Hernder Estate Wines
Hernder Estate Wines
4
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
A Wine Lovers Paradise, open 7 days a week year round. Since covid we don't offer tastings but we do have wine flights, glass and bottle service on our licensed patio overlooking the vineyard. Coming in the winter? Enjoy our Cellar Room complete couches with fireplaces. We don't have a restaurant but we do have homemade flatbreads (we will be adding homemade soup in the winter). Our retail store is stocked with award winning vqa white wine, red wine, late harvest, icewine and fruit wines. We can even ship to your door throughout Canda. Getting married? Hernder's offers two locations for ceremonies as well as two reception rooms in our 1867 Victorian Barn complete with pine, stone and fireplaces. We do offer an all inclusive wedding package and our packages with pricing is available on www.hernder.com under Niagara Winery Weddings. We can accommodate car shows, anniversaries, birthdays or just a family reunion, just give us a call or email and let us help you with any event.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Hernder Estate Wines and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
113 reviews
Excellent
64
Very good
30
Average
7
Poor
2
Terrible
10

Alexandra S
Thorold, Canada4 contributions
Aug 2020 • Friends
This is a wonderful place where you can relax and enjoy a view and nature from the best patio in Niagara region. It is only few minutes drive from major highway. I felt like at home the way they treat their guests.
Please note, there's no restaurant here only a wine store where you can order homemade flatbread or bring your own picnic basket and pair it with their wine.
Written August 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the review, so happy you to hear you enjoyed your visit and our wine with the picturesque view of the vineyard. Hope to see you again...Cheers!
Written August 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susan R
3 contributions
Jun 2023 • Family
My husband and I love coming to Canada at least once a year. We have been creatures of habit with Niagara on the Lake and of course the Falls. Our last visit I convinced him to try A few wineries in St Catherine’s.

I wish I would have asked for her name but it was a long drive. The woman helping us was amazing. It was such a pleasant experience discussing wines and we gladly purchased many that we didn’t even try. She was very genuine and down to earth. We can’t wait to try to blueberry iced wine.

We read a review about trying the rhubarb wine and it did not disappoint. The Cougars red and white were very good and not too heavy- perfect for sitting on the deck or bbq.

The store was so cute and had something for everyone. We will definitely be back in the future. And the maple syrup at the market next door is so much more affordable than at the Falls.

I have to say that this area is now on our must visit list for each trip. The people are so incredibly nice - warm and welcoming.
Written June 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

