The Hop & Rye

The Hop & Rye, Bromley: Hours, Address, The Hop & Rye Reviews: 3.5/5

The Hop & Rye
3.5
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM

3.5
34 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
6
Average
5
Poor
4
Terrible
7

KEITH H
London, UK1,449 contributions
Now closed permanently !
May 2019 • Solo
Used to visit The Hop and Rye occasionally. Was always a friendly place with cheap beer and food.

Unfortunately, walked past yesterday and found it has now CLOSED PERMANENTLY !

Another long standing pub gone, although customers had seemed to be in decline over the past few months probably moving to the Wetherspoon down the road.
Written May 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cosycaravaner
Studley, UK159 contributions
Ok
May 2019 • Couples
Ok bar with good selection of drinks. Lovely barmaid. Visited on the Saturday evening and it was busy. Returned on the Sunday to watch the football. Ran out of gas for the Stella, ordered a fish finger sandwich and requested no sauce. It came smothered in tar tar sauce so sent back. They apologised and made me a fresh one. However cardboard thin fish fingers, no lettuce and stale rolls so would not recommend the food! Then found out the pub has been sold to a property developer so won’t be around for long. Shame as in good location for the travel lodge.
Written May 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marg B
Blackpool, UK213 contributions
Worst rump steak I ever had!
Aug 2018 • Couples
Definitely a sports pub. There are about 6 large screens throughout the pub. Not the best appointed place. A bit scruffy. It was close to the Travelodge (across the road in fact) and we'd driven a long way. Went for dinner around 7pm. Not too busy. My husband ordered fish and chips which he said was OK. Batter a bit thick but otherwise fine. I ordered the rump steak. I can honestly say it was like shoe leather. I could hardly cut through it. It was very tough - I left most of it. The chips a d veg were fine. The wine was very good as was the beer. Maybe I came on the chef's off day! Sorry we will not be back. Have a 2 as the beer and wine was good and my husband's meal OK.
Written August 28, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Marg, Thank you for your feedback which we always welcome. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your meal, should you have let us know at the time we would have happily changed your steak or offered you an alternative. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wine and beer
Written August 30, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

michaelgigg
London, UK2 contributions
Best pub burger i’ve ever had
Jun 2018 • Friends
title says it all, great pub, great atmosphere, pool, roulette machines and a burger this good on a Friday night. 10/10
Written June 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely comments.We look forward to seeing you again General Manager
Written June 23, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

stewartmarion235
Lanzarote, Spain21 contributions
Great afternoon
Jun 2018 • Solo
I came in today a lovely lady called Naomi served me and also brought my food out. I also saw her helping an elderly couple she is a asset to the company and so refreshing to see. The food was lovely I ordered fish with salad had a couple of drinks while sitting outside in the sunshine with my book. Had a lovely afternoon and will be back again.
Written June 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely comments which I have related to Naomi. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again
Written June 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mandy19882018
London, UK12 contributions
Great place
Jan 2018 • Family
This pub is friendly and welcoming especially if you have young children like I do.
Their kids menu is great just the right amount of choice for children and the portions are ideal.
Main menu is good value and didn't wait too long for food.
Nice relaxed atmosphere will come again!
Written January 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Written January 23, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rory J
1 contribution
Home from Home
Jan 2018 • Solo
I’d like to thank the management and the staff for looking after me amazing well. I very luckily stumbled this place just over a year ago whilst working away. I have regularly used this pub and would highly recommend it to all and with it’s handy location opposite the London Bromley Travelodge it ideal to get out for the evening. With a good variety of food and drink available this place is well worth a visit!!
Written January 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely comments...It's nice to know that you feel we are a home from home whilst you are working away...
Written January 20, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

martinb57
London, UK26 contributions
Worse Sunday lunch ever
Jan 2018 • Couples
We phoned to see if we needed to book they said no they could fit us in.when we got there the place was pretty empty so we thought we would just order the Sunday roast.it was possibly the worst food I have ever seen I have a dog at home and I would not have put it in a bag and given it to him.my wife stopped me complaining to the manager and said we should just leave.the barmaid told us it was her first day she was very nice don't think she will stay lone.ok for a pint and watch football but I think they should stick to crisps and peanuts..
Written January 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your meal.I understand that you did not give our team member an opportunity to address your complaints because if you had we most certainly would have dealt with this situation. If you would like to discuss this matter please contact to me on 07980723376. We strive very hard to make sure our customers are happy with our service and the products we deliver Patricia Bowers (General Manager )
Written January 15, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ukbear
Walnut Creek, CA79 contributions
Great local pub for comfort food
Oct 2017 • Couples
We went to this pub two or three times. It was terribly convenient being right across the street from our hotel. Atmosphere was mostly locals but the staff were very friendly and nice. We even met the lady who cooked our meals! Food was your standard pub grub with a few other things thrown in, such as the pasty or the cheese and leek tart which was excellent. Very affordable. Hot and fresh food. Will go back the next time we are there. Great outdoor space when the weather is nice.
Written November 8, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ola Z
London, UK7 contributions
The worst food in the area
Nov 2017 • Couples
Please don’t eat there. The meat was very dry and barely edible. Fish and chips with no fish, just the skin and a lot of greasy crust.
Written November 5, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing