Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada, Toronto: Hours, Address, Ripley's Aquarium of Canada Reviews: 4.5/5

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada
4.5
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Write a review
About
Explore the Waters of the World at Ripley's Aquarium of Canada. Located in the heart of downtown Toronto at the base of the CN Tower, the aquarium is Toronto's must-see attraction for tourists and locals of all ages. Immerse yourself in a world of 20,000 aquatic animals and discover your own underwater adventure. The Aquarium features North America’s longest underwater viewing tunnel with more than 5.7 million litres of water and over 100 interactive opportunities. Get up close and personal with several touch exhibits featuring horseshoe crabs, sharks, scarlet cleaner shrimp, and stingrays as well as daily dive shows every 2 hours. This awe-inspiring attraction consists of nine carefully curated galleries showcasing a cross section of saltwater and freshwater environments from around the world – starting with species from Toronto’s backyard, the Great Lakes basin.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Ripley's Aquarium of Canada
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
20,443 reviews
Excellent
12,578
Very good
5,894
Average
1,505
Poor
304
Terrible
162

Queenlisab
Winnipeg325 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
The aquarium itself is nice but it’s very busy. We paid $100 for two adults for a hour at the aquarium. The Vancouver aquarium was a more educational and enriching experience. I believe that one closed down during the pandemic.

Ripley’s has a touch tank area for stingrays that kiddies can go up to (adults too) but it has sharks in there as well. The staff were yelling at the kids not to touch the sharks. Why place them both in the same touch tank?

There’s also a spot a long the walk where kids can have a break - a play area and cafe of sorts for a bite to eat and a beverage.

Another area had a moving sidewalk which was brilliant! We just stepped on it and watched the tanks as we moved by. Everyone was able to get an up close view. You can step off it if you choose.

My favourite part was the turtle who did laps around it’s tank.

Watch for the little ones, it’s dark in areas and a few little toddlers got loose from their parents and were wandering on their own. So it’s easy to bump into them if you’re not watching for them darting in front of you.

At the end of the tour you exit via the gift shop.

Note: There are hand sanitizer stations throughout the building. I didn’t see anyone using them. There is absolutely no physically distancing and masks aren’t required. There were several folks (adults and kids) coughing and sneezing. So if you’re health conscious and concerned, you’ll need to do your own personal risk assessment.
Written June 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

roger v
Toronto, Canada63 contributions
Oct 2021
It's the third time we visited this wondrous location since it re-opened in July, which was significantly more than the entirety of the prior year. Luckily, our annual membership was extended for another twelve months, free of charge.

I like the freedom of coming any time of day, without time slots. The member's entrance also avoids the queue. Friendly greeters allow you to provide vaccination proof and photo ID, which can also be your member card. I also like the spontaniety of viewing any exhibit and stay as long as you need, without trying to cram the visit to see every site.

At the Kelp pool, you can daydream on how these massive plants would have soared to the light, and the myriad of life that teamed within it's embrace. At the Rainbow Reef, I sink in to visions of snorkelling on turqouise waters off the Spanish Main, with pirates, Pizarro gold and plunder. Imagine as brightly coloured fish reflect the luminous gems that fell from a Manila Galleon recently attacked by privateers. Or picture accompanying a Cousteau expedition with stingrays and sharks.

I am definately grateful for these havens in the heart of the city, where you can go to unwind and feed the soul. It is definately great therapy that the calming waters provide.
Written October 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Roger, thank you for leaving such lovely feedback! We are so glad you have been able to enjoy the aquarium!
Written November 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Phillip C
13 contributions
Dec 2019 • Family
This aquarium is very pricey, was overcrowded, and they do not offer city passes for multiple attractions at the ticketing counter. I recommend buying a combo of multiple attractions beforehand, i.e. if you combine the aquarium with the CN tower (which is right next door), you save a lot of money. However, it takes a couple of hours to get through, is on multiple floors, and the tunnel was amazing. Plus, there are several hands on activities. We were exhausted by the time we left.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Laura K
1 contribution
Mar 2022 • Family
We visited the aquarium this week with my 2 young children and their grandparents. Tickets for the 6 of us cost over $220 and had a timed entry. Totally makes sense considering Covid and it being March Break. I thought I was being very smart buying tickets in advance for 3pm. Upon arrival, I discovered that timed entry meant absolutely nothing. The entire aquarium was absolutely packed. From a Covid perspective this made me extremely uncomfortable, but to top it off it was almost impossible to see anything, read any of the educational info or engage with any interactive elements. I paid over $200 to enter a zoo and see some fish from a distance. My children were very disappointed. Many of the tanks we would wait to approach for our “turn” and people would squeeze in front of us. There were no employees anywhere in sight or crowd control of any kind.

