Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing

Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing, Revelstoke: Hours, Address, Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing Reviews: 4.5/5

Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing

Selkirk Tangiers Heli Skiing
4.5
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
At Selkirk Tangiers, our guests, friends and employees have come to expect nothing but the best after 40+ years of powder skiing and snowboarding in Revelstoke, BC. STHS founder Peter Schlunegger, a fourth generation Swiss Mountain Guide, introduced helicopter skiing to the Revelstoke area and the Selkirk Mountains in 1978. In the years to follow, he would see his vision develop into a successful reality. Our diverse staff have been brought together for their love of snow, mountains, and sharing this joy with others. We promote and foster a fun and open working environment where everyone works together to create an unforgettable guest experience. Big & small helis, 1-7+ day packages, your dream trip starts here.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
44 reviews
Excellent
32
Very good
5
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
2

Findlay
1 contribution
Dailed in
Feb 2021 • Friends
Spent 3 days with this heli ski operation in Revelstoke.
I am an experienced heli skier having skied with a number of companies over the last 30 years.
Had a great experience here. Heli skiing is all about guides , terrain and snow.
Selkirk nails all 3.
Snow conditions in the alpine were a little challenging on day 1 but our guides David and Alex found the good stuff.
The following 2 days were epic with the best alpine big bowl skiing I have ever done .
Stability was good( had to trust our guide Alex on this but he was right)and we skied endless powder on very steep runs.
I can’t say enough about the attention to detail on the mountain. Kept us all safe but let us rip.
The heli operation has partnered with the coast hotel. Very comfortable rooms and surprisingly excellent fine dining and service.
Great place. You can’t go wrong here.
Written February 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sara E
Madison, WI36 contributions
Day trip- 1st taste of Heli-skiing/boarding
Jan 2020 • Couples
We enjoyed our first taste of Heli-boarding with Selkirk Tangiers on their day trip. The day-trip is a guaranteed 3 run trip suited for 1st time Heli-ers. We felt well safety briefed and taken care of. We boarded and they recommended ski poles to help through the flats and to brace yourself getting up from a fall. We were very thankful we had them! We felt we could handle the terrain on this trip and didn’t feel we were slowing the group down being first timers and boarders. We were the only group with our helicopter the day we went. (I see other reviews mention long safety briefings and some troubles sharing slopes and the helicopter with multiple groups. It might be prudent to inquire how many groups will be paired with your helicopter if you foresee this as an issue.) We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! Selkirk Tangiers was great-they even helped us route find our way back to Seattle on maps and map.me. The town and resort of Revelstoke are also great- and we very much enjoyed the Coast Hillcrest Hotel where Selkirk Tangiers Heli-Skiing operations are based. It’s comfortable and you get to rub elbows with Heli-skiers from around the world. We’d love to return to all the Revelstoke area has to offer!
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vacuum
1 contribution
Disappointing experience and simply not value for money
Jan 2020
Regrettably a disappointment. Conditions were tricky underfoot but only 10km and <2000m vert was skied the entire "day". Too much time was consumed with organisation and a prolonged lengthy safety briefing waiting for the helicopter to arrive. The operation suffers from being too large and impersonal, verging on a Disneyland of Heli with so many groups. Large groups (8 pax) of varying skiing ability are an inefficient and time consuming mix (very experienced were mixed with with no-powder experienced skiers in the same group). Gave the impression it is managed this way to squeeze more people in and minimise the number and scope of runs . The all too frequent stop/start approach resulted in a very non-rythmical experience. Sure the staff/guides were friendly and polite (it is Canada after all). Yes they were some pockets of sublime powder but you were rarely skiing continuously or with any vigor for any real stretch of the mountain and were skiing over previous tracks on the very limited terrain that was visited by two oversized groups. To be frank, I've had better and faster days skiing with my young kids in deep front side powder. Compared to a recent experience in NZ which was awesome (4 pax, 8 large 1000m vert runs in 4.5hours), this was a let down. The food at lunch was nice but to be honest, no-one had really worked up an appetite. Wouldn't recommend it unless this was your first time and you have money and time to burn.
Written January 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

