Downhill Karting at Skyline Luge Calgary

Downhill Karting at Skyline Luge Calgary

Downhill Karting at Skyline Luge Calgary
4.5
Thursday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Take the driving seat and enjoy Downhill Karting, the global thrill ride for all ages! Jump in your specialized kart and take on 1,800 meters of downhill track mastering over 50 twists and turn. Go as fast or slow as you like - you're in complete control! Suitable for all ages and abilities. Skyline Luge invented Downhill Karting in 1985 in Rotorua New Zealand. To date Skyline has hosted over 50 million visitors across New Zealand, Canada, Korea and Singapore.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Wrights.On.The.Road
    Alabama58 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    So fun!!
    So much fun for everyone!! This is a great experience for the speed racers (my family) and the granny drivers (me)! The line is organized with 2 lines - 1 for round ones and one for rounds 2+. This helped tremendously at the top when you are learning to drive the kart. Unfortunately for us, the wind picked up after only one time downhill. The staff were wonderful through out it all - willing to give refunds, the option to rebook, or the option to stay and see if the wind died down. I am not sure how many they book for each hour, but I think it would take longer than an hour to get down 3 times for a family of 4. Nothing wrong with that - just be prepared to wait and take your time. The ride down was worth the wait!
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 9, 2023
  • Loyd
    British Columbia, Canada8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great fun!
    Made sure this location was on our list to visit on the way to West Edmonton Mall. We were here a few years back and have been waiting to come back. It’s a great place to experience if you haven’t done it yet, do it now!
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 27, 2023
  • Gibo86
    49 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fun for all ages
    We visited here as a family. 2 adults and 2 children 8&11. We had so much fun we ended up paying for more runs. My daughter (8) struggled a little with the handle bars. There’s basically a sweet spot that you need to get too to lift the cart/remove the brake. To get this sweet spot you need to pull the handle bars towards you. My daughter struggled with having small hands / tiring arms which meant she couldn’t go as fast as the rest of us. We switched it up every now and again and she jumped in a cart with an adult so we could go full speed. As a competitive family we loved raving each other down n then doing it all again.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 1, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles366 reviews
Excellent
279
Very good
70
Average
10
Poor
3
Terrible
4

Rene R
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
The downhill kart was so fun, but the girl on the photo booth was extremely miserable and put a huge damper on our family fun at the end of our experience. She was very grumpy and gave us attitude when she tried to rush us through when we were selecting our photos. At the end before we paid, we decided we’d like add a video and asked her if we could, and she just shook her head and said “no, it doesn’t work that way”. We were fully willing to pay extra for it and she just shot us down. When she realized we were willing to pay, her story changed, but by that time we already had a really bad taste in out mouth and lost interest and we just wanted to get away from her.
Written July 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Xavier G
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023
Terrible customer service. I bought a ticket today with thee intent to book for the next Monday. I accidentally booked for today, and when I asked to change it, the best they could give me was "Unfortunately not, we recommend guest double check their order prior to processing." and nothing else. I had to fight to change the booking date and even still had to pay thee $15 fee even though I'm rescheduling the same day as I purchased. Crazy policy and extremely lazy customer service. Would love to get a refund if I could at this point but they just haven't responded to that request at all. Even if it's a fun activity, don't give them your money, they don't deserve it. There are hundreds of other activities in Calgary that are just as fun.
Written July 20, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

seanchandler067
Calgary, Canada40 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Friends
The karting was loads of fun. Would go again.

I think more instruction is needed to keep people who are just moseying done the hill out of the way of people who want to go fast. There were not enough staff to keep the lines moving smoothly.

I attempted several times after our visit to contact management to sort out an over billing issue with the photos we bought. My email was rejected snd they’ve not replied to a message on their Facebook page for three days.

The karting is fun but I think the organization is weak. Would have been 5 stars otherwise.
Written July 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sean, We are sorry you had a bad experience with us on your visit. You highlight some good points and items that we are already in the process of addressing and improving. If you are able to contact us on our company email of calgary@skylineluge.com. We can ensure you get back to you around resolving the issues you had with your photos. We have replied to your Facebook message with correct email above for us to continue our communication with you. Thank you for your feedback and please do contact us on the above email so we can work with you to clear up any outstanding items and concerns.
Written July 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gibo86
49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
We visited here as a family. 2 adults and 2 children 8&11.

We had so much fun we ended up paying for more runs.

My daughter (8) struggled a little with the handle bars. There’s basically a sweet spot that you need to get too to lift the cart/remove the brake. To get this sweet spot you need to pull the handle bars towards you. My daughter struggled with having small hands / tiring arms which meant she couldn’t go as fast as the rest of us.

We switched it up every now and again and she jumped in a cart with an adult so we could go full speed.

As a competitive family we loved raving each other down n then doing it all again.
Written September 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sonia N
34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
We took the family package for 4 with 3 rides down (parents + 2 kids 10 and 13). It included 4 pictures sent by email. The karts are easy to handle. We got a pretty good speed, great sensation, nice view and it wasn't too busy. You can easily have a little backpack and ride (no issue at all). Very fun for all!
Written August 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Wrights.On.The.Road
Alabama58 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
So much fun for everyone!! This is a great experience for the speed racers (my family) and the granny drivers (me)! The line is organized with 2 lines - 1 for round ones and one for rounds 2+. This helped tremendously at the top when you are learning to drive the kart. Unfortunately for us, the wind picked up after only one time downhill. The staff were wonderful through out it all - willing to give refunds, the option to rebook, or the option to stay and see if the wind died down.

I am not sure how many they book for each hour, but I think it would take longer than an hour to get down 3 times for a family of 4. Nothing wrong with that - just be prepared to wait and take your time. The ride down was worth the wait!
Written July 9, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

2Andersons
Calgary, Canada11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021
This little adventure was a surprise I planned for my 8yo autistic son and it was a tremendous hit. He rode with me down the first 2 times after attempting it by himself both times and then getting frightened. Third time he felt brave enough to go by himself & the rest is history. He loved it and kept begging to go back and asking me why I hadn't booked more (I had booked the max5) haha. For those who are complaining about the slow persons on the track... it is for children and adults alike and if you were a good enough karter then you could just serpentine around us. All of the staff members were super helpful and polite, from the start of our adventure through to the picture booth. We will definitely be back & recommend this to everyone looking for great fun!!! PS: the man using his phone to record himself going down the track - very dangerous and against the rules!
Written September 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gaylene H
Lloydminster, Canada210 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Friends
We are from out of town and with Covid we were looking for something fun to do since our trip was booked pre covid. This was a blast. We took two kids that were 12 and two female adults. It was a girls day and we all had so much fun. We purchased the four runs with a digital pic and have zero complaints. The staff were great, the weather was cooperative and we enjoyed the 1.5 hours.
Written July 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kerri-Ann M
Fort McMurray, Canada117 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
This was so much fun! We got the package with 5 rides but could've kept going all day. This place runs like a well oiled machine! Very short wait times as everything was constantly moving. Clean and safe. Totally worth it. The kids and adults alike loved it
Written July 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joleen S
New Sarepta, Canada5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
Our kids are 13 and 10 and avid quad/motorcycle drivers. This was a great activity they loved!!! If you go as a group and want to go slower stay to the right to let faster carts go buy. Parents with smaller/inexperienced kids stay with your kids as we saw a few get stuck on the track and were crying.
Written August 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 351
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Downhill Karting at Skyline Luge Calgary - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Calgary HotelsCalgary Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Calgary
All things to do in Calgary
Day Trips in Calgary
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars