We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Ayampe
Post
Inbox
Search
About Otra Ola
Otra Ola is a casual, relaxed school for travelers interested in getting closer to the authentic way of life in Ecuador. We offer the opportunity to learn Spanish, practice Yoga and surf in an idyllic setting that both enjoys and respects the vast ocean and the lush environment here in the southern coastal area of Ecuador.Otra Ola not only offers Spanish, Surf and Yoga, we now have an Organic Café. All of our food is made with fresh locally grown produce. Ecuador is known not only internationally for its irresistible roasted coffee beans but also for its cocoa. All of our chocolate delights are made with this mouth watering treat. We serve only the best Organic Coffee to our clients. If you are in the mood for a Chai, Latte, Expresso, iced Coffee, Tea whatever you need to fill your caffeine fix you can find it here. We also serve fresh Hummus made daily. Our menu may be small but it is always changing; don't hesitate to stop by everyday and see what we are creating. At Otra Ola we believe you are what you eat!!
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Travelers talk about
Improve This Listing

Otra Ola
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
82
10
3
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
82
10
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga classes spanish lessons bliss balls great coffee organic coffee chai tea juice ice cream the owner great surf two days good vibes hidden gem via email takes place homemade granola bars quiet place
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 100 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2019 via mobile

We were asked to keep our laughing kids quiet for the people studying. So we just left. The chai was good but the kombucha was too strong. The sweets looked good but we didn’t get to try because we didn’t feel welcome. Felt like Starbucks....More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank jilapagos
Canada111110, Owner at Otra Ola, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2019

I am sorry you felt this way. We are a spanish school as well a cafe and want to provide the best service we can. In December we will be moving to a new location that is beach front and will have a separate space...More

Reviewed September 1, 2019

Nothing to do with the yoga that happens in the same space, but the cinnamon buns were fabulous, and the coffee was pretty good too. A very restful interlude. Helpful Edmontonian owner (spot the Oilers magnet on the 'fridge!) and reasonable prices.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank yycyycyyc
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

We tried lots of things, all of which were amazing. The coffee, papaya juice, the artesanal icecream, tea and of course the delicious cinammon buns! The cafe is really cozy by the way...

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank dqbzrh
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Very disappointed as we tried to go here for coffee as closing time said 7pm on the website but all shut up and in darkness... will just have to come back another time!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ljc707
Canada111110, Owner at Otra Ola, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

I am very sorry that you came when we were closed. We were having a staff party and closed early so everyone could attend. We hope that you guys come back again. Safe travels

Reviewed March 24, 2019

Otra Ola is a HIDDEN GEM in Ayampe, Ecuador. Ryan & Vanessa, the owners, provide you with: --> I tried all of it! If you have any Questions - let me know :) \\ CAFÉ&CO .. a cute and very quiet place, sorrounded by green,...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Lisa G
Reviewed March 23, 2019

Originally what was meant to be a one month stay in Ayampe, turned into two months after discovering this place. Otra Ola offers surf spanish and yoga classes, I opted for all three as part of their package deal. Having never surfed before I wasn't...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank acdonnelly
Reviewed February 6, 2019

I was very excited for my time in Ayampe, mainly for all the activities I signed up for with Otra Ola (Yoga/Spanish/Surf). I paid the first 50% deposit a few months before my arrival. The week before getting to Ayampe, I followed up with the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank CanadaEm24
Canada111110, Owner at Otra Ola, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

The reason for the confusion with the money was you insisted on paying the 2nd payment before arriving and i told you i would send you the form to make the payment when you arrive and you didnt listen and went forward and paid the...More

Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

I was taking Spanish classes here and surfing lessons. Both thing beyond my expectations. Rayan the host has a lot to tell and shares his love for Ayampe. Really welcoming atmosphere and good coffee. There is yoga at 9 but I never tried)

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 322dimaa
Canada111110, Owner at Otra Ola, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2019

Thank you so much for the review. As travellers ourselves we want to provide the most quality services we can. To give the best experience possible. Enjoy the rest of our travels :)

Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

Quiet space, no shoes, WiFi, no rush, wonderful muffins and great coffee. We sat for over an hour and sipped our coffee. Owner was friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Ray5823
Canada111110, Owner at Otra Ola, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Thank you so much for the review. We do our best to provide a tranquil space. We are blessed to have a great staff and volunteers that really make Otra Ola the place it is.

Reviewed October 15, 2018

The organic coffee it is the best I have ever drunk. The staff is really friendly, the yoga teachers, the waiters, the surf instructor and more. Thank you for everything.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ander G
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Otra Ola staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines