Tahoe Photographic Tours
Tahoe Photographic Tours
5
Sightseeing ToursPrivate ToursNature & Wildlife ToursPhotography Tours
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Tahoe Photographic Tours is the first and most experienced personalized Scenic Guide and Photographic Service in Lake Tahoe. Our tours concentrate on showing you the very best of Tahoe. We take you to not only must-see Tahoe locations, but off the beaten path as well. We know the best spots, and when to be there. Whether you are a skilled photographer seeking out the most Photographic locations, an aspiring photographer, or just starting out; Tahoe Photographic Tours will help optimize your vacation time. Showcasing some of the best locations, you will see beautiful waterfalls, pristine forests, back country lakes, wildlife, high mountain vistas, and of course Lake Tahoe. Stunning photo opportunities abound. Since our tours are semi-private, we believe in letting you experience Tahoe at your pace. We allow plenty of time at each stop for you to relax and immerse yourself in the beautiful landscape around you and capture memorable images if you desire. From your first contact with us, you can expect excellence in service, photographs you will cherish for a lifetime and down-to-earth Tahoe hospitality.
South Lake Tahoe, California

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Tahoe Photographic Tours

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles647 reviews
Excellent
622
Very good
16
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
4

Explore765917
41 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
Our guide, Jim, went above and beyond given the weather was not cooperating to move us around the rain. So many amazing locations I would not have found on my own. He also shared a lot of great tips and techniques at each stop.

Mother nature did however bless us with views of a rainbow from our very first stop right up to our return. Amazing tour and guide. Only wish I would have taken the full day trip. Thank you Jim!
Written January 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Tahoe Photograhic Tours guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. Jim is a fantastic guide and I’m very lucky to have them on my team. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to your next visit.
Written January 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bran34786
Orlando, FL12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Couples
Keith was our tour guide and in our first meeting, we instantly knew he was an expert! He was able to show us ALL the nook’n crannies of beautiful Lake Tahoe seamlessly. Keith helped us capture moments with gorgeous photographs that we can always treasure till our next adventure.

Thank you Keith for the wonderful experience of discovering Lake Tahoe!
Written September 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Tahoe Photographic Tours guest, thank you for submitting your review. I'm glad we were able to show you some of Lake Tahoe's most beautiful locations.
Written September 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TahoeTwo
Austin16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
This tour will not disappoint. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. Places we would never have found. Our guide Griffin is a polite, knowledgeable extremely adept photographer. And he loves his job! Everyone knows about Lake Tahoe, but Fallen Leaf Lake, Lily Lake, Sugar Pine Park and much more is what you’ll get with this tour. The photos Griffin took are amazing and they were sent to us within 3 days of our tour. What a way to celebration our 10th wedding anniversary.
Written June 3, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ed B
48 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2015 • Couples
This half-day tour was great. Our guide was Griffin, who is young, gregarious, knowledgeable, and loves photography. Sadly, my best camera is an iPhone - but Griffin captured our tour with some postcard-quality photos using professional equipment. All of his photos were free and available for download within a week. Our tour group consisted of 6 individuals from 2 families, and we rode in a large comfortable SUV. We spent all of our time in the southwestern Lake Tahoe region, exploring places I would have easily overlooked (plus, we went down roads I would never dare to drive). Some hiking was involved at the various stops, but it was all short-distance and easy. Griffin had a photographer's eye for objects of all sizes, and his interests were contagious. At one point while driving, a black bear crossed our path. In a flash, the SUV was parked and Griffin is giving chase with camera in hand – this was the one instance where the group stayed in the car. Although our tour was running long, he was more interested in our time schedule than his own; and probably would have continued longer if allowed. My only complaint is that he didn't make me look 10+ years younger.
Written June 15, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Chris G
San Francisco, CA1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
I booked this for a surprise birthday present for my wife and while it wasn't what I expected, it was even better. Perhaps I misread the description, but I expected a boat tour on the lake where we could take our own photos. So, when it snowed 4" the night before and was fairly cold, I expected this tour to be cancelled. What I got instead was a professional photographer, Griffin, who drove us around the lake in a nice Toyota Sequoia while showing us the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. No exaggeration, we are on a year long honeymoon touring the nation for beautiful spots and this tour tops our list. Not only did Griffin take photos all day that we got to keep, but he also taught us how to better use our camera - which will help us capture other beautiful spots for the rest of our lives. I am blown away, not just at the beauty of this area, but at Griffin's ability to capture it on film. If you use your phone camera for pictures and are impressed with them - then you will be in awe of the pictures a professional can achieve with their equipment and artistic ability. I don't write many reviews, but when we saw these pictures I felt compelled to share my experience with those of you on the fence about this tour. Chris Greenlee.
Written June 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

