We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1/2 mile from the village, Woburn, England
Phone Number:
+44 1525 290333
Website
Description:

Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly...

Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly 400 years and is now home to the 15th Duke and his family. Alongside the world class collection of art, the house contains the fascinating stories of the people who have shaped the history of both the Abbey and the nation; including the ‘creation ‘ of Afternoon Tea. The Gardens, with a twenty year restoration programme, are of equal splendour with 28 acres of Repton designs to be explored and discovered.Throughout the year Woburn also hosts a series of events including: classic cars rallies, The Woburn Abbey Garden Show, summer theatre, the country fair, vintage airplane rally and autumn deer walks.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 605 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 322
    Excellent
  • 180
    Very good
  • 41
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
Peaceful and lovely gardens

We came here after our break at Center Parcs and it was a calming experience. Beautiful gardens and well run tea room.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Annette T
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 600: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here after our break at Center Parcs and it was a calming experience. Beautiful gardens and well run tea room.

Helpful?
Thank Annette T
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. Do come and see how the gardens change again for the Spring and summer months, pleased you enjoyed your time here. More 

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2017

Firstly, walked around the deer park up to the abbey. I always find it a little annoying that you MUST stick to the paths, meaning there is no loop to walk. There are three foot walks around the park but all three lead to no where, meaning you need to turn back. It would be better for the walks to... More 

Helpful?
Thank pault100884
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch. I have passed on your comments to the catering team. I understand your frustration at the routes through the Deer Park not being circular, we are looking at the possibility of introducing a circular route. The reason they are not currently is because they are public rights of way, leading from Woburn to Eversholt,... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2016

Walking in the deer park and planned to follow this with tea and cake. Unless you pay to visit the house or gardens you cannot access the tea rooms. This is not clear on the website. The deer park is a lovely place to walk. I wasn't planning on visiting the house or gardens but was looking forward to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. The Deer park walk is a public right of way that cuts through the Private Estate. It happens to pass in front of the entrance to the gardens which is the boundary of the pay to enter attraction that is the Abbey and Gardens. The tearoom forms part of this attraction... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2016 via mobile

We visited in late Autumn so the trees looked lovely and autumnal (although it was very cold!) We walked around for a few hours. The house isn't open until I think April so unfortunately we were unable to visit it. The tea shop was lovely, the staff in there and the gift shop are incredibly friendly and helpful. The best... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElizabethRMack
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. You can drive round again once you have bought your ticket if you don't spot many deer the first time. Nice to hear you enjoyed your visit, the trees look great at that time of year! More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We came here with 2 very young children, thinking they could run, be free and have lots to play on. It's very much set up for older people and couples. Nothing really for kids and the gardens aren't for playing on, obviously. If I had known, I would have parked in Woburn and walked round the outer grounds. At least... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy O
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. You are right in saying we don't have a play area with swings, slides equipment etc which is why we don't state that we have this on offer. However there are 28 acres of garden to run around in and explore, there is a children's trail that can be done for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2016

A tasty tea in a private dining room amongst the gorgeous gardens - well worth a visit as the seasons change. We could hear deer in the grounds calling to each other as we walked off the calories. Delightful.

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a lovely afternoon, thank you for choosing us for your day out. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2016

visited this stately home some 30 odd years ago it was great then this time it seemed even more stunning well informed easy to follow guide books some of the rooms had changed and a shop in the north end had gone but replaced by some good interesting items lovely day out with afternoon tea in the old flying duchess... More 

Helpful?
Thank 933hawkeye
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. It is great to see you enjoyed everything on offer indoors and out! Hopefully it won't be as long before your next visit. More 

Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
778 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2016

The house and garden are simply magnificent and are well worth a visit. The influence of the many Dukes and Duchesses of Bedford is evident throughout the house and garden. We started with the garden which is just under 40 acres. We were there in October so the trees were just turning brown and red. There are many interesting points... More 

Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch about your visit. The gardens really are lovely at this time of year as the leaves change colour. Great to see you enjoyed your visit. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

Really enjoyed our trip to Woburn Abbey. The whole layout of the place is easy to navigate. There is an impressive drive to the house which takes one around part of the estate viewing not only the countryside but the deer as well. The coffee shop sells a lot of gluten free foods which is a real treat for me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments. We are indeed quite the treasure trove when it comes to portraits and paintings! It is great to see you enjoyed your visit and that our team helped towards this too. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

The Abbey, gardens and deer park are well maintained. Just right to spend a pleasant few hours touring around the abbey and excellent gardens, there is a picnic area if you want to bring your own food. I can recommend The Duchess's Tea room, The menu is a little limited, but the food is excellent, prices are reasonable. The teas... More 

Helpful?
Thank George W
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for getting in touch with your comments, Pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. We are always looking at how to tell the story at Woburn and will bear in mind your comments about audio guides for the future. More 

Travelers who viewed Woburn Abbey and Gardens also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Dunstable, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Woburn Abbey and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Woburn Abbey and Gardens and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle Upon Tyne
5 months ago
Chesham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Woburn Abbey and Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?