We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Off the A39 | Nr Bideford, Devon, Clovelly EX39 5TA, England
Phone Number:
+44 1237 431781
Website
Fee: Yes
Description:

Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street,...

Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour.

The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft in a 400' high cliff, tumbles its way down past whitewashed cottages festooned with flowers to the tiny working port.

It is famous for its donkeys, which traditionally carry goods up the hill; sledges bring things down. There are links with Charles Kingsley, Turner, Dickens and the Spanish Armada.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,417 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 540
    Excellent
  • 359
    Very good
  • 215
    Average
  • 105
    Poor
  • 148
    Terrible
A pretty winter walk and ramble... Wear good shoes for the cobbles!

Upside: A lovely day out - a steep stroll down (do wear decent shoes as the cobbles can be slippery) to a village preserved by the £7 entry fee (which some have expressed as... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Kate_Mercian_Spirit
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

1,417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,367: English reviews
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
544 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited here and were so surprised when we were only charged for the car park and not tge usual entrance fee. They said because it was such a cold day nearly all the shops etc had decided to close early. We enjoyed the stroll down. We even managed to see the local kids msking their way down the hill... More 

Helpful?
Thank streakey
spikeybb
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you only visit one place whilst in Deven/Cornwall, make sure it's Clovelly Village. It's easy to find and well signposted, with plenty of parking. There is a charge to get in, £7 per person. I believe many people have refused to visit Clovelly Village because of the entrance fee, however, we loved the village but didn't feel we should... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank spikeybb
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow - this place is a must visit - A village with NO CARS! just donkeys and sledges. It's not wheelchair friendly as it's on a steep cobble road that is tricky to negotiate when wet (oh dear Devon is rarely dry!) or frosty. Lots of lovely coffee shops and bars.

Helpful?
Thank K9TLS
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is different from anywhere else I have visited. Not to be missed if you're in the area. So beautiful and unspoilt with cobbled streets, stunning views and a relaxed feel. Spend time in a small house still laid out as it would have been a century ago, have a walk on the beach and then look out to... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollyandNick
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

During a Christmas break it was decided that we would visit Clovelly. When we arrived, our first visit ever, when we arrived at the visitor centre the charge was £7 per adult, 4 of us, 1 child aged 12 was £4.40 and baby luckily was free. Personally l would not have paid, but we were paid for. The walk was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Krystyna W
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have not visited Clovelly in over 20 years and looking for a nice bit of exercise to start the year we took a trip to Clovelly. One of the reasons I had stayed away for so long was the admission fee but in all honesty when you know what it is spent on and for the enjoyment you get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireAdamMoss
ClovellyVillage, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and for sharing your excellent photos with your feedback ~ we really do love seeing beautiful visitor photographs and it is a joy to hear from people so clearly enchanted by Clovelly! You may like to take a look at and follow our Clovelly Village Facebook/Twitter/Instagram pages. There are... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a family we have been visiting Clovelly for over 15 years each winter. As my grandmother is 94 years old we pay for her to ride down to the quay side in the back of the village Land Rover due to the steepness of the cobbled street. Last year she waited 20 minutes for the Land Rover which we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upside: A lovely day out - a steep stroll down (do wear decent shoes as the cobbles can be slippery) to a village preserved by the £7 entry fee (which some have expressed as expensive, bearing in mind it's winter and nothing is open - I'd agree with them on that - maybe £4 entry out of season?), however a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_Mercian_Spirit
ClovellyVillage, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback of your visit to Clovelly. It’s good to read that you enjoyed taking photographs here. Of course, Clovelly offers much more than breathtaking scenery and many of Clovelly’s treasures are hidden down the tiny side streets and alleys, so we do encourage our visitors to explore. You do not... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
149 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a gorgeous winter's day. The coastal views were lovely. I enjoyed the coloured pebbles on the beach and the unusual Christmas decorations on some of the cottages, but little was open and surely the price should be reduced at these times? When I arrived an hour after opening, people were already leaving. The two guidebooks were really disappointing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anon_Bristol_12
ClovellyVillage, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you visited Clovelly on a gorgeous winters day which allowed you to appreciate our picturesque views and stunning coastal scenery, but sorry that you were disappointed by the experience. It’s likely that the people you saw leaving the village upon your arrival early in the morning, were in fact Clovelly residents walking through our... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I took my girlfriend and her family over the xmas period explaining that I visited here 20 years ago and it was beautiful . So to say I was both embarrassed and disappointed when we turn up to a visitor centre that hasn't been built to inform and preserve the history of clovelly ,but just to take money from good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
ClovellyVillage, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed by your visit to Clovelly. Our Visitor Centre was built in 1988 and was designed to provide facilities for the many thousands of visitors who come to Clovelly each year ~ Somewhere to have a cup of tea, buy a postcard and gifts as well as providing wet weather cover in a shower, it also provides... More 

Travelers who viewed Clovelly Village also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to Clovelly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Clovelly Village and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question
East grinstead
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Colchester, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Clovelly Village staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?