Otra Ola
8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Otra Ola is a casual, relaxed school for travellers interested in getting closer to the authentic way of life in Ecuador. We offer the opportunity to learn Spanish, practice Yoga and surf in an idyllic setting that both enjoys and respects the vast ocean and the lush environment here in the southern coastal area of Ecuador. Otra Ola not only offers Spanish, Surf and Yoga classes, we also welcome Yoga retreats, Yoga Teacher trainings and host events in our big woden and bamboo shala. Please feel free to get in touch!
Ayampe, Ecuador

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Otra Ola
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(14 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
129 reviews
Excellent
98
Very good
21
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
5

Cerisa O
Uppsala, Sweden12 contributions
Dec 2019 • Friends
Our surfing lesson with otra ola was wonderful- The teacher was very experienced and gave good tips. We practiced on the beach first then spent some time in the water practicing. We had originally booked a lesson at 10 AM, but when we arrived there was some confusion and our instructor was not available until 2:30 PM. Luckily, Ayampe is a quaint town on the beach, so we were able to go for a nice walk and enjoy a complementary coffee while we waited. We would recommend confirming your lesson at least one day in advance in case your schedule is not as flexible.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I apologize about the confusion of the surf class time but really appreciate your understaning. We have just moved locations and were getting into the flow of the new beach front location. Thanks again. Safe travels.
Written January 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Don R
Calgary, Canada4 contributions
Feb 2022
Ellen and I stayed in Ayampe for 5 wonderful weeks, Jan.20 to Mar.7, 2022. Otra Ola is located on the beach in the centre of Ayampe and was the focal point for our activities. Genesis and Margarita were excellent Spanish teachers. Mateo and Camilo are amazing surfers and helped me a lot with my skills (the big waves can be tough as you move from beginner to intermediate). The various yoga instructors we had were engaging and talented. Ryan had great advice for us in finding what we needed in Ayampe, the region, and beyond. They are flexible. Nice cafe. I recommend this place. Don R.
Written May 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dulce
Arcata, CA2 contributions
Mar 2021 • Solo
I was planning a trip to Ecuador and looking for a place I could practice yoga by the beach while working remotely online. Otra Ola in Ayampe popped up as an option on my search and after reading the description of Ayampe it sounded like an interesting place to check out. I didn’t want to commit my whole 5 week trip until after I arrived, so I just booked for 12 days. I think it took me a few days to unwind from traveling, but knew pretty quickly that I had picked an amazing place to spend my time. The location of Otra Ola is perfect and my beach front cabaña looked out to the beach and ocean with a small table on the deck where I set up my home office with the best view. I not only stayed my whole 5 week trip, I extended an additional 2 weeks! I’m surprised I finally left. What made my stay incredible was the people, the yoga, the next door cafe with healing vibes Pacha Manna, and the lively community of Ayampe. I made some lifetime friends, ate amazing food, and practiced yoga almost every day. The yoga is incredible and each teacher has a special style. Lucile’s Mandala flow is strong and I loved the sweat and smiles and always left that class on a cloud. Julie’s class brought wisdom, intention, and spirit to my practice on and off the mat. Vanessa started a pranayama class while I was there and the breath work and philosophy is transformative and healing. I miss them all already while I wait to board my plane home, and the only reason I’m not crying is that I know I will be back soon.
Written March 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

M B
7 contributions
Dec 2021
Spanish lessons were excellent. Surf instruction was also excellent and the surfing there has lots of variety and seems to be surfable every day. Mateo was a fabulous instructor.
Ayampe is a laid back town with decent restaurants, but not a lot to do other than relax. There is no grocery store in town or bank machine. But is has a great vibe.
Negative was that we were told we would have a beachside room and ended up with a roadside room that would probably get quite hot on hot days. The yoga area was also closed the entire time as there was teacher training going on. This meant the cafe was also closed (lots of alternatives in town).
So great spot, relaxed vibe, but that might result in you getting not everything you were thinking.
Written February 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jitka
Miami3 contributions
May 2021 • Solo
Thank you Otra Ola for wonderful Spanish Classes. My teacher was Dennise young lovely lady that is easy to converse with and has good structure to her lessons. I left with good foundation to built on and encouraged to go on and keep practicing.
Nice welcoming environment and cafe where you can pick delicious beverage or sweet treat.
Easy to schedule classes in your convenience and time frame.

