We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Stone Winery

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Must visit

Had a wonderful time at Broken Stone Winery this afternoon. Of all the wineries we visited in the... read more

Reviewed February 17, 2019
ashleveque
via mobile
Great wine, great fun

We stopped at Broken Stone at the end of a long day walking between wineries. Carlee and Erica were... read more

Reviewed November 17, 2018
benkF2860FE
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
All photos (20)
All photos (20)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good35%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“take home”(3 reviews)
“wine maker”(3 reviews)
About
Broken Stone Winery is a small, family-owned winery in Prince Edward County. We provide a relaxing, genuine environment to taste our delicious VQA wines and to learn about winemaking and grape-growing.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
524 Closson Rd, Hillier, Ontario K0K 2J0, Canada
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
17
11
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
17
11
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take home wine maker friendly staff great wine wine tasting simplicity riesling wineries grapes winery pec winemaker
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

Had a wonderful time at Broken Stone Winery this afternoon. Of all the wineries we visited in the County this is by far my favourite - an opportunity to speak with the wine maker himself while sampling some of their delicious wines. The Pinot Noir...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank ashleveque
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

We stopped at Broken Stone at the end of a long day walking between wineries. Carlee and Erica were such fun hostesses, giving great insight to how the winery is run but also keeping great company and having great conversation. We had a ton of...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank benkF2860FE
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Recently stopped here with a group of friends on a bike tour. This winery was such fun and had delicious wines. We were taken into the cellar for our wine tastings, and our host was so passionate and knowledgeable about his wines. We enjoyed talking...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank cctraveller
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to Broken Stone Winery. It was a busy Saturday afternoon so there was a bit of a wait to taste the wine however the live music and fluffy sheep were great distractions until it was our turn to try the wine.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Brooklintraveler_12
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Really enjoyed this modest winery, which we discovered later, had just gone to winter weekend hours and could have shooed us away. Don't be scared of the dog, who turns out to friendly. And the winemaker? Even friendlier. Had their wine with dinner later, liked...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank pagesix
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Such a fun visit to the BSW harvest party. Tastings, music, warm friendly owners and their team on hand to talk about the vines and winemaking all made for a great visit. We tasted local cheeses and stomped grapes. Estate chardonnay and Pinot Noir were...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Kate M
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Broken Stone Winery is a small but cute winery , but the wine tasting is expensive. It was $7.00 and you only get the fee waved if you purchase 2 bottles. Most winery fees are $3.00 -5.00 with the fee waved with one bottle. I...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank janceyjh
Reviewed September 24, 2018

I don't know how to say this nicely so let's just say it... This wine was some of the worst wine I've ever had, I could barely get it down and shocking that they charge 3/$7 which most other wineries are 3/$5 which I would...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank worldtraveller0202
Tim K, Owner at Broken Stone Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hello WorldTraveller0202: Thank you for coming to our winery and taking the time to provide your opinion and to write a review. I appreciate that, and I am sorry you didn't have the first class experience I am striving to provide. If you have the...More

Reviewed September 24, 2018

We stumbled upon Broken Stone while visiting other wineries along Closson road. We were welcomed right away and enjoy sampling the variety of wines. A must stop if you are in the area!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank KevAmanda
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Me and my girlfriend went on Wednesday afternoon for the tasting. The place is beautiful and very welcoming. Even better is the excellent service that we recieved from Carlee for the wine tasting! (Note to the owners : Carlee is a keeper) And to top...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Bastien C
Tim K, Owner at Broken Stone Winery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Hi Bastien, Yes, Carlee is a charming lady. We are so fortunate to have a wonderful team in our tasting room. Thanks for the positive feedback about the wine, I really appreciate it. I hope you find time to visit again. Cheers Tim Kuepfer Proprietor...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
518 reviews
8.03 miles away
Bayside Motel
109 reviews
9.98 miles away
Travelodge Trenton
433 reviews
10.04 miles away
The Waring House
527 reviews
10.41 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Enid Grace Cafe
120 reviews
3.97 miles away
East & Main Bistro
684 reviews
4.00 miles away
Midtown Brewing Company
113 reviews
3.98 miles away
Drake Devonshire
884 reviews
4.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 23 nearby attractions
Closson Chase Vineyard
66 reviews
.37 miles away
The Old Third Vineyard
24 reviews
.68 miles away
Lacey Estates Winery
15 reviews
.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Broken Stone Winery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines