We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Minister's Island

199 Carriage Rd, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E4B 1A0, Canada
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting geography and history

My wife and I visited Ministers Island while on a short stay in St. Andrews. The day was quite... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
105jimk
,
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
A drive in the ocean floor!

This was my highlight of the whole trip. You have to check the tide schedule before going because... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jennifer C
,
Calgary, Canada
via mobile
Read all 213 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Van Horne Estate on Ministers Island offers visitors one of the foremost cultural, heritage and environmental tourism destination in the Charlotte Coastal Region of the Bay of Fundy of New Brunswick. Ministers Island is an enchanting place to experience. Lying in the shores of Passamaquoddy Bay near St. Andrews, New Brunswick, Canada, this 500-acre island can be reached by driving over the seafloor. Once there, you are immersed in an experience from the late 19th and early 20th century - the summer estate of Sir William Van Horne, the driving force behind the Canadian Pacific Railway. Sir William's vast house, his equally large barn and his bathhouse/artist's hideaway are on view, as are the beautiful carriage lanes through the woods and fields. Time stands still, and you're swept up in an atmosphere that makes you forget all about your everyday life and the here-and-now. Come explore! We're waiting to welcome you.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good38%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“the barn” (26 reviews)
“bath house” (32 reviews)
“ocean floor” (39 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
199 Carriage Rd, Saint Andrews, New Brunswick E4B 1A0, Canada
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the barn"
in 26 reviews
"bath house"
in 32 reviews
"ocean floor"
in 39 reviews
"van horne"
in 24 reviews
"summer home"
in 16 reviews
"sir william"
in 13 reviews
"the main house"
in 11 reviews
"low tide"
in 45 reviews
"sand bar"
in 9 reviews
"the canadian pacific railway"
in 8 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 8 reviews
"canadian history"
in 9 reviews
"summer residence"
in 4 reviews
"main home"
in 4 reviews
"unique experience"
in 7 reviews
"self sustaining"
in 3 reviews
"historic property"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife and I visited Ministers Island while on a short stay in St. Andrews. The day was quite rainy, but that did not deter us from the visit nor our enjoyment of our time on the island. The drive across the bar on the...More

Thank 105jimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my highlight of the whole trip. You have to check the tide schedule before going because it has to be low tide to get to the island. The grounds are amazing to tour. So much history and amazing views. The house is stunning!!...More

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Manager at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jennifer C Thanks for making a stop to Ministers Island. We are excited to hear that it was the highlight of your whole trip! The grounds are full of history and culture from the Passamaquoddy to Van Horne. The 50 room summer home is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. We hiked around the island in May. There were no bugs, a variety of terrain, and amazing look outs. I highly recommend. The only advice I would give, bring something that tracks both your time and...More

Thank smcarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Manager at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi smcarls Thank you for visiting Ministers Island and using our 21 km of old carriage routes and trails. The perimeter trail does provide some amazing vistas and is a fun day out in nature. I am glad you enjoyed the varieties of terrain and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Minister's Island has always been one of my favorite day trips. Drive across the ocean floor and take a walk back in time. Lovely old part of History but you should see it for yourself. Enjoy!!More

Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Manager at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Pam Thanks for sharing your experience on Ministers Island. It is a great day trip and experiencing crossing the ocean floor to another time is like no other experience in New Brunswick. The historic splendor of the restored barn and the summer home Covenhoven...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had not intended to visit, but more spying out for the future. However when we arrived, the tide was right to drive across (on,y at low tide). $10 each entry charge was reasonable. The house and associated building were very interesting with a good...More

Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Manager at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Iain C Thanks for writing your story about your experience on Ministers Island. We are glad you had the chance to visit the island, even if it was unexpected. We hope that you will be back again with friend and family for another visit...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a must see. The history is truly interesting. We truly enjoyed the beauty of the island.

Thank tulipgirlnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Manager at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tulipgirlnb Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ministers Island. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

The only disappointment for me was that there is no lodging on the island....because believe me, I did not want to leave! Everything about this place is breathtaking! The trails, the mansion, the outbuildings....the fact that you heve to wait on the tides to get...More

2  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Executive Director at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Good Morning Lucy P Thank you for the great review we are glad you enjoyed your time on Ministers Island. We hope you return in the near future to see all the restoration projects to be completed within the next two years. I think you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

This was a very unique experience. There is a limited time frame to visit because the high tide blocks the ability to drive. Really enjoyed walking through the well preserved house and checking out the property with everything on it.More

Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulnopper, Executive Director at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thanks for coming to experience Ministers Island. Being a tidal island is one of the unique aspects to the experience. We are glad you enjoyed the house and walking the grounds. Hopefully the next time you visit we will have an alternative transport to ensure...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

We waited for the tide to go out. It was well worth the wait. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Take the self guided tours. You will not be disappointed! Beautiful!More

Thank John and Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Executive Director at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Hello John and Rose P Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate the positive feedback. I am glad you had a wonderful time on Ministers Island and yes it is quite beautiful! It is always great to hear that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We waited for the tide to go out to head over - well worth the wait which was interesting in and of itself. The island is absolutely worth the visit! You won't be sorry ...More

1  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Executive Director at Minister's Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Hi Deb G We are happy to hear that your adventure to Ministers Island was a memorable one. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your visit and hope that you can spread the word to your friends and family to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Saint Andrews
Motel Leo
103 reviews
1.49 miles away
Quality Inn
135 reviews
1.63 miles away
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
115 reviews
1.77 miles away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
360 reviews
2.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Grand Saut Ristorante
179 reviews
2.09 miles away
Jack Fries
36 reviews
2.14 miles away
Pizza Boy
36 reviews
2.04 miles away
Hill Top Motel
21 reviews
1.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Zip Zag
88 reviews
1.87 miles away
Grand Falls Gorge
249 reviews
1.89 miles away
Open Sky Adventures
34 reviews
3.63 miles away
Grand Falls
7 reviews
2.29 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cindy C
August 30, 2017|
Answer
Response from michaelh409 | Reviewed this property |
Just search the gc tide table
0
Votes
Philip K
October 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from vespadue | Reviewed this property |
Tides are posted on their website.
0
Votes
marionwoodbury
August 26, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jillles | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - I don't recall but I found a website which says $8 and it sounds right. Tripadvisor is giving me a hard time pasting it in but google it. Bring food if you want to eat there - no concessions. You pay when you... More
0
Votes
;