drdboiler90
1 contribution
First time...and when finished I was mad it took me over 30 years to make this happen!!!
Mar 2019 • Friends
Although renowned for gobs of powder annually, our group happened to arrive in March in a below average 2018-19 winter snowfall and at tail end of 3 week "drought". Our group was a bit disappointed going into it but such is life booking 5 months in advance. One would think all the good stuff would be skied over.
Fortunately, over the two days our guides were able to find delicious hidden treasures of virgin powder in areas of the mountain range they admittedly hadn’t had a need to explore in years. Guides had the right attitude. With only minimal exceptions for portions of a few runs, the variety of pitch and open bowls and glades were thrilling and snow conditions were wonderful. Lunch stops were on the money with tasty food & warm tea.
Guides, pilots, and folks in shop were all easy to work with and really made my first Heli experience a breeze. The powder boards rocked.
Written April 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks @drdboiler90, this is an awesome summary of what sounds like an awesome experience! We definitely didn't have the simplest winter in terms of snowfall this season, but our experienced team was able to make the most of our 500,000+ acres and provide the goods to clients like yourself all season long. We're glad we were able to show you a good time in the mountains and hear that you felt taken care of from all sides of our operation, not just in the field. We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sean Oberholzer
8 contributions
Great trip
Jan 2019 • Friends
To me everything was top notch, from accommodations to the guiding and the attention to safety and a great experience. Hats off to Joey Vosburgh for his professionalism, great guide. The whole crew were great, helpful and accommodating at all times.
Written April 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for the review @ajaxsf420' - we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us this season! And we'll be sure to let Joey know about the positive feedback as well. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark N
DC2 contributions
Awesome! Above expectation accommodations, terrain, and pricing.
Feb 2019 • Friends
Could not have been more impressed with the Hillcrest hotel in Revelstoke. We were expecting something much less refined. It's not a small log cabin in the woods, which some people are after, but it is a very nice hotel with great food/drinks. STHS does pump a lot of people through their program so it does have a slightly business feel, but that quickly goes away when you hit the top of the mountain.

The terrain was beyond impressive, although we did not tackle anything that was steep and long given the avalanche risk. Recent snowfall had been minimal, but STHS was able to find plenty of snow. Glacier runs, deep semi-gladed powder, and plenty of tree runs. There were places where the snow was thigh deep and fluffy.

We did the multi-day group package which will put you in a 10 person helicopter (we were paired with 5 other skiers that were very good, which was a huge plus), and that helicopter will usually shuttle 2/3 groups across various terrain that is relatively in the same area. This wasn't an issue for us, but there are times will you may have to wait a few minutes, or have routes decided based on the overall group. If you don't like this you may want to opt for the small group package which puts you in a smaller helicopter that can take you wherever you desire and there is little to no waiting. I think this is what we will do next time, just because it gives you full autonomy. That being said the multi-day package was still amazing, and you can't beat the pricing. Our videos look as though they are right out of National geographic.

Overall the trip was amazing. We all want to go back already and it's been three days. Will absolutely be a repeat customer.
Written February 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your feedback Mark, sounds like your group nailed it with this trip! We're glad we were able to provide you with a great ski experience given the ski conditions at the time, and that your group worked well together out in the mountains. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, possibly for a private package experience as you've mentioned!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Josh S
Katy, TX171 contributions
Incredible Powder Experience
Feb 2019 • Friends
This is a very well run and safety focused operation.

Our group of 9 (7 skiers and 2 boarders) just completed a 2-day heli-skiing trip with this operator.

We had a mix of skill sets ranging from advanced intermediates to expert skiers and riders and all were well accommodated on the trip.

Our guides were incredibly good and passionate about their craft, and obviously very well trained and focused on delivering a safe and enjoyable experience.

We lucked out and had 2 great weather days and our guides were sure that we maximized every run. In addition, everyone at Selkirk Tangier’s, from the ski shop technicians to the booking reps to the resturant/bar, chopper pilot and facility reps were exceptional and very safety and customer focused.

This was my second heli experience (other at Whistler which was pretty neat too) and my favorite so far.

As a side note I was very worried about cold feet and hands so I invested in HotTronic boot heaters and Heskra gloves before traveling to RevelStoke and was 100% happy. Warm hands and toasty toes for both days. I also elected to use the Bolder DPS powder skis offered by Selkirk-Tangier’s. They were really “playful” and handled the deep powder very well. Several team mates skied the Soul-7’and were hapoybas well.
Written February 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for taking the time to provide such a thorough summary of your experience with us this season. It's great to hear you were able to luck out with 2 great days of weather in the mountains, and that the other elements of our operation exceeded expectations as well. We hope to see you and your group back at STHS again the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