starrygirlb
Las Vegas, NV111 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2012 • Couples
On August 4th my husband and I took the half day tour. We spent a good bit of time reading reviews on tripadvisor before we booked this and ultimately booked with great confidence given all the positive reviews? Our tour guide was Lisa, who while very friendly, was lacking immensely in most all attributes to be expected of a tour guide. We expected to be given facts and information about the Lake Tahoe area and about the points of interest she was taking us too. She spent the better part of the trip doing what could only be described as a personal overshare, telling us about her past and how she was pushed out of her last job after 11 years because the new management was spying on her conversations with other employees or about how she had just worked the night shift at a casino and only had about two hours of sleep before she had to come pick us up for our tour. The most contributing thing offered by way of information or facts about Lake Tahoe was her repeated "aren't chipmunks cute?" or "I wonder if it's safe to feed them cranberries from my trail mix? That's probably safe for them, right." It was really rather pathetic. In addition to her lack of relevant knowledge and gross personal over sharing was the discovery that she knew nothing about photography and the use of her camera. At one point, I spotted a snake on rocks below a bridge we were on and she even made the comment that she wished she knew how to use the zoom feature on the camera so she could get a better picture of it. Um, shouldn't she be able to work the camera? Isn't that a huge aspect of being a photo tour guide? At one point she was so unsure of her camera that she admitted she wasn't sure if the pictures would turn out and said to us "don't worry, Keith has stock photos of the area and he can substitute those if these come out too dark." I do not want stock photos. I can see those on the Internet for free whenever I want. What I want is pictures taken where I'm at, with me in them. As the tour wore on, she even asked the couple that was touring with us if they were hungover because they were being so quiet. They were not hunger and in fact informed her that they do not drink. Perhaps we were all quiet because we were so disappointed with the tour guide? And at the end of the tour she suddenly whipped out a stack of safety waivers and actually says "oh shoot! I forgot to have you guys sign these before we got started! You have to sign these now!" Um, isn't the whole point of a safety waiver to have your customers sign them prior to the tour, not in the parking lot as you drop them back off at their hotel? Not that we minded signing waivers at all but had we been injured while out on the tour this could have been a huge liability to the owners of the company. We paid about $250 for this highly rated tour so that we could see beautiful areas, learn about our surroundings and take home "professional" pictures of our experience. As soon as we were back to our hotel, my husband called the owner and expressed to him (Keith) our dissatisfaction. Keith's only offering was to let us take another tour with him instead of with Lisa. Well, that would have been nice if we had more time, however we were flying out in less than 24 hours. My husband explained that to him, again expressing the fact that we were not satisfied and Keith said to us that he was sure we would be pleased once we saw our pictures and that he was surprised we hadnt had a good experience. While we felt a partial refund was fair, he was only offering a redo of our tour. Two weeks later our photo cd arrived in the mail and much as we expected, the pictures are terrible. The vast majority of them had closed eyes or open mouths as if we weren't ready for the picture to be snapped. Had we been provided the professional photographer we paid for perhaps she would have noticed as she took the pictures? That is one of the benefits of a digital camera, isn't it? To be able to look and see if you got the shot right away? In addition to the lousy photos of us, we received a slew of those previously mentioned stock photos. Pictures of snow covered trees and rocks. What are we supposed to tell people when we show them our vacation pictures from our tour? Here is a great spot we visited, just try to imagine it without all the snow since we visited in August when it was 80 degrees outside and there wasn't any snow. How ridiculous is that? Overall, we were highly disappointed with our tour guide and further disappointed by the owners unwillingness to offer a partial refund. We definitely feel we were ripped off, lured in to shelling out big bucks by rave reviews only to find that those reviews should have come with a disclaimer saying only take the tour if Keith is your guide. So, that's our experience, take it for what you will. But trust us, if you book the tour and find out that Lisa is your tour guide, save yourself the disappointment and just don't go.
Written August 20, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
To our guest, thank you for taking the time to write in and share your experience. I had spoken to your husband on the day of your tour, and am I‘m extremely sorry that our tour guide’s knowledge fell short of your expectations. Since you were leaving the next day we offered you a $250 complimentary Private Sunset Tour with me Keith Price the owner of Tahoe Photographic Tours. I completely understand if the evening tour wasn’t in your plans, and extended you an offer for a complimentary tour for up to four guests at any time in your future. That offer still stands. Since you live in California, I thought that would appeal to you. Regarding your photos, unfortunately you will never receive numerous images from a photographer that are all perfect. It is a natural photography business progression to take more shots than needed for that very reason. Quite honestly, Lisa did a good job from a photographic standpoint. The additional “Stock photos” were merely a gift to you as I have given to so many of my other guests. They are surely not meant to represent the time frame you were here. We as a company continue to make every effort to provide exceptional value and experience into every tour. Few businesses extend the operational time we do to insure we exceed our guests’ expectations. This is proven by the number of outstanding reviews we receive. Unfortunately every business owner knows that we all make mistakes, In the case of your guide, well everyone has to start somewhere. Since the lack of Tahoe information was your major concern I’ll be glad to take you out on tour myself as stated anytime in the future. Unfortunately I’m not well, so it may be another one of my senior guides if I’m not available. Either way you will have a wonderful experience packed full of Lake Tahoe Information. If you aren’t able to come back, I completely understand. My concern is to exceed my guests expectation’s, and again I am truly sorry your experience what not up to expectations. Please contact me regarding a complimentary Tour anytime in the future. Thank you Keith Price Owner Tahoe Photographic Tours
Written August 29, 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

