Museo Subacuático de Arte
Museo Subacuático de Arte
4
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 2:30 PM
About
MUSA ( The Underwater Museum of Art) is an underwater museum located in the National Marine Park in Cancun and Isla Mujeres area. MUSA contains over 500 sculptures of six different artists. The sculptures provide areas for coral growth and contribute to give shelter for fish and other organisms. The museum may be viewed by diving, snorkeling, or glass bottom boat ."The Art of Conservation" is the reason this Non Profit Organization.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Museo Subacuático de Arte

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles837 reviews
Excellent
438
Very good
199
Average
130
Poor
45
Terrible
25

grouchy old retired guy
68 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Couples
The statues are about 30 feet below the surface so any details are lost when snorkeling. If coral is growing over the statues you can’t see it. I thought we were skipping this because of the depth but some folks really wanted to see it so we did. I would have been happy with a second drift snorkel near the lighthouse. Also no fish to see.
Written June 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

alimack77
70 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 • Couples
We booked for the glass bottom boat tour and we expected to be taken a tour of the many statues in the park area. We only saw three from a distance at speed. The tour was clinical without any time to enjoy the surrounds. The sound system on the glass bottom boat was almost torturous and add in a few small children - the noise was horrendous. I would not recommend this tour at all, very much a waste of money. Could be so much better!
Written May 21, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cynthia H
Washington DC, DC7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022 • Friends
I tried to reserve the glass bottom tour of MUSA from the MUSA website. They were happy to charge me but I am still waiting for my confirmation (5 days later). When I saw I had not received anything, I tried to reach them through their website (they had no contact phone) and they claimed that I never reached them. I did not even know where to go pick up the boat. It feels like a huge scam to take advantage of tourists.
Written March 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

leethecuz
aussie travelling61 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2012 • Couples
This is the worst thing I have ever paid for and done anyway. First of all, what you see online and what you see in reality are two different things, this is no exception. This is like when you meet a 'hot' chick online and when you meet in real life it turns out shes just good at employing different camera angles and professional photographers.

The whole snorkelling was over with in a matter of minutes, we saw one vw beetle and a couple of chessboard looking stage areas with what looked like really crap terrocotta warrior style statues.

Thats it? I asked. Afterall when I googled it and read about it online, it was amazing. Rest assured, its rubbish. The only savior of the whole experiance was the jet boat ride, if it was not for that, I would of demanded my money back. The jet boat experiance made the day not be a total rip off but I came here to snorkel and see a vast, awesome underwater museum, the jet boat should of been a nice add on not the highlight (only one) of the day.

No one on the boat enjoyed the snokelling, no one and when I asked if anyone else had seen any sculptures or underwater museum pieces that I had not, no one had.

Honestly, please do us both a favor and DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE!!!!
Written July 27, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NCSL
Nashville, TN64 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2012 • Couples
We go to Cancun each year and almost always try a new excursion while out there. This ranks on the bottom of the list. The tour itself was boring and not worth our time. The guides were randomly following us in the water whistling at us everyone once in a while. There really was no museum, just a few man made looking statues randomly sitting in the water. The boats were difficult to park next to each other and instructions were poor. We had better tours which included swimming with dolphins, Selvatica and Jungle Tour. We will not recommend this one to others.
Written July 3, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lisa S
Manchester, UK99 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2017 • Friends
We booked this trip for ourselves and our friends as a gift to them and for us as this is something I have wanted to do for a while. We booked on and were picked up early to make our way to Cancun. We got there and paid our port fee and told our boat was the Love Cat. As soon as we got on and set off the crew came round taking photos of us all and gave a brief run down of what was going to happen throughout the day. We arrived at the spot where we were to do our first snorkel and i noticed a jelly fish in the water. I mentioned this to my husband and he laughed it off saying it was plastic another passenger then said no no its a jelly fish you should see how many there are at the front of the boat. Really wanting to see the under water museum we put on our flippers and jumped in. We swam past a couple of jelly fish but just moved away from them. After about 5 minutes the crew were telling us to swim with our heads up out of the water a bit strange as we were supposed to be snorkelling. I put my head in the water and it was like a wall of white you could not see between the jelly fish the were all over us and you could feel them bouncing off your arms and legs it was horrendous. My friend was particularly scared and said she wanted to get back on the boat she was told the crew was busy and she had to stay in the water. There were a couple of other passengers that were literally screaming which made it 10 times worse.

After about 30 minutes we got back on the boat where everyone was complaining. The crew just laughed.

We were then going to a private beach club for dinner. It was basically a fee plastic chairs and tables outside a shop and a buffet that had been in the sun for a while.

After lunch we got back on the boat and headed for down tow Mujares. We started to leave the boat and were ready fpr the scheduled 30 minute look around the shops. The crew then informed us we would be here for 2 hours. It was a very small place with half a dozen shops of which he tried to get us to go in his friends shop which was extremely expensive for cheap tat.

After a very hot 2 hours we went back to the boat. Quite a few people asked if we were now going to see the museum and they told us you saw it this morning. Mmmmm no we didnt. They left us to shop instead of letting us see the museum. I was so angry as this eas the whole point of us booking the trip. As we got back to where we were sitting there was an extremely strong smell of cannabis and it then turned into a party boat. The crew then came round with feedback forms and as quite a few people had put about missing the museum they said over the pa system if you have negative feedback keep it to yourselves we dont want to know we only want good feedback.

It was a complete waste of time and even more money. Devastated it ruined the trip.
Written November 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Lisa I am sorry about your bad experience. I would like to know the name of the tour operator that takes you there because there are lot of them that are not official, that is why is very important to reserve the tours directly with the museum. About the jelly fish, you have to consider that is open ocean and we cannot control the animals that live there. Regards
Written November 9, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephanie H
Cincinnati, OH43 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
The company who does this dive is terrible - at least the Cancun "office" is. I was asked to confirm I would be on time - 1100. I got a conformation email going on and on about the boat leaving promptly at 1130. We didn't leave till nearly 1330. It was outrageous and they would not even update you on time. In fact, you are not even able to go into the area that the company operates, instead you have to start by finding a hotel called Real Cancun. BTW: Don't ask for the cab driver to take you there. They will try to take you to one of the many RUI resorts. It's near turtle beach but on the Lagoon side fyi.
Anyway, the dive employees hide behind a gate and don't speak to you until they feel like it. No one is there greeting you or even confirming you are in the right spot. They also pull your rented gear from somewhere? And give it to you at the last minute. The dive master supposedly cleaned it for us just before we got it but he had just come off a boat from a morning dive. I could not even see a cleaning area so I was concerned about that.
The actual dive sites were very cool. The underwater museum was very neat to see. The area is not deep nor is it within a natural reef but the life taking hold on and around the statues is amazing. I believe that we did not see all the statues but we did have a full 50min of down time. The second dive was on a national reef system. It was lovely and teaming with life. A good variety of hard corals and a few soft corals. Many young fish too. We did spend a full 50 minutes there as well.

At the end of the day, I would recommend finding a different dive operator to take you to see the underwater art. It may even be in your best interest to go to Isla Mujeres first and find an operator there as the actual artworks are sunk very close to the coast of Isla Mujeres.
Written November 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeff W
Galena, IL33 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Solo
Snorkeled at Musa Museo during trip to Isla Mujeres. Quick pass by over submerged sculptures. Visibility not good and little time spent snorkeling there. Guide was interested in getting us to shore for “lunch” which turned out to be an opportunity to visit his friend’s tired trinkets. Guide service was Adventure Islands located on Hidalgo. They are real scam artists. Look for my review of them elsewhere.
Written August 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lori J
Kansas City, KS47 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2016 • Family
We did this through Aquaworld. They were fantastic. I had never been diving before and was scared to death. But, the divers were extremely patient, good with instructions, and very conscientious of the rookies. We paid the extra $80 for the DVD at the end, so the photographer took lots of pictures of my kids and me as we swam around in the crystal clear water, had pictures of beautiful fish and the different statues that have been put there to form a reef. This is a must see if you are new to diving, as it is not very deep, the water is not too deep, so you can get to the surface quickly and the instructors keep a close eye on you. The DVD was worth every penny. We have gorgeous photos and had an incredible experience. Note: You need to get day-certified at your hotel before booking this excursion if you do not have diving experience.
Written February 19, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

msbardot
Toronto, Canada8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2016 • Couples
The best part was the boat ride over from our resort. Expect a number of large boats with dozens of snorkelers and boats vying for position. It looked like the people in the water in the movie "Titanic" lol There were so many! The coral is half dead and someone thought putting statues and a VW bug in the water would be cool and make it more interesting. I thought we were seeing authentic ruins, not some silly statues that were craned in. Give me a break. Watch for the jellyfish. I was stung five minutes in the water. Wouldn't recommend wasting $65/pp on this.
Written December 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear MsBardot, I´m Karla, PR and Sales Coordinator at MUSA, pleased to meet you. It is a shame you didn´t have a good experience at MUSA, as we always want our visitors to leave insipired by art and conservation. Our goal is to save the damaged corals that you saw by submerging these art pieces made by marine concrete. Can you please let me know who took you to MUSA? This is important to us in order to make sure that visitor know why MUSA exists and why it is so important to us to share with our public the importance of creating an artificial reef in order to give the natural reef time to heal. I hope that with this information, your opinion about MUSA will have a new approach. Feel free to contact me at karla@musamexico.org for any information you would like to know. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2017.
Written December 20, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 488
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Museo Subacuático de Arte - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Quintana Roo HotelsQuintana Roo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Quintana Roo
All things to do in Quintana Roo
Amusement Parks in Quintana RooZoos & Aquariums in Quintana Roo
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars