We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chabo Africa Safaris

Features Animals
Iringa, Tanzania
More
About Chabo Africa Safaris
Southern Tanzania is glorious and off the beaten track, away from the crowds of tourists and the sound of other safari vehicles. Here you will find wildlife undisturbed by human interaction in a place where time has stood still....The Heart of Africa With Chabo, you will travel with guides who have combined experience of 25 years in the safari business. We organize your complete safari package including transport, accommodation, guide, cooks and porters. We can explore all of Southern Tanzania's outstanding parks with you. with one of four big cheetah populations left in East Africa as well as one-tenth of all the lions left in Sub-Saharan Africa and supporting the third largest population of African wild dogs, Southern Tanzania is unforgettable!
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Chabo Africa Safaris

1-Day Isimila stone age site

In the late 1950s, amid a dramatic landscape of eroded sandstone pillars, archaeologists unearthed one of the most significant Stone Age finds ever identified. Tools found at the site – hammerstones, axeheads, flints and scrapers – are estimated to be between 60,000 and 100,000 years old. There’s a museum with small, well-captioned displays highlighting some of the discoveries. Isimila is signposted off the Mbeya road to the left, about 21km southwest of Iringa.
Read more
1 day
from $77.00

7-Day Ruaha an Amazing Adventure Safari of the Southern

Ruaha National Park was gazetted in earl 50’s covering an area of 10300kmsq, the main reason was to protect Miombo woodland. Miombo are very technical; they are characterized by two different species of trees (Julbernardia and Brachystagia) Miombo in-housing different type of wildlife. The park extended in terms of size to conserve and protect main water catchment site of Ruaha to insure sustainable water flow for the wildlife and serves as water catchment of the great ruaha river from drying.
Read more
7 days
from $3,800.00

1-Day Ruaha National Park

Ruaha is a wonderful National Park beautifully situated along the fertile Ruaha River in a hilly landscape, dotted with centuries old baobabs. Despite the fact that you can view all the animals of the popular Serengeti and Ngorongoro, Ruaha is visited less often. Experience the peace with the nature, seeing only a handful of other cars per day.
Read more
1 day
from $400.00

3-Day Selous Game Reserve the Jungle of Africa

The vast and remaining Jungle of Africa, Selous Game Reserve is a spectacular game viewing park with superb African vistas. Located in southern Tanzania, a trip to this park allows you to learn in-depth knowledge about complex ecosystems and diverse creatures that are usually skimmed over in more crowded areas.
Read more
3 days
from $700.00

