We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Klinker Opal Property

7879 Hwy 97, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3R9, Canada
+1 250-542-5173
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
opals

If you are looking for boulder opal, or just curious, this is a good place, they sometimes have a... read more

Reviewed September 2, 2017
strobb
,
calgary
Precious opals digging

That is certainly one of adventures in a life time. I went there twice and Bob, who is the owner... read more

Reviewed August 17, 2017
LBK Pioneer W
,
Whistler, Canada
Read all 32 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Canada's first precious opal mine is operated by Opal Resources Canada Inc. Arrange a day trip to go opal digging to unearth your own treasure. Advanced booking required for digging trips.
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good15%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible39%
Travelers talk about
“bob” (11 reviews)
“specimens” (4 reviews)
“precious” (6 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
7879 Hwy 97, Vernon, British Columbia V1B 3R9, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 250-542-5173
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Vernon
from $76.10
More Info
from $114.60
More Info
from $120.33
More Info
from $109.02
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bob"
in 11 reviews
"specimens"
in 4 reviews
"precious"
in 6 reviews
"operator"
in 2 reviews
"canadian"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017

If you are looking for boulder opal, or just curious, this is a good place, they sometimes have a significant variety of size shape color etc. on dsplay.

Thank strobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

That is certainly one of adventures in a life time. I went there twice and Bob, who is the owner and operator of the mine was very hospitable, friendly and motivated to searching, discovery and sharing his knowledge of geology. The place should be built...More

Thank LBK Pioneer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Booked our excursion last minute with Bob and he was very accommodating. My wife and two boys aged 10-11 really enjoyed the trip up the mountain. It was a wet spring and the wild flowers were amazing, along with the views. Once we arrived at...More

5  Thank craigwedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We visited on Saturday, September 3, 2016. We communicated with Bob, the owner/operator via email before our arrival, securing a reservation for that date and all needed items to bring. The drive up the mountain was rough, but doable, in our small SUV. The area...More

Thank opalseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Thank you. Happy that you enjoyed your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Still advertised, and road signs are still up! Avoid trying to left turn into here as there is no business there any longer. Very frustrating!

2  Thank JMR980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Will have sold our business location but still offer trips to the mine to dig opals mid June to mid September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

It's $50 per person. You have to drive up in your own vehicle. The road is not for the faint hearted. That being said we started out the day optimistically. We found lots of white rocks but none of it was opal. The guy didn't...More

6  Thank Bobbi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

You are correct, the road is rough; as you were advised. Rock-hounding is not for the faint of heart and some people and kids just don't like it. The white was common opal. I'm sure that somebody found some precious opal during the day. I...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

I checked out the website before visiting the area and found they were open until 5pm weekdays. We visited just after lunch on a Wednesday...no one there, the place locked up tighter than a drum. No signs, no nothing. I had the distinct feeling that...More

1  Thank Gardiner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Hello all. Yes, our business location has been sold and our Vernon shop is closed; however, we are still operating our opal digging day trips. E-mail for reservations and/or information Our product is now available in Whistler BC at Fathom Stone Art gallery on gallery...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

I am a rockhound and member of three Lapidary clubs in BC. I am not an expert, but I am not naive either. I looked over the specimens of Opal cabuchons, asked for prices on a few and was given prices that I know are...More

10  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

The trips need to be scheduled in advance but not for the reasons you so eloquently accuse me of. For the record -- the word is cabochons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

This place has not changed the few tourist that are finding opals are not from the slag heap.Bob has a new way of doing things when your not looking he takes pieces from the gift store and throws them in the heap so that you...More

8  Thank tiffany p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

The statements and accusation made in this review do not justify a response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015

Seven of us (four adults and 3 children all under 11 yrs old) left the shop on Hwy97 at 9:15 am. None of us knew what to expect. Bob gave us a brief rundown before we left as to what we would be looking for....More

Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opalminer, Owner at Klinker Opal Property, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Thank you for you kind response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Vernon
The Castle at Swan Lake
349 reviews
.18 miles away
Chilcoot Conference Centre
11 reviews
2.26 miles away
Days Inn Vernon
312 reviews
3.41 miles away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
331 reviews
3.48 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ranch Cafe
16 reviews
3.29 miles away
Browns Socialhouse
150 reviews
3.49 miles away
Temptasian Restaurant & Lounge
178 reviews
3.13 miles away
Castle Bistro
29 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Okanagan Spirits Craft Distillery
122 reviews
3.36 miles away
Historic O'Keefe Ranch
216 reviews
2.90 miles away
Blue Hills Lavender Farm
12 reviews
4.54 miles away
Silver Star Provincial Park
60 reviews
2.26 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mrslacy24
April 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from opalminer | Property representative |
Sorry, probably not the place for you; I'm sure your son would enjoy the day.
0
Votes
master c
April 19, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from opalminer | Property representative |
Have we spoken or are you reacting some comment by others? I try my best to explain/clarify things in a way that is easily understood -- even by kids! Cheers P.S.That should read .."like an old kook"....
1
Vote
;