We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Royal Square, St Ives TR26 2ND, England
Phone Number:
+44 1736 796843
Website
Description:

The Royal Cinema is a 3 Screen Cinema.

As part of Merlin Cinemas, Royal...

The Royal Cinema is a 3 Screen Cinema.

As part of Merlin Cinemas, Royal Cinema St Ives is part of the Movie Magic Discount Card scheme. See our website for more information.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 95 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Old School cinema

We went yesterday - found parking only a few minutes walk away but as we werent regulars to St Ives we found the sat nav a must to find the parking! The staff were extremely... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed October 28, 2016
Lynne P
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

We visited St Ives for a winter break and treated ourselves to a night at the cinema or so we thought 😭. We paid for our tickets & bought ice creams & just happened to comment on the cold weather outside when the guy who sold us the tickets just happened to mention their boiler had just broken down and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank miranda b
MerlinCinemasLTD, Public Relations Manager at Royal Cinema, responded to this review

Hello, Yes we're really sorry for the recent issues. It was only affecting certain screens and the management had notices up stating that it was attempting to be corrected and that patrons could leave for a full refund, or tickets to come another day, if within 45 minutes of the film they didn't want to stay. The situation has been... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Hi there I Visited st Ives cinema on the Jan 9th at the 20.35 showing of Assassins creed It Cost me the best part of £30 with my father a senior citizen my two lads (14 yrs) and daughter (12) The cinema was absolutely freezing cold the same as it is every winter (I'm local ) I've supported this cinema... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
MerlinCinemasLTD, Public Relations Manager at Royal Cinema, responded to this review

We are hugely embarrassed about this, Neil. It was only affecting certain screens and the management had notices up stating that it was attempting to be corrected and that patrons could leave for a full refund, or tickets to come another day, if within 45 minutes of the film they didn't want to stay. The situation has been fixed, it... More 

cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

So cold in Screen 1 was so cold we as to leave even tho we took a blanket!!! Far to cold for me let alone a 3yr old. Such a shame. We were very disappointed but at least the lovely staff gave us a refund.

Helpful?
1 Thank cornwallTR26
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016

We went yesterday - found parking only a few minutes walk away but as we werent regulars to St Ives we found the sat nav a must to find the parking! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Prices far cheaper than our local Vue! Yes it is dated in comparison the modern complexes you get these days but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

St Ives cinema is an amazing place, where you can watch a film for half the price of most cinemas. The only thing about it is that the seat rows are not that sloped, so if you are sitting at the back row, you are practically sitting at the same level as the front row. The building needs a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank elo18org
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

4* only because I like that cinema, it's cosy and staff very welcoming and friendly, screens ok and sound as well just needs some money and updating badly:( very very cold in a winter and on a rainy day could see water down the walls... urgent work needed!!!

Helpful?
Thank Malwina I
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

As other reviewers have noted, the cinema IS tired, dated and could do with a bit of money being spent on it... BUT, it's very quaint, serves it's purpose, shows top new releases and the staff were really friendly. We've been twice during our fortnight in St Ives on rainy days, and found the seats comfy and screens small but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
Plymouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Please please will you pump so money into this unsightly, falling apart disappointment to this beautiful town! This cinema has seen its day! It's in desperate need for some attention! Not only is the outside tatty and needs a simple paint the inside is just horrible the seats are so uncomfortable, damp and smelly! The problem is locals and holiday... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stephaie B
MerlinCinemasLTD, Public Relations Manager at Royal Cinema, responded to this review

Hello, We have recently totally redecorated and recarpeted the foyers and toilets and the lower floor theatres are completely fine but I do appreciate that the upper theatre needs attention. We redecorate and repainted the front at the cost of many thousands of pounds a few years ago. Unfortunately the sea air and the seagulls make a bit of a... More 

London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2016

Great little indie 3 screener. Staff enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Perhaps the most welcomed I've ever felt in a cinema! A little shabby, but all the better knowing this is a rescue story, where Cineworld's multiplex outside town would have brought its mediocrity to this town of small independent businesses. Tickets are cheap too. Hurrah! Note: Wheelchair access to screens 2... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Plate7
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

On a rainy day this is packed, which is lovely for business for them, as it's such a nice cinema. Staff really cheerful, helpful and friendly. We booked online on a day that was pouring with rain, and then collected tickets really early. We were so pleased we did as queues were huge as screen time approached . I thought... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank polly152

Travelers who viewed Royal Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Royal Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Cinema and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Cinema staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?