thelung187
Melbourne, FL4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I just spent our honeymoon out in the Lake Tahoe area, and this tour was what we had scheduled for the first day of activities. We'd read the TripAdvisor reviews on Keith and his services, so we thought it couldn't be that bad. We couldn't have been more wrong, IT WAS AMAZINGLY EXCELLENT!!!

Keith was in the hospital (feel better buddy!) but his brother Bobby picked us up with another couple, and we headed down to one of the state parks that was easily accessible in the Suburban SUV we rode in. After that, we moved to a much higher elevation to look out over a vast majority of Lake Tahoe itself, followed by a trip to Emerald Bay, and ending with a *very* scenic drive to Fallen Leaf Lake. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking; coming from Florida, we only had a vague idea of what the area was like, but Bobby really knew the most scenic spots all around Lake Tahoe, and we circumnavigated the entire lake, starting at about 9am and ending at 3:30pm. Be sure to bring a pair of boots, as there aresome very light walks during the winter time to locations where the area may have some snow.

Bobby was very friendly, and quite knowledgeable about the area, it's history, and was able to answer pretty much any question any of us had! The pictures we took on our own camera look like they were professionally done (just a Sony point and shoot), but we took more than 200 pictures all day at the various locations. On top of that, about a week after we got back, we received a DVD with the pictures that Bobby took with the company's camera (a digital SLR) that got some extra pictures we didn't get on our own camera. It was really nice to have some extra higher-quality photos so that we had our pick of what looked the best to send out to family and friends! I've attached a few pictures we shot with our camera so you can get an idea of what you'll be getting to see and experience.

