Tantalus Vineyards
Tantalus Vineyards
4.5
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
We're located in South East Kelowna, in the heart of British Columbia's beautiful Okanagan Valley. Spectacular lake views, an historic old vineyard and our new state-of-the-art LEED Certified winery make visiting Tantalus Vineyards a one-of-a-kind experience. Enjoy premium quality, single-vineyard wines in a stunning gallery-style tasting room, surrounded by works of art from some of Canada's most highly-acclaimed artists. We're open year round, please check our website for hours and directions. A small tasting fee of $4 for 4 wine samples, will be waived with your wine purchase.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Tantalus Vineyards and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
147 reviews
Excellent
97
Very good
30
Average
16
Poor
2
Terrible
2

glennsC3091EH
Stony Plain, Canada21 contributions
Jun 2017 • Couples
My wife and I were stocking up on wine and Tantalus is always on our must have list. Great wine and our Tastemaster Mike was super friendly and knowledgable. Had a great discussion about Rieslings. If you are in Kelowna it is one winery you should not miss.
Written June 11, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for submitting such a nice endorsement of our wines! We are super lucky to have Mike on our staff each year - he knows his wines so well and his knowledge is such a great asset to our team. He is a fantastic Tantalus ambassador. Hope to see you again soon at the winery!
Written July 21, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FireHorseSire66
British Columbia, Canada162 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
Enjoyed a VIP tour with Clarissa, and got to walk the vines, and see great integration of sustainable practices, and investment in wine made in harmony with nature. Whether its the bees, the deer, birds, or pests, these folks are the winery of the future, reducing the carbon footprint, and producing some unique wines, where, after touring the land, I understand better than ever, how the terroir comes through. Look for this winery to make an impression.
Written May 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

BonnieMay
Edmonton, Canada53 contributions
Jul 2016 • Family
I won't be going back. You have to pay for wine samples, so we guessed on a few we thought we'd like. When we got home and tried them we were disappointed. It was also over priced.

It's not child friendly. We were the only ones in the place and the lady running told our kids to be quiet and sit down. She seemed annoyed with them. The kids were NOT running around or causing any problems.

The only thing we liked were the views of the lake. But you can also see these views throughout Kelowna. It's not worth going for that.
Written July 12, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience here. We strive to ensure all of our guests - including youngsters - feel welcomed at our winery and enjoy their time with us. We are very sorry to hear you did not feel this was the case during your visit but please do trust that this is an unusual occurrence at Tantalus. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments on board and share with our staff as we are constantly working to improve our visitors' experiences. We are sorry that you did not partake in a wine tasting with us as we genuinely try to help our guests find a Tantalus wine to love. (A note that most wineries in the Okanagan Valley do charge a small fee for tastings and waive the fee with a wine purchase. We charge $4 for a tasting flight of 4 wines and the fee is waived with bottle purchase.)
Written July 25, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BrWayne
Blackfalds, Canada232 contributions
May 2016
Most wines were boring, light, and uninteresting. The only one that was better than average was their Syrah ice wine. Staff was fine. Some beautiful artwork. Pretty tasting room.
Written June 5, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our wines to your taste but we are glad you enjoyed the artwork and the tasting room experience. The beauty of the Okanagan Valley is that there is often something for everyone and we sincerely hope you found wines along your tour that you enjoyed.
Written June 30, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Molly0085
Nanoose Bay, Canada2 contributions
I recently came to Tantalus while on a wine tour for a bachelorette party. After a day of touring we were running a bit behind. We arrived at the winery at 446. We were informed by the lady working that the tasting bar had closed at 445 and if we had called ahead we could have done our tasting. Our tour guide quickly informed her he had called ahead and had booked a tasting for 10 people at 430. I understand that we were late but her customer service was disappointing. We bought over 5 cases of wine on our wine tour and Tantalus missed out on an opportunity to sell some wine and attract new customers.
I cannot review the wine or the vineyard as we did not have an opportunity to experience either. Customers service is everything in this business and I wish my experience had been different.
Written March 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We appreciate you taking the time to post your remarks and we're genuinely sorry your visit was not what you had expected. It's our goal to provide each winery guest with a high quality wine tasting experience. In order to do this, our staff require a reasonable amount of time to present the winery’s story and each of our wines, answer questions and process sales. Past experience has taught us if a group has a lot of questions or wishes to linger, the visit can stretch well beyond the usual 30 minutes. Upon further investigation it was confirmed that indeed the tour company did book an appointment between 4:00 and 4:30. Unfortunaley, this booking was not relayed to the staff member responsible for tastings that day. A combination of poor communication on our part and the group’s late arrival - leaving little time to conduct a quality wine tasting - resulted in a poor outcome. For this we are truly sorry. Had the staff member been made aware of the appointment and subsequently its late arrival, she would have been more than happy to provide a great experience for your group beyond the 5 PM store closing.
Written April 1, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dave M
Seattle, WA150 contributions
Sep 2019
During a stay in Kelowna we stopped at a few wineries. Tantalus was our favorite. Wonderful tasting room with a nice view. The staff was very friendly. The unoaked Chardonnay was our favorite and we bought several to enjoy on our journey to Banff.
Written September 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SMSLMS
Vancouver148 contributions
Sep 2019
When visiting this tasting room one would not draw comparisons in terms of size, decor and ambience to wineries such as Mission Hill, Cedar Creek and others.

However, if the point in visiting is to taste excellent wines then this is a place you should not miss. Staff are friendly and knowledgable.

I'm not going to discuss the attributes of the various wines as this is a highly subjective matter, but will say that in my opinion the oaked Chardonnay, Reisling and Pinot Noir are well worth the visit.
Written September 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jezz LD
Singapore, Singapore313 contributions
Jun 2019 • Family
BC wines, notably from the Okanagan, are highly respected and our trip to Kelowna would be incomplete without a trip to a couple. Tantalus, situated about 20minutes south of town, is slick, spick and span. The expansive view from the tasting room through the floor to ceiling window pulls you in with the gorgeous lake and vines beyond.

We only tasted the wines and did not do any tour. Tantalus does not have a restaurant but sells some honey and chocolate at the cellar door.
I liked the set up of the tasting room, very simple and bright sunshine. I liked the indigenous themes wine labels.
There is nothing for younger children to do and there are no grounds for them to amuse themselves with. Bring your kids if they are on form and easy to manage.

The grapes are only grown on site and they have a good Chardonnay which is less oak aged and tastes more like a Sauvignon Blanc. It is good to try something different.
Written June 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ginelleek
6 contributions
Aug 2018 • Friends
My friends and I visited Tantalus on Sunday August 5th for a tasting. I have been looking forward to seeing and tasting this winery’s product for quite some time. Unfortunately the service we received from the gentleman providing our tasting made us feel insignificant and undervalued. It wasn’t until one of us showed interest in purchasing a very expensive bottle of wine that he provided us with appropriate customer service. For this reason I will not recommend Tantalus to others.
Written August 5, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Txaggie0724
117 contributions
Jun 2018 • Couples
This was our last tasting on our way out of Kelowna and one of our favorites from our trip. We made our reservation for first thing Sunday morning. We were really looking for to it and we were not disappointed. Our tasting was with Mike. He was super friendly and knowledgeable. Some people can make tastings awkward be conversation with him was really easy and enjoyable. He poured all of the available Rieslings (I think it was 4) for us to do a side by side tasting which was a treat. The wines were great and the view was spectacular. We highly recommend Tantalus and would love to visit again! Thank you!
Written July 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
How lovely! Thanks so much for taking the time to share about your visit to the winery, and about your great tasting with Mike. We are so fortunate to have him on our team. He has such a wonderful wealth of knowledge about our wines and the region. Hope to host you again soon.
Written August 21, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 140
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Tantalus Vineyards - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tantalus Vineyards

According to Tripadvisor travelers, these are the best ways to experience Tantalus Vineyards:



Tantalus Vineyards Information

Excellent Reviews

97

Very Good Reviews

30

Tantalus Vineyards Photos

61