We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 Star Marine

Cherngtalay, Thailand
More
About 5 Star Marine
5 Star Marine provides Private Boat Experiences in the Phuket, Krabi, Phang Nga region. Avoid the crowds, see little known stunning beaches, hidden lagoons and snorkeling spots in the comfort of your own Private Speedboat complete with experienced guides, captains and crew. We have over 30 years of combined experience exploring, guiding and leading tours.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 10:30 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by 5 Star Marine
174Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 172
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yotam B wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Tldr; irresponsible management, which should have let us know the weather conditions, and postpone our trip. More than 20K baht down the drain. First let me share that the Thai crew has been amazing, doing their utmost to keep a smile on my family's face throughout our while ordeal. We don't blame them for a second! Our issue is with Sean - the manager or owner. We had the misfortune of bad weather hitting on the morning of our scheduled snorkling trip to Ko phi phi and the islands near phuket. We asked Sean whether it made sense to go out, and he reassured us that the rain will stop 15 minutes out into the sea. We departed at 9:00. The sea was pretty rough. We got to our first stop (kata island), it kept raining. We dipped a bit into the water but as they were too turbulent, and as we kept getting promised that we will get ahead of the rain, decided to head out for our next stop after a few minutes, which was supposed to have clear water that we could snorkel in. Next stop was Khai nai island. Our way there was even more turbulent, all of us (me, my wife, 6 yo and 3 yo kids) got sea sick and the waters were way too dangerous for us to allow our small children to swim, or even just dip their legs. Even The boat kept swinging so bad it was really hard to go on/off of it. By now it was 11:30, and Again, we kept getting promised better weather "in 15 minutes". We spent done time on the island, asking our tour guide what was planned and if we could get ahead to monkey beach in the phi phi islands. We then learned that the weather was to bad to go there, which was the whole point of the trip. We waited some more on the island hoping for better weather, still trusting in our tour guide. At about 12:30 when it was not getting any better, we asked what the plan was. They said we had to wait another 15-20 minutes for the weather to be good enough for us to head to our next stop (where have we heard that before?). By then we were disappointed, quizzy and just not having any fun. We couldn't take it anymore, and decided to cut our loses and had back to Phuket. We returned around 13:30 - cutting our planned trip by 4 hours! We did not get to go to Ko phi phi, we did not get to do snorkling, we didn't have any sunny relaxing time on any of the beaches. When we returned to the offices in the port, Sean was nowhere to be found. My feeling is that he was so blinses by finally have (heftily) paying customers after so long, that he neglected his responsibility for those very customers well being. We know nothing about the sea - he's the professional that should have known better. We would have understood having to return another day, it's not like he can control the weather. But he had the responsibility to at least give us the facts and let us decide.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from 5StarMarine, Owner at 5 Star Marine
Responded yesterday
Hi Yotam Thanks for your response, I agree the weather did not pan out well for you on your tour yesterday, it was not something that we predicted would happen or something that we can be in control of. The cloud cover and rain did not move through as we expected and for this we apologise. But I would like to clarify a few things: 1. Payment - We did not charge you 20,000 THB nor did we receive that. We refunded the payment we did receive directly to the agent that you booked with at 3:50pm the day of your tour as a way of apology for the poor weather conditions. Which as you said are not something we can control. 2. Tour - We advised you at the pier that we thought the weather would clear out and we should go out and see. Your Guide advised you at the first stop that we were happy to take you back to the pier or continue the tour, but the decision was yours. You chose to continue the tour. Unfortunately the weather did not clear and as you said you returned to the pier. 3. Route - Your booking with us was via an agent, and the booking was for Khai Islands, which you did visit. There was never a plan to go to Phi Phi Islands this was not what was booked with us. Happy for you to reach out directly and I can show you the booking confirmation. All in all, it was a poor weather day on the sea. Our team did the best they could and when we felt that we did not deliver a great experience we immediately refunded the amount we were paid. If there is more we can do for you please dont hesitate to ask. Shaun
Read more
Koda_Kool wrote a review May 2021
11 contributions
+1