Thank you Dennise for teaching me not only the language but also sharing about culture, Ecuador and giving me some cooking tips.
Written May 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Adam774
Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador4 contributions
Jul 2014 • Solo
I spent 4 weeks in Ayampe and the Spanish and surf classes are very good. Ryan and Vanessa are great hosts and I really enjoyed spending time with them. Ryan is a really good surf instructor and is partial to a beer or two which he always invited me to share with him. Otra Ola is a great place and I can not recommend it enough.
Written August 22, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

rastasascha
Bernese Oberland, Switzerland2 contributions
Jan 2015
rented a old surfboard for 95$ (previously broken, dented and with several patches)
When i brought it back, non of the owners where there, even it was my third attempt to bring it back.So a left it with some staff from the cafe.When i was there for the 6th time(the second day after!) to pay and retrieve my passport, they claimed a hole in the rear of the board and asked for a extra 15 bucks. I sad that this would be normal wear and tear on a old surfboard. (I took very good care of the board) I also mentioned that, if it happend during my possession, it could be when the string, connecting the leash to the board ripped.(Even i caught up with the board before it hit shore). She claimed the string was brand new! So she insisted unless i wanna come back again! to discuss the matter with Brian. I sad that i want to leave and that i was here enough times. Her replay was, that they were actually there, when i claimed to try to bring the board back the first two times.
Conclusion: I am just a idiot, who likes to carry the surfboard around forwards and backwards; who happens to have bad luck that the brand new connection string broke and by not willing to return another time payed something for the sake of peace (and my passport).
So, get lost you two... and to anyone rent a board there, i recommend to check your board closely and clarify the rental terms
Written February 12, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I would first like to clarify that we have hours of operation and we were here during those time. I apologize that you came when we were closed and we weren't here. In this specific situation we had to go to the doctor in Guayaquil. The following day while we were gone we had a our surf instructor taking board returns. You were asked to wait 10mins for the surf instructor, and you declined saying you would come back later. When one of the owners checked the board, it was discovered that there was a hole in the tail. This hole was significant and normally would cost $20, in the end you paid $5. If you had such a problem with the board and its condition why did you rent it for 7 days? I am not sure where else you have rented from but anywhere else in the world it is your responsibility to return the board in the same condition it was rented out. I am sorry that you feel so cheated, that was never our goal. We charge for repairs in order to keep our boards well maintained. We never rent out damaged boards or leashes and always provide wax and rashguards. Despite what happened when you returned the board, we hope that you enjoyed the surf board and your time in the water.
Written February 18, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

garrydick
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia5 contributions
Aug 2014 • Friends
My friend and I have spent one week in Ayampe stuyding Spanish and practicing Yoga at Otra Ola, the teachers for both were fantastic. Ryan and Vanessa are super friendly and accommodating and more than happy to help out with advice on local attractions, surfing and transport connections.

A great choice away from the noise and craziness of Montanita, we cannot recommend Otra Ola highly enough.
Written August 5, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

thomas2407
London14 contributions
Apr 2014 • Friends
I spent three weeks learning Spanish at Otra Ola. It is great value for money and I think you'd be hard-pressed to find cheaper one-on-one private lessons in Ecuador. Vanessa, the Canadian owner, is very helpful; I was impressed by her and so signed up.

They sell delicious ginger tea and muffins, as well as smoothies. The large covered cafe is a pleasant and peaceful place to spend time.

