We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Calle Chetumal Km. 269.5, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Phone Number:
+52 888 449 3562
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
$450.00*
and up
Sport-fishing Private Charter in the Riviera Maya
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 472 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 298
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 27
    Poor
  • 48
    Terrible
Great for Beginners

This review is a rather late..apologises I have sailed with Captain Ricks twice now (May and September 2016 both 4 hour trips) and on both occasions had great sport. Plenty of... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
woody373
,
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Playa del Carmen

Add Photo Write a Review

472 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 451: English reviews
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We went on the Reel Stripper and had the very best time. Glenna worked hard to accommodate us and we had the time of our lives. Caught fish caught the sun rays it was absolutely amazing.

Helpful?
Thank wildhearts818
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On March 17th my 10 year old son and I took a 4hr trip and had a lot of fun. Rumor had it that other boats we not catching anything we had a lot of action and were able to boat a few fish on a shared charter. We will use Captain Ricks again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank bbduck2017
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Five years in a row we have returned to Riviera Maya & the same resort; each year we book at least one new excursion. All have been successful & of top quality. Most we have booked through Amstar. This year with 5 couples, the "men only" booked what was to be a "deep sea" fishing adventure through Raul, the Amstar... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
Glenna U, General Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

Since you were not on the charter and just reporting second hand I will try my best to respond to your report. I am sorry that the men in your party reported to you that they were disappointed. First, we do not know anything about your free lunch to Senior Frogs and that should not be a part of this... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To start off they took three hours from the hotel to when we left for our charter. The captain never introduced himself to us never came and said a word the entire trip. The deckhand Lester was OK. There's not many big fish that time of year i.e. Marlin and sailfish. We told them we just wanted to go for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kevin j
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

We know where you were staying and the day you fished so we were able to check the electronic transportation report. You were picked up at 7:02 and the fishing trip left at 9:00 so it was not three hours from the time you left your hotel until you got to fish. The captain makes the decision at what speed... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chartered a big boat "Big Fish" I believe it was 48'. There was only 4 of us but we wanted a big boat because we were thinking it would be less likely we would get sick plus we wanted a nice comfortable boat. The boat was filthy, dirty and run down. Screen on the windows where ripped, the carpet... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lizandfrank
Glenna U, General Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

The problem about responding to reviews is that customers do not always say what they really mean. For example, you say the ceiling had a leak. It did not have a leak. You would not keep the door shut with the air conditioner on so there was condensation dripping from the ceiling. It is impossible for the air conditioner to... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is a rather late..apologises I have sailed with Captain Ricks twice now (May and September 2016 both 4 hour trips) and on both occasions had great sport. Plenty of Dorado, including some nice Bulls and several Sailfish. I booked the trips through our hotel concierge but you can book direct, which I recommend if you are a party... More 

Helpful?
Thank woody373
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a 4hr trip through air transat and was picked up by our driver actually 10 minutes early and arrived at our location safely...was with 2 other couples on the boat named marlin magic, boat ride was a lil rough but that is to be expected, trolled for 2hrs and bottom fished for 2hrs...crew worked extra hard to get us... More 

Helpful?
Thank sdmp78
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just went fishing in Feb 2017 with Captain Rick's charter... SO easy to book - Glenna in the office is fantastic! Drop her an e-mail or give her a call, and she'll let you know when charters are available to join as a single person. Set rates are $110 USD for half day (9am - 1pm) or $190 USD... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2017

Things are fine, people, boat, etc, just it's not a pictured fishing trip. We expected the boat the stop in the middle of the sea, at a calm spot, and we fish & chill there. Instead, it's "deep sea fishing" and the boat keep riding at its full speed, against waves, over and over again, throughout the journey. Our fault... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin L
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2017

back to the area for our annual vacation and first stop was booking another fishing trip with Captain Rick's. Quick and easily done with the friendly office staff in the marina. Had a half day morning trip on the Manetto, with Captain Lucho and mate Johnny. They are one of our favorite teams. We had a newbie with us this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim L

Travelers who viewed Captain Ricks Sport Fishing also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Captain Ricks Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Captain Ricks Sport Fishing and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Captain Ricks Sport Fishing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?