etienne d
1 contribution
Bad customer service... avoid
Jan 2019 • Family
Very disappointed with my experience with this company ... We are expert skiers who have been paired with a beginner group. Our day comes down to waiting: just 2500 m of altitude in one day. The others in the group were losing their skis and were slow. We had skied low slopes all day. When we addressed the problem to our guide, he did not seem very busy with the situation. Obviously, the guide seems a lot more concerned about the rest of the group since he seems good friend with the guide that accompanies the same group. When we addressed the problem to the customer service, they told us that they had nothing available and that we had to pay for a private group. The guide admitted that he had no choice but to match us as everything is reserved. In summary, avoid this company if you are good skiers since they do not take into account the level of people. They simply want to maximize profit to the detriment of the customer. Try another like CMH or eagle pass. Hoping that our next days are going to be more enjoyable
Written January 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your comments, we commend you for bringing this to our attention in person and online, it's your prerogative to use whichever method you choose to communicate feelings regarding our service. We can assure you our staff endeavored to hear your concerns when they were addressed and worked hard to come up with solutions as best as we could given the logistics of the days you were booked. Differing ability levels within groups is something we strive to minimize, and work to fix as soon as possible when they occur. It's unfortunate that you had to experience this during your trip, and also extremely unfortunate that the highway was temporarily closed your 1st day, causing a lengthy delay during the group's drive to staging, cutting into precious ski time! We're happy this delay was an isolated incident, and that we were able to make improvements to the group dynamics on the 3rd day to provide you with a faster skiing experience. We were pleased to check-in with you at the end of the package and see you'd been able to ski more vertical than would typically be included for this package (15,950vm over 3 days!). And pleased that you enjoyed your time! We hope we will get to see you again at STHS in the future, and we'll do our best to keep improving our booking and operational processes to ensure we exceed your expectations next time around.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Inspiration756270
Milwaukee, WI1 contribution
Despite Great Snow, Selkirk Tangiers a Bust
Feb 2018
This was my fourth heli-ski trip, each time having skied with a different operator (Helitrax, Mica Heli, and Silverton).
While Selkirk Tangiers put us on the best snow mother nature can serve-up, their on mountain operations kept us blue-balled the entire day.
Our group of eight strong skiers booked the 1-Day Adventure trip expecting it would be as advertised by Selkirk Tangiers: “skiers and riders with more advanced skills looking to move at a faster pace”, and “this single day package runs at a more rigorous pace allowing more advanced riders to maximize their vertical for a big day on the slopes”. This is not at all how the day unfolded.
The day seemed promising with a punctual shuttle pick up, and a very well oiled machine at their base where check-in, waivers, ski setup, and breakfast all ran like a Swiss clock.
However the wheels started coming off with a safety training that dragged on and on, as if they needed to kill a ton of time before they were ready to take us skiing. Mind you this was my fifth avi safety training, and it came across as purposeful time killer.
Their Program Itinerary states that “lift for first run occurs at 10:00am”. In reality we were not airborne until 11:30, after two groups went ahead of us, and we had to wait for the chopper to get refueled.
Once on the mountain the snow was truly bottomless. However, EVERY run found us making several prolonged stops while we waited for the other two groups ahead of us. We REPEATEDLY asked our guides if we could leapfrog ahead in order to pick up the pace as advertised. Finally after the lunch stop we moved into the second group position, but the problem continued as the lead group had slow skiers, with one who kept losing her ski, and our guide would have to ski ahead and help with the search while our group would literally stand still for 10-15 minuets at a time chomping at the bit to ski the deep powder.
We also let our guides know early in the day that we were interested in buying extra runs, and tipping accordingly. It was all in vein, as it seemed as if the program was designed to simply get you your 5 runs, and then get all three groups off the mountain at the same time.
If you like A LOT of standing around while you wait for slow and first-time heli skiers to plod ahead of you, this is your trip. If you like a well run operation that can accommodate the naturally varied pace and appetite of different skiers, I’d go elsewhere.
A final shout-out to Bren and his crew for at least shuttling us back to our hotel and airport to aid our Revelstoke departure. Thanks much.
Written February 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate the detail you've provided about your trip and apologize for the lengthy delay in responding to your post. We're sorry to hear that your group had some unfortunate delays on account of group logistics during the day. We've taken a serious note of your comments and have made some adjustments to our programming for the 18-19 winter season that will hopefully help mitigate these issues before they arise in the future. We'd be happy to discuss these program changes with you, and how we might be able to provide some incentive for your group to give STHS another shot in the future. If you can get in touch with us at info@selkirk-tangiers.com, we can keep the discussion rolling. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

must_travel_soon_10
Mississauga, Canada1,339 contributions
2nd time Fabulous Again!
Jan 2018 • Friends
Need some lucky stars to have an epic experience and on day 2, that happened! Powder, terrain, guides, fellow group and weather resulted in a fantastic experience! Unforgettable! Great operation, although 'overly' thorough with their safety training. Better safe than sorry, especially newbies. Can't find any fault in their operation, everything was great. Day 1 we had issue with helicopter not starting up, stuff happens.
Written January 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for the positive feedback, sorry to hear that you experienced mechanical issues on your first day. Glad we were able to make it an enjoyable experience for the rest of your time with STHS. Looking forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing