We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Thompson's Lane | La Mimosa Punt Station, Cambridge CB5 8AQ, England
Phone Number: +44 871 315 2521
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Traditional punting in Cambridge, England. College river tours by...

Traditional punting in Cambridge, England. College river tours by experienced local guides. With a wealth of local knowledge and many years experience of Cambridge punting we can ensure that your trip along the backs is an experience that you will remember forever.Our punt chauffeurs are well trained and experienced. Because punting is for most a seasonal job many chauffeurs work for a summer and have often only been working for a few months by the time they reach the end of their tenure. Wherever possible we use chauffeurs who have been punting on the Cam for several seasons - either students who return for their holidays each year or local residents who work in a more full time capacity.You won't get a robotic recitation of facts. Whilst every river tour covers as much (or as little) of the history as you require, each chauffeur offers their personal take on the history and background information and every tour is unique. You won't get a robotic recitation of facts.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 43 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 17
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Punting on Cam

Scudamore is the best company but a bit more expensive than others. It is located at the end of the main road. You need to ask someone where it is. The next one next door to it is... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 24, 2016
992STEVE_99
,
Brisbane, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Cambridge

Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Scudamore is the best company but a bit more expensive than others. It is located at the end of the main road. You need to ask someone where it is. The next one next door to it is Cambridge punting company. It is a bit smaller company and they give more discount so a bit cheaper. We took a tour... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 992STEVE_99
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thanks for taking the time to write your review and I hope you enjoyed your visit to Cambridge. I'm sorry to hear that your punting experience was disappointing. There are, unfortunately, a number of points that I need to address about your review. First and most importantly - you DID NOT go punting with us. Our punt tours... More 

Zwettl, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

Our Guide was "Matt". I met him the first time as a really friendly person! And he is! They all there have a great humor, and they have the know how in their job! I and the other people in my group found it very interestening and funny. Ahoi!, and best regards from me and the others!

Helpful?
Thank bernharddiematrix
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the glowing review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your boat trip. However, I am a little confused as all of the photos you have posted are from Canterbury and involve a trip in a rowing boat. I feel it would be disingenuous of us to only point out bad reviews that have been left... More 

Level Contributor
183 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

We chose Cambridge River Tour as they offered us an on the spot discount if we were to join their next tour (we paid 12.50 pp) - please note that we went in low season and they wanted to fill their boats. We were squeezed into a boat with 12 people which made taking photos of the spectacular scenery difficult.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelbloggeruk
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hi Travelbloggeruk, I am sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience during your time in Cambridge. However, although I think you believe you went punting with us, I am not sure that this is the case as we do not have staff operating on the street handing out business cards and if you look at the contact... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

We were in Cambridge early and took an early tour and even so the Cam was still full of punts. However, that didn't spoil the tour. We saw Cambridge colleges from a different perspective and the Punter was fun. We enjoyed this particular tour. Be careful though there are several others doing this too.

Helpful?
1 Thank BT3rd
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the feedback, we value all feedback. It's good to know when we are getting things right so that we can praise those involved and it's even better to know if there is room for improvement so that we can make sure we raise our standards even further. However I do need to query whether you actually went... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Amazing ride! We managed to get a good price on there and the person cruising us gave us a very detailed tour. Very recommended if you are in Cambridge. The only downer is that it was freezing so make sure you wear warm clothes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nala P
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

We had a lovely time punting yesterday morning along the Cam. Very relaxing and informative trip. Big thank you to Charlie our punter-guide-person who was very amusing and made the trip engaging. Thanks for a great morning in Cambridge. Shame about your bottle falling in the water though, did you ever get it back?

Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
PETERBOROUGH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

We had a very knowledgeable, friendly and humorous chauffeur which all added to the wonderful afternoon, weather was kind to us and the whole experience was enjoyed by our party - we hired the punt privately for 7 adults - money well spent.

Helpful?
Thank SANDYGREEN
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

This was the best price of all the river tours. The person who did our punt (didn't catch his name but goes to Leeds Uni) was funny and very informative. Would highly recommend these people. The best way to see Cambridge - just sit back and relax for 45 minutes.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Cambridge is one of the most beautiful uni towns I have been to. We had a fantastic time here except the experience with this punting service. Matt, who claimed to be the owner of this company behaved very unprofessionally and was least bothered that we had a little kid with us. Booked a punting tour for 4.15 pm and reached... More 

Helpful?
Thank HimSad
Cambridge P, Owner at Cambridge River Tour, responded to this review

Hi, First of all, I'm sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when you were punting in Cambridge. Many people come to our city specifically for that purpose and it's a great shame when expectations aren't met. The critical point for us is that you absolutely did NOT go punting with our company. Cambridge River Tour punt tours... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Took my 86 year old mother on a punting guided tour. After the initial task of getting her into the punt, we had a very enjoyable and informative ride along the colleges on the river. I would definitely do this again, and so would my mother.

Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaL161

Travelers who viewed Cambridge River Tour also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cambridge River Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cambridge River Tour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?