All in all, it was $100 per person, but we both said it was worth it at twice the price!! My new bride and I agreed that this was ABSOLUTELY one of highlights of our trip, and we highly recommend that *anyone* staying in the Tahoe area for a holiday take this trip. I'd love do a repeat of this trip with Keith and his company in the summer, just to see the differences in pictures, but also because we know we would be getting such a quality service.
Written January 27, 2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

aprkontra
Las Vegas, NV161 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Couples
Tahoe Phototours was AMAZING.

The Tour transcended the entire Tahoe experience.
Regardless if your a novice (using an iPhone) or experienced photographer (using a high end camera) you will come out of this tour with so much information, knowledge along with a great appreciation of the Beauty of Lake Tahoe.

The Tour is Covid Safe
You follow your guide in your own car from spot to spot.

Our guide was Keith & he is filled with great stories about Tahoe and his Knowledge & Love of the area makes the whole experience very special.

The day starts early to avoid the crowds & it’s worth it - it allows a bit of privacy for intimate photo ops & Keith knows the BEST Spots - off the beaten track from the crowds.

Note: on the tour there’s some walking involved to get to the locations but nothing strenuous or difficult.

If your a photography buff Keith has an extensive knowledge for the best camera settings for each location - Keith works the settings to take the best/perfect shot by adjusting and taking sample shots to get it just right for that moment.
(The photos that your guide takes will be emailed to you)

Tour Info:
There are two tours available, half day and full day - so plan to take your time, it’s worth it.
The guide provided us water and snacks - so if you’re thirsty or need a quick snack that have that covered.

We took the 1/2 day and our tour ended with a lunch at a restaurant that the guide took us to - we had such a great time.

I can’t thank Tahoe Phototours enough for an extremely Special Day & Magical Experience.

To be honest this was one of the best tours my wife and I have ever taken !

Thank you Keith and Robin
Written October 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Tahoe Photographic Tours guest, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It's appreciated when your guide is well-versed in photographic skills. and Covid requirements. He also knew about. great places to dine. Thank you again. Looking forward to seeing you sometime in the future.
Written October 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mylang2001
Austin, TX45 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2018 • Family
We book a tour for a family of 5 and paid almost $1000 for it, would expect way more than just normal spot that every tourist can find. Nothing special about any spot and photos came out as the same to what we will take from our phone or even worst than that. We received photos in timely manner, which around 1 week. However, with 5 of us and we received 105 photos with horrible photoshop color compare from our phone photos we took ourselves. All edited photos came out pretty bad. Definitely not worth what you paid for.

I would suggest that you just google most famous photo spot in Lake Tahoe and do it yourself will be much better than book this tour.
Written January 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Tahoe Photographic Tours guest, I’m sorry you felt the pictures weren”t what you expected. There was no Photoshop used whatsoever. I did spent extensive time reediting your pictures so they were exactly how you wanted them. The pictures were never even opened. We took your party to the same spectacular locations that we take all of our guests. I’m extremely sorry that the tour fell short of your expectations.
Written January 18, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Virginia B
Tampa, FL9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2015 • Family
What an amazing day spent with Doug, our guide and photographer. he was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and was laid back enough for my 15 year old son to find him "wise" and cool. I chose this because of the rave reviews, and they are spot on. I'm not a photographer, and this was such a treat. The places he showed us were simply incredible, and we highly recommend this tour if you get a chance.
Written March 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 644

Tahoe Photographic Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All South Lake Tahoe HotelsSouth Lake Tahoe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
All things to do in South Lake Tahoe
Day Trips in South Lake Tahoe
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars