We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cabo Shark Dive

Features Animals
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
More
About Cabo Shark Dive
Cabo Shark Dive is located in Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico. We provide a variety of tours that explore the ocean, from first timers to experienced shark divers and professional photographers. Our most popular tour is our Cabo Shark Snorkel Tour, which allows ocean lovers to interact with sharks and other ocean wildlife. We have a season for everything here and the type of sharks depend on the season. We can see Mako sharks, Blue Sharks, Silkies, and Smooth Hammerheads all in different times of the year. We even offer SCUBA exploratory trips to Cabo Pulmo National Marine Park or in the Cabo San Lucas Marine Park. Looking for something off the beaten path, join us in La Paz for our Whale Shark expeditions and/or Sea Lion Colony snorkels. Come with us and see the Cabo Shark Dive difference!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Cabo Shark Dive
Overview
Discover the enchanting Sea of Cortez and Pacific Ocean on a guided half-day tour from Cabo San Lucas. You can swim or snorkel as your guide helps you spot sharks—blue, silky, mako, and hammerheads—in addition to other aquatic life. Plus, catch sight of the Arch of Cabo San Lucas and a colony of sea lions.
745Reviews25Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 693
  • 26
  • 10
  • 9
  • 7
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heather S wrote a review Jun 22
Cheyenne, Wyoming1 contribution
Great experience! We only saw one Smooth Hammerhead but it was still amazing! Nick was our guide and he had a lot of information about the area sharks.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacobsuba, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Shark Dive
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for joining us. Smooth hammerheads are some of the most elusive shark species to be able to see in the water because of their sometimes shy nature. It's really a special treat for us to be able to share that interaction with you. I am happy to hear you enjoyed it. I hope you will join us again!
Read more
KellyRemington wrote a review Jun 20
Grande Prairie, Canada48 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Me and my man went snorkeling with sharks through cabosharkdive.Com The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The whole experience was great. We had previously been 3 years prior and sadly didn't have any luck but we've decided to try our luck again. This time we got lucky and managed to see a shark!!!! The water were quite choppy and it was a little hard to hold on to the rope while holding on to the go pro while having your eyes peeled for any potential action to happen. The waters are also cold during April so they provided us with a wetsuit which helped to retain some body heat. We were thankful for having those or i might not have stayed in the water long enough to see a shark in the water. During the boat ride and the waiting around for sharks to show up they explain how the area was formed, what sharks are in the area, the currents and everything you need to know. They also go over all the rules on what and what not to do when getting in the water. They provide water and a snack (bag of chips). They also provide mask and snorkel if you don't have your own. I do suggest to bring a windbreaker or sweatshirt as it can get chilly out there on the water on the way there early morning and especially when you've been in the cold water on the ride back If you are prone to being sea sick i do suggest taking some gravol to help. Since my last pregnancy I get motion sickness easily. Gravol helped to get me through. I did end up launching my cookies overboard as when i got back onto the board i got a mouthful of salt water which just didn't sit right. But I was alright after that We took a cab there and we were dropped off by captain Tony's. The walkway to get there is small as there is a market set up in the middle... and let's just say it doesn't smell the greatest while you walk towards the marina. Once out of the walkway the smell is gone. You could get dropped off a little further if you'd don't mind some extra walking on the marina boardwalk with which is a gorgeous walk in the morning before all the tourists arrive off the cruise ships. We also got to feed a sea lion that is well known in the marina and loves to get treats. He's a big fellow with a big appetite.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacobsuba, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Shark Dive
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the shark snorkel. We do our very best in providing as much information possible about the tour, including making sure those prone to seasickness take seasickness medication. It really can make your trip. I appreciate you mentioning all the things we discuss during our briefing. We have made a big effort in providing lots of interesting information about the surrounding area, the ocean, and of course sharks. The idea is the more that you know, the more this will be lasting experience for our guests. We are happy you enjoyed it!