3-Day Ruaha National Park Safari Experience

Discover magnificent wildlife along the Ruaha River during a 3-day, private safari in Ruaha National Park. On daily game drives, you’ll search for the big cats, giraffe, buffalo, hippos, and hundreds of bird species that live here. Since Ruaha National Park is much less visited than popular Ngorongoro and Serengeti, exploring is the opportunity for a classic safari wildlife experience without big crowds and lines of vehicles.
Read more
3 days
from $660.00
65Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 55
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AbidMarwat wrote a review Dec 2019
Islamabad, Pakistan55 contributions10 helpful votes
Amazing experience to see wild animal in an natural and open enviormnment, one must visit this place , i can say it is something value addition to your trip
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Modest2013, Owner at Chabo Africa Safaris
Responded Dec 5, 2019
Its a life time experience to explore the beauty and the life of wild animals enjoying their natural environment.
Read more
Nancy W wrote a review Aug 2019
Hoi An, Vietnam8 contributions2 helpful votes
What do you want for a Safari: White tablecloth? Infinetypools? Being one of the many? We didn't, so we went with Chabo to Ruaha Park and took four full days to be able to get to know animals, nature and the landscape. That's what we came for. Chabo provided a great local guide/driver, Gotfrid, a old but sturdy car, simple bandas at the river where Elephants eat the hay from your roof at night. Gotfrid knows every inch of the park. We did two drives/walks a day an in between we took time of to lunch and sit at the riverside, where many animals spend the afternoon as well. When - after a four day hunt - we finaly found a leopard in a tree, we asked our guide not to do what other cars did (respectlessly drive through the bush to get a closer view), and he did not. We ate at the restaurant, but if you want to, you can cook yourself at the banda's, if you bring your own supplies. We saw another group doing this. Visiting in the dry seson is very recommended (e.g. july/august/september)
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chabo A, Owner at Chabo Africa Safaris
Responded Nov 13, 2019
We really appreciate for taking your time to write such a wonderful review! We will make sure to improve our service to the highest level in future.
Read more
Samt Tours J wrote a review Aug 2019
Lusaka, Zambia2 contributions2 helpful votes
1 hour after leaving, the 4x4 broke down.. no front brakes! The driver tried to fix it just enough to keep going which meant driving in second gear for the entire journey. A 2 hour trip turned into a 5 hours trip which was just to the park entrance. The driver took the car to a mechanic after our game drive, which was limited to just 1.5 hrs due to our late arrival, but had no luck so we continued with no front brakes. On the way back, one of the doors almost fell off and the driver had to secure it using rubber strap. We had to stop every 40 minutes as something else went wrong (low oil pressure, refill leaking radiator). Eventually the car died and we continued our return in a taxi. We wasted another 5 hours getting back to our hotel. Ann from the agency agreed to compensate each customer USD 50 each, which amounted to USD 200 as we were 4. But as it was a Saturday and she had no cash and we were leaving Iringa, she agreed with the Mama Pizza Iringa Hotel, where we were staying, to deliver the $200 first thing Monday morning which would go towards our accommodation bill. This never happened, the hotel manager (Richard) called her and went to see her in the office but no money.. always offering another excuse. We tried to contact her but she refused to answer. Eventually we gave up and transferred the money to Richard so at least the hotel was not out of pocket. This company cannot be trusted and their service was absolutely terrible as was their unsafe vehicles. As for Ann and the way she managed this situations, she should be ashamed of herself. You can confirm this info with Richard at Mama Iringa Pizza Hotel.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Chabo A, Owner at Chabo Africa Safaris
Responded Nov 11, 2019
Reading your review made me feel very sorry of myself and the company. Though there's nothing I can do so far but reaching to the point of disqualifying my company regardless to the breakdown of vehicle and to be compensated with $50, the company was able to refund that. Breakdown of vehicle is something that we can not guarantee that it won't happen. The road condition is very bad that can lead to anything. Thank you to the driver who managed to drive you back safe but at the end you were rescued with a small car that was available at that time. Regarding to the way you were treated with Anna during this tragedy, was unfair but there was other levels of management that you would have followed. We have created the company reputation for the past 4 years and we have excellent reviews from people who trust in us. Our company is trusted and we will continue providing a best service to all of our customers.
Read more
Jude P wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We innocently bought and paid cash for a 2 day safari to Ruaha National Park ! We were picked up Mama Iringa lodge Italian restaurant for the exciting safari ! Very late and then it all began ! The landrover (vehicle ) was a disgrace unsafe to say the least ! We had no brakes a quarter of the into the trip . Hence the driver tried to fix with a rolled up plastic bag ! Then another came along another driver that supposedly helped . On we went and eventually arrived at the park . So late that no lunch was organized which was included ! Waited and eventually the disgusting food came as the cook was drunk and continued to be drunk and unorganised for the one full day there . However we did see some animals. Drive back to Iringa at about 20 k’s . There were 6 of us not very happy people ! The french couple got a refund of many hours in the office and were told we get a refund . So to this day they have delivered nothing ! They agreed to pay our bill at Mama Iringa, local Italian lodge and restaurant which included tips for staff . So all in all we have travelled all over the world and have never experienced anything like this . So strongly recommend not to use this company and apart from anything else the unsafe vehicles .
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Santi R wrote a review Jul 2019
Marseille, France9 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked a 2-week safari package, including Selous, Mikumi, Ruaha and Udzungwa. In summary, we have mixed feelings about Chabo. On the one hand, the trip went well with the lodges and Safari guides and also sometimes with the Chabo staff. On the other hand, Chabo has not been able to establish a real relationship of trust. For example, they lied to us several times about the reasons for the absence of our guide after three days of safari. The car they had for us broke down and instead of openly informing us of the solutions they were considering, they strangely preferred to say that the guide had had a personal problem. Fortunately, the people of Selous' first lodge, Mpingo Lodge, took over, including Selous' visit (read our opinion on this highly recommended lodge). Chabo then rented a cheap open car (without seat belts) to take us from Selous to Mikumi and finally join our guide. It would have made sense to have a closed and safer car (probably more expensive too) to drive for seven hours on dusty and dangerous roads. Later, without explanation either, they replaced a correct car, which we only kept for two days, with another car in quite poor condition. Most of Chabo's good reviews are certainly well deserved, but it would be a pity if the reputation they have built up over the years were to begin to fall apart through a certain lack of respect and consideration for customers. Apart from that, Tanzania and its people are wonderful.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous