Spirit of Newfoundland
Spirit of Newfoundland
4.5

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Downtown
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
141 reviews
Excellent
108
Very good
23
Average
5
Poor
5
Terrible
0

IndustryShrink
New York City, NY28 contributions
Aug 2022
Nasheville Nights was the name of the show I saw this past weekend. It was great. First off, the staff at the venue were terrific - so friendly and fun. Second, the performers were very professional. Third, but not least, the dinner was very good. The owner of the B&B I stayed in recommended this place and I recommend it to you. Hope you get a chance to visit.
Written August 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Connie T
St. John's, Canada109 contributions
Nov 2020 • Couples
The Spirit of Newfoundland adaptation of any play is always hilarious and well worth the time and ticket price, but after a long Covid imposed hiatus this show hit the mark. From start to finish with the beautifully decorated historic Masonic lodge, the very tasty meal and decadent desert, to the incredibly talented cast, this is an event not to be missed. The service, venue, food, and talent were absolutely awesome and accurately captured the spirit of Newfoundland. Masks and lots of space between tables ensured that audience participation was still encouraged. A great evening out. Don’t miss it!
Written November 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Mary D
3 contributions
Jul 2021 • Couples
We had the great pleasure this evening of attending the dinner performance of “ABBA” by the Spirit of Newfoundland in the historical Masonic Building. What an amazing performance. The members of the cast are highly talented and experienced professionals. The whole room was enthralled by their renditions of ABBA’s greatest hits while anecdotes of the band’s history were delivered with well-timed Newfoundland humour. The meal was delicious, which is often not the case when catering to a group. I can’t recommend this activity enough!
Written July 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ron A
2 contributions
Aug 2022
for the money it cost .. DONT BOTHER.. went to the show and dinner on sat august 6 .2022 ,the money we spent was not worth it ,,, Jiggs dinner was tasty but not worth 50$ each ,, total of 200$ plus taxes . plus gratuties .plus bar tab . entertainment was outta 10 maybe 3 . Would not recommend
Written August 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

StanleyandMarie
Ontario, Canada1,171 contributions
May 2022
High marks for such a beautiful building and for the concept of providing live entertainment and 'screeching in' ceremonies. However, we went to get screeched in at the daily ceremony only to find Sundays - they are not available. Would have loved to support local theatre, etc. but again, in May, there was nothing available. Hopefully, they will consider expanding their shows to May.
Written February 25, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

PJVanAuken
Oshawa, Canada19 contributions
Hillary was awesome and did a great screeching in! Lots of history and information, a smooch with Rodney and a healthy shot of screech. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to be an honorary Newfoundlander!
Written August 7, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Andrew B
Parksville, Canada150 contributions
Jun 2016 • Couples
My wife and I attended a dinner show with a group from work. The production was, "Where Once They Stood". The seating and room was good. The meal served was good, however, the show was outstanding. This show was a tribute to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment, Blue Puttees. The people who wrote, produced, and performed this show, were respectful of the sad loss of so many young men. We were placed back in time to not only the tragedy of the battle, but how life was on all fronts. They found the balance of tribute and entertainment. Well Done! I highly recommend this show.
Written June 19, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

RayHill
Winnipeg, Canada132 contributions
Sep 2012 • Couples
We did this dinner theater to cap off our 10 days in Newfoundland and it was great. The entertainers were top notch and the dinner was was enjoyable. Every seat offers a good view as it is a pretty intimate room.
Written October 17, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

BloatedBelly
Texas263 contributions
Sep 2012 • Couples
The show we saw, "Nunsense" was cute and we liked how they engaged the audience but the space where the show is held (a beautiful building) was extremely hot and cramped and the food was not very good. Everything took so long and you have to eat and wait for everyone else to be served (like you're at a wedding) and finish before they start the show. It became uncomfortable after several hours.
Written September 27, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jackie H
1 contribution
Dec 2017 • Business
The show was entertaining, packed in a hot room like sardines. Very disappointed with the meal, it was cold, very small portions, the most on my plate was dressing and cranberry sauce, minimal veggies and the turkey must have ran over my plate, pitiful. The show was too long and dragged out, I thought it was over a couple of times, they kept coming back??I don't think I'll go again, the portion of rum cake is not much bigger than a timbit!!
Written December 8, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review. Portion size is a funny thing. We do find most our guests can't eat all of their dinner. The thing we love to do is to give people more when they ask. Please come again. We're so sorry you felt it was cramped. In musical theater, we tend to keep the guest close to each other because laughter is contagious . You have a lot more fun when with laughter is nearby. Would love to have you come back. Call us. Ask for Cathy .
Written January 22, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 140
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Spirit of Newfoundland (St. John's) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Spirit of Newfoundland