We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woburn Abbey and Gardens

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1/2 mile from the village, Woburn, England
Phone Number: 01525 290333
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly...

Woburn Abbey has been the home of the Earls and Dukes of Bedford for nearly 400 years and is now home to the 15th Duke and his family. Alongside the world class collection of art, the house contains the fascinating stories of the people who have shaped the history of both the Abbey and the nation; including the ‘creation ‘ of Afternoon Tea. The Gardens, with a twenty year restoration programme, are of equal splendour with 28 acres of Repton designs to be explored and discovered.Throughout the year Woburn also hosts a series of events including: classic cars rallies, The Woburn Abbey Garden Show, summer theatre, the country fair, vintage airplane rally and autumn deer walks.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 452 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 244
    Excellent
  • 129
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 35
    Terrible
Lovely Place

The House is closed in the Winter period so I was unable to visit, so paid to enter the grounds which although very pretty there are lots of other places you can visit for... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Howlo
,
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the Duke of Bedford's family seat at Woburn - It is fantastic example of how to preserve and be proud of what made England great. Wonderful House, history and great presence - still run by a family that cares about preserving England's heritage and the beauty of their family's legacy. A wonderful day out for all the family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it's always good to hear you have enjoyed your time here. The house will re-open on 18th March as we return to 7 day opening for the main season, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
860 reviews
409 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The House is closed in the Winter period so I was unable to visit, so paid to enter the grounds which although very pretty there are lots of other places you can visit for free! I do intend to return and look around the house, it appears best value to buy the ticket that covers all attractions, but the house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howlo
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again when the Abbey opens for the 2016 season on March 18th. Our gardens change with every season and every experience of our Deer Park is different so we hope you'll return and enjoy everything we have to offer. More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

you must take a whole day wandering the grounds - lots to see - but take a picnic - check out the antique shops and treat ourself to Paris House restaurant on the grounds

Helpful?
Thank behappy2
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a lovely day in the village of Woburn and across the estate! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The venue is beautiful with a magical CHristmas tree. I had been looking forward to our evening and the evening cost £65 . When the meal was served to us the starter was insepid i had watercress and stilton soup really did not enjoy that but i thought at least i had 'dinner' to come. I was lookig tirward to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear that your were disappointed with your dining experience here recently. Please see the below response from our Hospitality Department. Dear Cathy, Thank you for your review of the staff Christmas party you attended held on the Woburn Estate. We’re sorry to hear that the food served during the evening was not to your level of... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

The grounds at Woburn are extensive a beautiful. a great place to visit with the kids. Obviously the safari park is a must do but the abbey and grounds are lovely too. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaulT
Lisa H, Manager at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is great to see the gardens change through the seasons. The abbey will be open to visitors again from March 18th 2016. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

It is true to say that you expect more from a Woburn event. Firstly, the weather was appalling ... strong wind during the evening and heavy rain in the days leading up to the event which was the reason that the parking was a problem ... if they had parked people on the grass there would have been even more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

Many thanks for your support. We are aware that there was much dissatisfaction with our Luminaries event on Saturday 28th November, but it is lovely to hear that many also had a good time, despite our inability to perform to our usual high standards. The weather did cause problems, and our contingency plans proved less than adequate, but we are... More 

Kempston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

In a nutshell - poor, dire, pathetic, dis organised, chaotic, frustrating, disappointing. I could go on a criticise the staff, but it's not their fault it's the guys at the top. The Duke and Duchess.

Helpful?
Thank sacleegilbert
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of our Luminaries event on Saturday 28th November. Despite preparation to accommodate the expected increase in visitor numbers we found that much of our preparation proved fruitless when faced with the inclement weather. We are aware that better organisation was required, and were disappointed to find that many of... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I normally love visiting Woburn Abbey, so was really looking forward to our first (and as it turns out last!) visit to the Luminaries event. We started queuing at 17.20, and finally got through the gate at 18.30 after parking in a muddy field that I was lucky to get out of guided by ONE person showing people where to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of our Luminaries event on Saturday 28th November. Unfortunately we experienced some issues. Despite preparation to accommodate the expected increase in visitor numbers we found that much of our preparation proved fruitless when faced with the inclement weather. We are aware that better organisation was required, and were disappointed... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Came from the north of the county so only had about 30 mins queue. Got directed to a parking space off road and immediately got stuck, had to be pushed out later. Only a few craft stalls which weren't great. Mostly rip off food stalls. Walked around the gardens to see half a dozen melting ice sculptures, a couple of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of our Luminaries event on Saturday 28th November. It is not the aim of our team to cause any upset or disappointment to our visitors in the delivery of events at Woburn Abbey. But, unfortunately on this occasion our planning and organisation was not adequate and we were unable... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

I can only echo the previous reviews. A terrible event in fact I could go as far as saying the worst I have ever been to. Badly organised no signage a complete fiasco and had to pay £10.50 up front for the priveledge shame on you Woburn. Woburn Abbey and the estate is one of my favourite places but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank 6sunshinegirl0
Alicia J, Gardens Secretary and Events Coordinator at Woburn Abbey and Gardens, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of our Luminaries event on Saturday 28th November. It is not the aim of our team to cause any upset or disappointment to our visitors in the delivery of events at Woburn Abbey. But unfortunately, on this occasion, our planning and organisation was not adequate. Although all of the... More 

Travelers who viewed Woburn Abbey and Gardens also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
Waddesdon, Aylesbury
 

Been to Woburn Abbey and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Woburn Abbey and Gardens and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chesham, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Woburn Abbey and Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?