I would not go back unless it was a random weekday maybe first thing in the morning and with a discount on tickets.
Written March 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for taking the time and leaving a review - we are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. March Break is our busiest time of year and I can assure you that the safety of our guests, animals and employees is our utmost priority. We utilize effective ticket monitoring software to ensure that we always remain within capacity as per strict requirements. As well, we do our absolute best to reiterate our peak hours of 11AM-4PM to guests via our phone lines, website scrolling banner, website FAQs list, and various social media platforms. Although not possible for everyone, we try to encourage guests to swim by outside these peak hours for a more comfortable aquarium experience. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Written April 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Safi and Fariaa Adventures
Ottawa, Canada760 contributions
Jul 2020
We visited the aquarium in early July 2020. We felt quite safe, as they were limiting the number of visitors. They were also collecting contact info for contact tracing. Everyone had their temperatures checked and hands sanitized prior to entry. Every passageway and staircase were marked for unidirectional walking. Staff was constantly sanitizing the rails and other touchable features. The shark conveyor belt had surfboard stickers to stand on marked for social distancing.

The diaspora of aquatic wildlife you can see at Ripley's Aquarium is incredible. Not only is it gorgeous to see and great to take pictures with, but you can also learn a lot about the wildlife that inhabit our waters. The shark conveyor belt is by far the best feature of the aquarium. Ripley's Aquarium is for everyone, families, couples, kids, or even someone alone.

We highly recommend visiting Ripley's Aquarium when in Toronto. We would recommend about 3 hours to thoroughly enjoy the aquarium. We personally purchased a Toronto CityPass and enjoyed this along with other Toronto must sees. We made a whole day of CN Tower and Ripley's Aquarium.
Written March 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for such a great review!
Written March 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lynn155
Milton, Canada43 contributions
Mar 2022
Why were we told that we could buy tickets at the door. After we drove two hours to get there, 9 people were dissapointed that there were none available on arrival. 3 cars also expensive parking in Toronto!
Perhaps you should put more though in the information that you give out

9 unhappy dissapointed people!
Written March 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mizdot
Brockville, Canada191 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
100% love this place! This was my second visit, but first time with my children. Excellent exhibits, beautiful animals, polite and knowledgeable staff, clean washrooms, quick and easy check-in. There were still a lot of guests which made social distancing nearly impossible but with masks and double vaccination status we were ok with that. I don’t really have any recommendations other than to prebook your tickets online. There was lots of hand sanitizer everywhere and the washrooms were located about halfway through with a small cafe for snacks.
Written October 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Mizdot, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Written November 17, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

RealMissDee
Vancouver, Canada182 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
I recommend buying a city pass to get a discount on the entrance fee. The wait on a Saturday afternoon was less than 10 minutes and not that crowded. The highlight is the dangerous lagoon - the longest under water moving sidewalk in North America.
Written August 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

superbee361
Patchogue, NY101 contributions
Mar 2022
Really a very interesting place to visit. They talk not only about the oceans of the world and the different types of animals, but they also go into what types of fish and plant life you find in Lake Ontario. Lots of stuff for kids to find interesting and entertaining for adults too. If the weather is bad, the place gets crowded quickly. Plan on 1-2 hours minimum to see everything at a moderate pace - more if you have young kids or a very curious mind.
Written March 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Heather N
1 contribution
May 2022 • Family
I visited the aquarium with my family of four in a long weekend and it was packed. We could barely walk and we were unable to view most of the displays given the crowds. Aside from fire safety concerns (we would’ve been trampled had there been any sort of emergency), anyone taking COVID precautions should consider avoiding this aquarium altogether. There was no attempt at all from staff to reduce the flow of people entering the building, even for 5 min, to ease the crowding. An unpleasant experience and unsafe.
Written May 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 17,291
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ripley's Aquarium of Canada

Ripley's Aquarium of Canada is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Ripley's Aquarium of Canada tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 19 Ripley's Aquarium of Canada tours on Tripadvisor