being back at college the cafe was very slow on service but... read more

Reviewed February 1, 2019
Gundamuck
,
Exeter, United Kingdom
Great Venue for Gigs

Great evening at a recent Eddie Reader Concert, performance was great, good acoustics and good... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2018
Karen T
,
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Read all 94 reviews
All photos (11)
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“front row”(2 reviews)
“gigs”(17 reviews)
“concert”(9 reviews)
About
Bang in the heart of the city, Exeter Phoenix is the South West's foremost multi-artform venue. With hundreds of events programmed each year, spanning music, art, film, theatre and comedy as well as a whole host of learning activities, we are housed...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Bradninch Place Gandy Street, Exeter EX4 3LS, England
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
46
26
9
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
46
26
9
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front row gigs concert art pheonix blockheads auditorium tickets acoustics gallery film performance fab screen
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 94 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2019

Lunchtime visit with a young family looking for somethign to see and somewhere to get some food. The over-riding impression was that it just could not work out what they wanted to be - some arts exhibition in the front rooms but these were largely...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank jon B
Anna P, Public Relations Manager at Exeter Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Hello, thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your time with us was not as enjoyable as you would have wished. As a multi arts venue, we enjoy a wide range of activity, exhibitions, art forms and spaces. The day...More

Reviewed February 1, 2019

Went for a lecture and auditorium like being back at college the cafe was very slow on service but am used to that

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Gundamuck
Reviewed January 27, 2019

The place is absolutely unclean. The toilets stink. Last time I will go there. Shame on you. Sack your cleaners (if you have any). You know what, in this day and age you really ought to know about basic hygiene and you should care. Clearly...More

Date of experience: January 2019
4  Thank dawg2016
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

We had a meal here for four people and it was very disappointing. Overcharged by £10. The food took an hour to arrive and was cold. The food was below average,for instance the rice tasted like Uncle Ben’s packet rice. The chunky chips were not...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Michelle P
Anna P, Guest Relations Manager at Exeter Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear Michelle I am really sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with us. Thank you for leaving the above feedback, however disappointing, it is really important to hear what our customers think. We do receive lovely feedback about our cafe bar and the...More

Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

Decided to go there with my friends for NYE, one of my friends going early to buy all the tickets (12) at 20 quid each, we did this to secure the tickets. At the entrance, security lady was very rude and said that one of...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LifeRiders2017
Anna P, Guest Relations Manager at Exeter Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear LifeRiders2017 I am really sorry to hear that your NYE with us didn't start happily. I have have had a look and I can't see a group booking for 12 people so perhaps there was some confusion with the initial booking process? We do...More

Reviewed December 4, 2018

We attended with a young person with autism who loves live music, the staff put us inside the barrier for safety and ease of leaving staff were attentive and went over and beyond to get us water and even a bad manner T shirt ....More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Jane P
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

Went to Blockheads gig. Sound not great. As we went into gig hall we went to walk in and had entered hall before a bouncer type said to us “you need to show your tickets”. Well why didn’t the two uninterested people at a table...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ChocolateCousCous
Reviewed November 14, 2018

We went to an excellent Karine Polwart concert recently. Wonderful, as they always are. This time we had seats at the centre front of the balcony. Absolutely superb view-unimpeded by anything at all. But for those -like me-afraid of heights, a step too far. The...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Venicevisitor365
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Always love popping in here to see whats on in the gallery as the shows are always so intriguing and engaging, not sure what Exeter would do without such a high calibre arts programme. So pleased to see the newly and beautifully designed art galleries...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank walkingbearfoot
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Great evening at a recent Eddie Reader Concert, performance was great, good acoustics and good position at front row on the balcony.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Karen T
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 nearby hotels
The City Gate Hotel
334 reviews
.19 miles away
Silversprings St Davids
286 reviews
.24 miles away
Queens Court
686 reviews
.25 miles away
St. Olaves Court
230 reviews
.27 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 612 nearby restaurants
Red Panda Exeter
115 reviews
.05 miles away
Comptoir Libanais
519 reviews
.05 miles away
Las Iguanas
832 reviews
.05 miles away
Turtle Bay
742 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 239 nearby attractions
Royal Albert Memorial Museum
1,343 reviews
.03 miles away
Exeter Guildhall
185 reviews
.14 miles away
Northernhay Gardens
115 reviews
.15 miles away
Exeter Castle
81 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
s4bub
October 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from KateLaubscher | Reviewed this property |
Hi, you're best off calling them because sometimes the restaurant isn't open on a gig night. I've been there on both open and closed restaurant nights and it does get pretty busy. There are nearby restaurants further down... More
0
Votes