K R
St. Catharines, Canada23 contributions
Aug 2020
We visited Hernder yesterday. Had a lovely time. Large spacious patio about 1/3 in shade. Very generous samples when ordering a flight. The peach flat bread was awesome. Prices of bottles very reasonable. Felt safe with COVID practices in place here. You can buy a bottle and pay $5 corkage. I saw some even brought their own snack because of limited menu.
Written August 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your kind words and praise. Hope to see you again, Cheers!
Written August 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SMoh
Whitby, Canada10 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
Visited this winery for the icewine discovery pass event. Waited over 10 minutes for service which never came. Tried to wave for service but the guy looked at me and just ignored me. Everyone seemed very disorganized, bumping into each other and knocking bottles over. Get your act together! Got fed up and left! Terrible service.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for reviewing google and here with your same dissatisfaction. We appreciate feedback and again we are sorry that we were 10-12 minutes behind. We do look around so as it may of looked like we saw you and ignored you, we definitely didn't so I am sorry you felt that. All wineries experienced the same issue over the festival at one time or another as guests were telling us other places had a 20-30 wait. Its a festival, all the wineries do the best they can do, you unfortunately came at the worst possible time then judged us which is unfortunate. We welcome you to come when its not a festival and see what a great fun winery we really are, with amazing staff.
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ashly
Welland, Canada5 contributions
Sep 2020
Please avoid this place for your events and tours. It is not Covid safe (hand sanitizer is scarce, no directionals on the floor, no signage so customers wander cluelessly through events, no paper towels in bathrooms) and the staff respond to customer questions and feedback with a rude attitude and an accusatory/defensive tone. Super unprofessional, very poor customer/client service skills. If they are "doing their best" during this pandemic, I can tell you it is not good enough and my group did not feel safe.
Written November 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Ashley, we do appreciate your feedback and sorry that you felt unsafe and didn't have a good experience. We have sanitizer at both doors, entering the winery and from the patio coming in. We have disinfectant wipes at the bathrooms to keep people safe but yes we don't have paper towels (country plumbing) but we have hand driers in working order. We have proper signage stickers on the floor of the store all the way around and have had this since the Spring. Not sure if you have our location confused with another location? We even spray the tables/chairs outside as well as the tasting boards. Almost all of our review are very positive in regards to our wonderful staff, safety protocol and wines so I would hope you would come again and see we are a great place for couples and small groups.
Written November 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ukydancer
Grimsby, Canada139 contributions
Nov 2015 • Friends
My title says it all. Stood for who knows how long, was never acknowledged, no greeting, staff looked extremely grumpy... left without a purchase or sample. Love the craft show, will be back for that, but not the winery ever again. I have been to wineries that are much busier than they were and have received impeccable service. Shame on you Hernder Wineries.
Written November 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen H
St. Catharines, Canada7 contributions
Nov 2015 • Friends
I would like to start my review by stating how wonderful the craft show is there every year. I never miss it. All the vendors are friendly and very talented.
My friend and i always start at the craft show and end at the winery for a few samples of wine at the tasting bar where we decide on the couple bottles each we will purchase to bring home. As we made our way to the bar.. by the way.. was not busy at the time.. maybe 8-10 people tops (and i have been to wineries with sampling at the bar with 2 to 3 people deep) where there were 3 people working. a young girl and an older gentleman and a older woman. The older man passed us by at least 4 times and didnt even acknowledge we exsisted. He finally stopped turned to my friend and i and looked at us blankly. Feeling uncomfortable i said hello. He didnt say anything but stood there and stared at us. I turned to my friend confused then asked him if we could try the vidal. he stared a little longer then turned to the cooler and pulled out the wine. He stood with the bottle in his hand and said.. we are busy you know. And i said i didnt say anything. And he said its the look your giving me. (i guess my face had the confused look of what is happening and why is he being so rude to me?) He proceeded to pour the wine and as he lifted it, the bottom of the wine glass caught the lip of the bar and some of it spilled. He looked at me like i was the devil. I said forget it, i dont need to buy anything from here and he said... dont then. Everyone around us was just as shocked with his behaviour as i was. By the way.. he wasnt pouring one for my friend either. I cant help to think maybe he was helping himself to the samples?? I cant understand any of this.
My friend and i proceeded on to niagara on the lake to our favorite winery (pillitterri) where we were greeted with warmth, conversation, and bought our couple bottles of wine each.
I will return to Hernder for the craft show next year but will not be stopping to buy my wine.
What a horrible experience.
Written November 8, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stephanie G
11 contributions
May 2016 • Couples
Please do not invest in this place for a wedding. Waste of time! They are not interested in your business. They have zero customer service skills. I still cannot believe it. I took a tour and Beth was nice showing us around. The next day I emailed Angel "wedding planner" three times and no response and called via telephone. Beth was very rude over the phone and sounded so annoyed that I was asking for Angel. She literally said, "Angel is at home and I am not giving you her number." Sorry, but did I ask her for her home number? Use your brain. I guess they are too rich and busy to deal with a $50 000 wedding! On to the next venue!
Written June 29, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MockTT
Oshawa5 contributions
Nov 2015 • Couples
Can't help but smile every time we make the turn to enter the driveway and see the beautiful covered bridge and big barn. We have been going to your winery for many years, and every time we are welcomed with warm greetings. Today was no different.
When we arrived, there was a large bus group there, but that did not stop staff from making sure we were looked after in turn with everyone else. Two lovely ladies helped us with our first two tastings, and Curt helped us with our next two. We told Curt how many bottles of each we wanted, and he filled our order & had it at the cash waiting for us in no time! The lady on the cash was just as nice as Curt & the other two ladies that we already had the pleasure of dealing with. As soon as we paid, without even asking, Curt took our cases of wine to our vehicle.
We visit this winery 3-4 times a year, and your staff and wines never disappoint us. Our favorites....we love your Videl, Riesling, & Baco Noir!
Can hardly wait for our next stock up trip!!
Written November 14, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ChefSmithBuick
Hamilton, Canada1 contribution
Nov 2015 • Couples
I do have to start this off with this: Hernder is AMAZING!! the wine is amazing, our top favs are Rhubarb, Cranberry and the late harvest Vidal. The staff is beyond wonderful, they have always been so very friendly and always remember us when we come in. The grounds are stunning and just captivate you while you enjoy your tastings. Their prices are always fair and they don't charge a tasting fee, they ask for donations for the Picasso Foundation. We go to Hernder's every month to month and a half to stock up our fridge, this is not a winery to miss.

NOW, I do have to say that I am beyond disappointed in the below 3 reviews. This is NOT what Hernder's is about. I know for a fact there were thousands of people there this weekend as it is their Annual Craft Show, which they hold to raise money and food donations for the community. They are family run and they care about their community.

I have ALWAYS gotten a smile or acknowledgement from all staff no matter how busy it is, yes when it is like it was this past weekend you may wait a few mins before you get to do your tasting, but they have NEVER ignored us, NEVER have they been rude, and NEVER have I seen them be rude to anyone, we have been there when bus loads have come in and still give us the same wonderful service.

If you have taken the time to read this though, I want you to know that the negative reviews are one offs, it is not a reflection of this winery, their staff, or their wine.
Experience it for yourself, and you will add them to your favourites list :-)

Oh and just to add one more personal thing to this review, My husband and I found this winery in 2012 when looking for a wedding venue, and we were completely blown away with every aspect of the property, staff, pricing, everything. We got married here and we will forever be customers of Hernders.
Written November 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 109
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Hernder Estate Wines - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hernder Estate Wines



Hernder Estate Wines Information

Excellent Reviews

64

Very Good Reviews

30

Hernder Estate Wines Photos

72