I had two teachers, both were young girls from the surrounding area. Neither had bags of experience but were both very pleasant and friendly. I was there to improve my conversational Spanish so this suited me to the ground and we just chatted away. However, if you are after advanced grammar then I think the lessons might be a bit basic; I asked a few grammatical questions and received confused, unsatisfactory answers.

On two occasions my teachers failed to show up. On the second occasion I waited for 45 minutes before leaving. The owners (Ryan and Vanessa) were out in town and so I had no way to contact my teacher to find out what was happening. Ryan turned up to my house an hour after the lesson had been due to start and said my teacher had arrived; he expected me to return. Without accepting personal responsibility (as a manager ought to) he told me the teachers aren't paid very much so I shouldn't expect them to be on time, some of them have to come a long way and that if they miss a bus then they have to wait half an hour for the next one. Perhaps he should pay them more! Like I said, the lessons are so cheap and I would rather pay an extra dollar an hour to ensure my teacher was present when the lesson was due to start.

Ryan then caused great offence to my Ecuadorian wife by telling me (in front of her): "You know what Latins are like? They're always late." Unsurprisingly my wife was absolutely furious and felt she had been racially abused. I diffused the situation but defended my wife. I really don't think Ryan intended to be racist but he needs to be more careful - particularly because he is living and working in a Latin country. It's a lazy stereotype.

I really liked Ryan and Vanessa and I think their business model is very clever and deserves to succeed. However, the lesson no-shows were annoying and Ryan's behaviour was very unprofessional and needs addressing. It's a small thing, but for example I drank two teas and ate one muffin in the wasted time waiting for my teachers to arrive. Perhaps the least he could have done was remove these items from my final bill?

Finally, on a note of social conscience, I would advise every customer at Otra Ola to insist on a factura (the obligatory tax receipt in Ecuador). On two occasions I asked Ryan for my factura and was told he did not have. It was all a bit awkward so I did not press it further. But these are so important to the local area and are the only way the considerably poorer local population will ever see any benefits from richer foreign immigrants moving into town and setting up businesses.
Written July 3, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tom thank you for taking the time to review Otra Ola. It is a shame that this is the first we are hearing of your discontentment with the spanish classes. We have a variety of teachers who are able to teach all levels of spanish. We would of done our best to find a teacher that better suited your needs. We are happy that you enjoyed the treats from the cafe. Thank you for spending some time with us.
Written July 8, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Canadiantravel
19 contributions
Oct 2017
My partner and I visited Ayampe in late October. Being the off season, we did not know what to expect as Ayampe is a tiny town off the coast of Ecuador with limited resources. We were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled across Oltra Ola. Not only were the staff and owners genuine, friendly and helpful but they offered us everything we could need to stay occupied for our 5 day stay. The owners of Oltra Ola are Canadians who have lived in Ayampe for 10 years now and started a family there. They are welcoming, warm and involved in their business and community.

Every morning at 9AM they have a yoga class that runs for 1.5 hours and is $10/class or 5 for $45. The classes are either run by a volunteer or by Vanessa, one of the owners. We had our classes taught to us by Lucille, a European volunteer and absolutely LOVED them. Next we would do surf lessons taught by Mike (I believe there are many surf instructors) and were delighted by his patience, kindness and expertise. Surf lessons were $50 for 2 days including rash guard and board rental, after the two days you are able to rent a board on your own. After surf lessons we would head back to Oltra Ola for Spanish lessons for 2 hours. These are taught by Ecuadorean locals who are professional, patient and thorough. Oltra Ola serves coffee, tea and snacks but does not serve full meals as to not take business away from the local restaurants. I suggest to try the Chai Tea Latte and the granola bar, all homemade and delicious and lounge in one of the many hammocks set up around the perimeter of the cafe.

After travelling around Ecuador for one month this has been the most legitimate and enjoyable South American experience yet. If you miss out of Ayampe and Oltra Ola, you are missing out on a lot.
Written October 29, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 104

Otra Ola (Ayampe) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go