Read more
Jason Thibeault wrote a review Jun 11
Dallas, Texas4 contributions3 helpful votes
I want to start off saying that the crew was great. They are very helpful and kind and want their patrons to have the best experience possible. But there are a few things I want to call out. First, there is no indication anywhere on the website that you may be sitting in 4-5 foot swells. In fact, they said, choppy water is best for sharks because it's an indication of good currents. It's not good for people who might get motion sick, though. Second, you only sign the waivers when you get to the dock. That means you don't get to read the fine print: that they don't guarantee sharks. We didn't even get into the water. So it was a 4-hour board ride to bob in the chop. I get that they can't guarantee sharks but if I had know that it was going to cost me $200/person regardless, I might have opted for another operation. Unfortunately, I didn't know that until we were standing on the dock and ready to go. To me, holding that kind of information until the last minute isn't fair. The waivers, which indicate all of the caveats, including no refund for no sharks or motion sickness (which is totally understandable), should be available on the website and easily accessible. To be honest, I would have opted NOT to go on this charter knowing that I would receive no sort of refund if we never got into the water. Just doing the math, if they have an average of 8 people on the boar (we had 7) twice a day, that's $3200/day * 7 days a week * 52 weeks. I feel like they can afford to refund people, even 25%, for an outing in which we didn't even get into the water. Again, the crew was great and had we got into the water, I'm sure I wouldn't be writing this review. But what I feel I paid for and what I actually got are so different that this review is warranted. Just beware before booking.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacobsuba, General Manager at Cabo Shark Dive
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate that you likes our crew, that is top notch in Cabo. Our waivers say extactly the same of our company policy, that is clearly specified on our website, a policy that you accepted before booking and before paying any money. All our guests, like you did, have to accept our no refund policy ( in case of no Sharks or sea sickness) that is on our website, to finalize the booking. All this is before any payments. Our guests, same as you, know what they are buying before they pay the ticket, because transparency with customers is a key for us. For that reason, you were fully aware about our no refund policy before booking and before that tour. We are not responsable if a guest doesn’t read our policy before accepting it before booking. We always offer to our guest the chance to go in the Water even with no Sharks, but if the guests refuse to jump in ( for example because they are seasick) that is not our fault as well. We explicitly recommend on our confirmation e-mails and on the policy to take seasickness pills 45 minutes prior the departure, to avoid seasickness. Regarding the weather, there are obviously days with very calm water and days more choppy, remember this the Pacific Ocean, but we never go out if the conditions are not safe for crew and guests. That day the Port Was regularly open for any boat activities outside the Bay.
Read more
Edward B wrote a review Jun 4
1 contribution
The snorkelling in Cabo is fantastic, but this trip (4 hours) was exhorbitantly expensive for what we got. We spent 3/4 of the time motoring around attempting to see rays and dolphins (a few ray sightings, no dolphins), when the best snorkeling was easily accessible near Cabo in shallow water. There are numerous providers at the marina which will take you for 1/8 the cost with no deposit lock in.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Jacobsuba, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Shark Dive
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed the snorkeling on our Baja Ocean Safari. This tour costs more because we go our further and have opportunities to see much more marine life. On some trips we have opportunities for whales, dolphins, orcas, huge aggregations of mobulas in addition to the great reef snorkeling. We go out and do our best to find the best interactions we can. It sounded like you enjoyed where we snorkeled, which is a 30min boat ride from the local area. Local boats will not take you to this particular area nor will they go out looking for the type of marine life we were looking for and have experience interacting with. Thank you for joining us.
Read more
S N wrote a review May 2022
North Branch, Minnesota26 contributions5 helpful votes
Our tour guide was very well experienced and made sure that everyone was safe to get into the water with the sharks. It took a while to get a shark in but we did see about 4 or 5 of them. We did have to go earlier then we wanted to originally as the water was rough but the operator made sure to contact us in advance to let us know. The tour guide also got some great footage of us swimming with the sharks and the sharks themselves
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from davecK4529OA, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Shark Dive
Responded May 9, 2022
It sounds like we did a great job! We always keep our guests informed if/when we have windy conditions so we can ensure the best conditions possible. In this case, it sounds like we made the right decision. 4-5 mako sharks is a pretty incredible experience. Let me put this in perspective- there's nowhere else in the world where you can, 20 minutes from the marina, jump in the water and swim with 4-5 makos. These are endangered species and very rare for anyone to see 1 let alone, 4-5 . Thank you for the review.
Read more
Previous
123456