This review is a bit delayed but in the first week of April (before the latest shut downs in Phuket) we had the opportunity to charter a boat with Five Star Marine and it was absolutely fantastic! The owner, Shaun, worked with my boyfriend and I on setting up a 3 day charter and even catered to our desire to go diving. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The first morning we were whisked away by the company’s shuttle van and taken to the marina where the boat was being prepared to launch. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the crew who ensured that we had everything we needed before starting on our journey. For the diving, Shaun had also helped arrange a dive master that was brought on board as our guide (and teacher!). We’ve had some great dive masters here in Thailand, but we can both say she was by far our favorite - super professional, kind and just as accommodating as the crew. The journey to the dive sites and snorkeling locations was smooth and breathtaking. Each time we went underwater we were shocked with the bountiful sea life - a testament to Shaun and the Captain's choices of superb locations. Diving also was easy going and the crew was capable of assisting with our needs as they came up. For lunch we were taken to local island restaurants where we were able to enjoy our meals beach side and were guided around by Phi-Phi our outstanding boat guide who is basically a virtuoso of the islands, always able to give you insight into the locations your going. At one point we even dined on a private beach which seemed straight out of a Hollywood film - I have no words to express how beautiful it was (Luckily a picture is attached so I don’t need to!) There is no question that this has been one of the best boating excursions I have been on. Whether you are after some world class snorkeling, yearning for some underwater exploration or just wanting to go out for a cruise with sunsets that will melt your heart, I would HIGHLY recommend going with 5-Star Marine to anyone who asks. Overall the trip was exceptional but Shaun and the crew really knew how to bring it to the next level. Thank you to the exceptional crew for the unforgettable experience, we will truly cherish it forever.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from 5StarMarine, Owner at 5 Star Marine
Responded 4 weeks ago
Appreciate the wonderful review and we had a great time taking you exploring while you were here. Hopefully see you again soon!
Read more
Ryan F wrote a review Apr 2021
Minneapolis4 contributions1 helpful vote
5 Star Marine did an excellent job for our Phi Phi Island tour. From the booking to the trip everything was the best. I can't recommend them enough. Thank you!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from 5StarMarine, Owner at 5 Star Marine
Responded Apr 19, 2021
Thanks for the kind comments we appreciate it !
Read more
Walligator wrote a review Apr 2021
Virginia47 contributions14 helpful votes
This was our second time booking 5 Star Marine and we will continue to book trips with them as long as we will stay in Thailand! Everything from top to bottom is top quality: 1) boats are clean, safe, and fast! (They even have a toilet on the boat!!! and plenty of shade) 2) working with Shaun was amazing. He must have the patience of a God. With COVID outbreaks and changes on what is allowed and what is not, it was always very straightforward working with him. He is very flexible to reschedule or refund your trip if needed. 3) the stat working on the boat is very professional and friendly. On two of our trips Khun Phi Phi was assigned as our guide. He is very knowledgeable and his english is very good. During our second trip he facilitated communication with etc local restaurant for our lunch order and when we learned that the smoothies we all ordered were not available, he offered to run across to get us smoothies from another place. He also offered to take photos of us during the trip so that we were not glued to our phones all the time. All photos were emailed to us that day evening through a dropbox. We traveled with kids that were: 2, 4 and 5 and it was very safe and fun for them. The staff was also very helpful and ensured kids were safe getting on/off the boat. Disinfected snorkeling masks, fins, and life jackets were available on the boat. The staff also prepared some fresh cut fruit (pineapple and watermelon) in the afternoon on the boat. We highly recommend this company to anyone wanting to explore Thailand's beautiful islands!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from 5StarMarine, Owner at 5 Star Marine
Responded Apr 18, 2021
Appreciate the kind words
Read more
Casey W wrote a review Apr 2021
Bangkok, Thailand11 contributions1 helpful vote
The best speedboat company in Krabi and Phuket! We loved the tour so much we did a repeat tour a few days later! We did a private speedboat tour from Railay Beach to Koh Phi Phi and surrounding islands. The crew were very friendly, professional, helpful and kind. The service was great - pickup was punctual, boat was clean. They took us to all the best spots for snorkelling and swimming, with a quiet spot on the beach for a picnic lunch. They were able to change the itinerary to suit our needs as required. Tour Guide Lucky and his crew looked after both the adults and the young children the whole time with full attention. We loved this tour so much we did another one a few days later! Thank you 5 Star Marine!
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from 5StarMarine, Owner at 5 Star Marine
Responded Apr 18, 2021
Thanks for the kind words we appreciate it
Read more
Previous
123456