We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soaring Kiwi Tours

#192 of 399 Tours in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
More
About Soaring Kiwi Tours
Hop on-board our unique open top double decker buses and enjoy a journey of discover through Auckland - New Zealand's largest city. We have two tour routes available, the Central Tour (red line) visits all the "must see" central city attractions including; Auckland Museum, Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, Bastion Point, Viaduct Harbour and more. On our Western Tour (blue line) you will explore the wider city suburbs and visit the famous Eden Park, St Luke's Mall, Auckland Zoo, MOTAT and more! Both tour routes take 1hr to complete and you can purchase 24hr & 48hr passes ensuring you have plenty of time to hop on and off the bus exploring the city at your leisure. Our friendly drivers provide a 'live' fun and entertaining commentary throughout your journey so you can learn the history of this fascinating city. We also have multi-lingual recorded commentary available on our Central Tour. This is the very best way to spend a day in Auckland!
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Soaring Kiwi Tours
13 reviews
From Auckland Zoo and the Sky Tower to shopping hot spots and coastal views, Auckland is a sightseer’s dream destination—but reaching the far-flung landmarks on foot takes time and effort. With this hop-on hop-off bus tour, spin through the City of Sails in comfort and hit the sites with ease. Choose a 24- or 48-hour pass, and enjoy the freedom to explore Auckland at your own pace.
Read more
from $22.79
See Auckland from the vantage of an open-top double-decker tour bus, with live commentary aboard and 16 stops to hop-on or hop-off at. Choose how you want to see the city, spending as much or as little time at each stop as desired. A sprawling metropolis, sightseeing by double-decker bus is the best way to ensure you see all of Auckland’s landmarks in one day.
Read more
from $29.30
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
13
6
1
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
13
6
1
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western tour open top bus red bus hop on hop bastion point bus tour auckland city bearings lance parnell sites aquarium visitors
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the Auckland city sightseeing red bus tours. There is the central or western tour. The central tour includes the sky tower, viaduct harbour, bastion point, aquarium, Parnell museum, wintergardens and the art gallery. The western tour includes the sky tower, eden park, the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank joy4124
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia Ora and thank you for your review of our Soaring Kiwi Tour in Auckland. We are thrilled that you enjoyed utilising your 48hr 'hop on hop off' pass for both tour routes. We think it really is the best way to "see" Auckland and...More

Reviewed April 25, 2019

We were treated to a trip arranged for my Grandson's third birthday on "The Big Red Double Decker". All he wanted was a ride on a Bus & train & Ferry. I was sceptical that a ride on one of our City Transport buses would...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Ian W
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you so much for your lovely review of our Auckland City Tour! We are delighted to hear that you, and "the birthday boy", thoroughly enjoyed your visit and time with Lance. We will also pass on your kind comments to Lance...More

Reviewed April 8, 2019

Wherever we are in the world, we always try to jump on the local 'hop on, hop off' as soon as possible after arrival, and Auckland was no exception during a very hot February. These trips give you a snapshot of the city and suburbs,...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank jonathank7
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you for your fantastic review of our Auckland City Tour. We are delighted to hear that you found our 'hop on hop off' pass useful, to learn about the city and gather your bearings. We hope you enjoyed the views from...More

Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Been on hop-on, hop-off tours across the globe and this was the poorest by far. Central route was okay, the driver was good with plenty information however we took the 1.30pm Western tour on Tuesday 26 March & it was dreadful. Not a real interesting...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Holidayhos
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Kia Ora, We are extremely disappointed to hear that you had such a poor experience and apologise for failing to meet our usual high standards on your day of travel. We would like to hear more about your visit so that we can work on...More

Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

We were in Auckland prior to a cruise. Our hotel room wasnt ready when we arrived so we thought a bus tour would be a great way to get our bearings around town, see the major sites and relax while doing so since we were...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank USACorgi
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you for your great review of our Auckland City Tour. We are happy to hear that you found our tour informative and fun, and enjoyed exploring the city on our unique open top buses! We appreciate your feedback regarding the speaker...More

Reviewed March 21, 2019

This tour was great - the whole hop on/hop off idea is a must if you only have a short time in a city. The three drivers we had were all great - there is something wonderful hearing people talk passionately about their city and...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Sally B
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you so much for your lovely review of our Auckland City Tour. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found our driver commentaries fun and informative. It was a shame you had to miss a...More

Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

We bought tickets for this hop on-off company as it includes tickets to Sky Tower too. Sounded like a good deal, but on the blue tour there is only one bus an hour and that was 30 minutes late! Commentary was really bad. It should...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sarahebrooks57
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you for your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience and would like to know more about your visit so that we can learn from this and improve our tour in the future. Could you...More

Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

Easy to buy tickets, safe drivers, nice buses, many stops. It was a great start to our exploration of Auckland. Choose red tour as longer and more options, unless you need to get to someplace on blue tour. ;)More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Pam B
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you for your lovely review of our City Tour. We are delighted to hear that you found the buses safe and reliable, and enjoyed exploring the city with us. We hope you captured some great photos from the top deck and...More

Reviewed March 2, 2019

Thanks for hassle free tour. Driver spoke well and timetable was met. It made us understand what we wanted to do for the time we where there.More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank tonyw612015
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you for your fantastic review of our City Tour. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our buses very reliable. We hope you captured some great photos from the top deck and had fun...More

Reviewed February 16, 2019

We live in Auckland and only did this as our 2 year old grandson was desperate to travel on a double decker bus :-) We actually loved it - got cheap tickets online - and did the red tour, staying on the bus which took...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank L0veT0Tr4vel
HassleFreeToursNZ, Public Relations Manager at Soaring Kiwi Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Kia Ora and thank you so much for your wonderful review of our City Tour! We always love to hear from "locals" as we find that many residents are blown away by the views from our open top bus and the interesting facts and figures...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Soaring Kiwi Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines