We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dive Mexico Playa

Features Animals
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
More
About Dive Mexico Playa
Welcome to Dive Mexico Playa here in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. A locally owned and operated dive centre, we offer world class service with experienced instructors and dive masters from all around the world
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

Dive Mexico Playa
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
81Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
OlegVino wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York22 contributions53 helpful votes
We did a Cenotes dive on January 1st, 2021. Everything went perfectly! The communication with the shop was excellent before the dive. They picked us up from our hotel and drove to Dos Ojos cenotes park. We had 2 guides - Paco and Emerson. Both guys were super nice, helpful and accommodating. They made us feel safe and happy the entire trip. Both guys spoke excellent English and were very knowledgeable and engaging. The dive was awesome and we felt very safe in the water and during the whole trip. Thank you Paco and Emerson! And thank you Manuel for making this happen on such a short notice during the day when everyone else was closed for New Year. Highly recommend this dive shop!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andrekita wrote a review Dec 2020
Seattle14 contributions
Two different dive trips, both great. On the first trip, my adult son and I did a super convenient 2 tank dive just off Playa's shore. The first tank was a bullshark dive with Paco and Emerson (who was in the process of getting his instructor certification). The second tank was closer to shore and not too deep, about 45 feet. Although it was not like the giant reefs in Cozumel, there was the most surprising variety of marine life - although all life was small -- there were all sorts of sponges, anemones, snails, the biggest variety of fish I can remember seeing on one dive, and even a couple eels. It was like the land version of walking through a meadow with birds and flowers everywhere. My son really liked the bullshark dive, I thought it was just okay. You have to stay on a line on the ocean bottom and not move around. This is a sandy bottom with nothing really to look at except this sharks that periodically swim by. My son and I were the only ones on this small boat with Paco and Emerson. It was clear they had a good working relationship, and it felt like an afternoon of hanging out and diving with old friends. Since Emerson was getting his instructor certification, he did the review and check of equipment, explained the trip and process, and he was really clear and thorough. My husband joined my son and I on our second dive trip which was to Cozumel. Our first tank was at Santa Rosa the second tank at a sunken ship. Mario was our instructor for this trip - like Paco and Emerson, he was knowledgeable, super nice, and upbeat. This was probably my fourth time diving Santa Rosa ( over a period of about 30 years), I always forget how amazing and beautiful this reef is until I see it again. The sunken ship was okay - but it needs to be down there another 10 years to get more life growing on and around it. This is a great dive shop. Right now, alot of shops (especially those located on the beach at Playa) are giving you the choice to take the ferry Playa to Cozumel on your own and meet them there OR to pay an additional $30-$50 to take you to Cozumel from Playa on a fast boat where they will deliver you to the dive boat. SERIOUSLY? Dive Mexico Playa seems to "boat pool" with other shops - so there might be 2 or 3 different outfits on your boat- each shop providing its own instruction to their clients. But, I really enjoyed this trip and I saw no down side of "pooling" . They seem like they try to get a consensus on where everyone wants to dive - so if you are pretty firm on which site you want to dive - this could be an issue. I would really recommend this shop.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
FunTravels wrote a review Dec 2020
12 contributions9 helpful votes
Love this place! Every staff person is friendly, knowledgeable, and dedicated to people having great experiences under the sea. I got to know everyone - Manuel, Andrea, Mario, Paco, Jorge, and more — as they led me through watching videos, practicing in the pool, and doing dives in the sea en route to my PADI scuba certification. They provided all the gear and instructional materials. I was elated tumbling backwards off the boat, descending into the depths, and swimming with large tortoises, large and small manta rays, and tons of gorgeous vivid brightly colored fish in the coral reef. So invigorating and peaceful at the same time. Fantastic experience.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
george j wrote a review Feb 2020
Winnipeg, Canada4 contributions
We booked a cenote tour with Playa scuba dive centre in Jan and we are glad we did. We explored other vendors along 5th Ave but found these guys to be most knowledgeable. Thanks to Rudolph for setting up the the trip and Mario our fabulous guide. Our trip took us to Chikin-ha for a private guided tour of the cenotes.The first one was an open water cenote,not many fish still still cool. After a break with fresh fruit and water we went to the second one which was a cavern and the third was a dried up cenote where they were preparing it for a wedding. To cap it off Mario took us to a taco stand on the highway for a delicious lunch. The whole tour lasted just over 4 hours. I highly recommend
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DIVE MEXICO P, Gerente at Dive Mexico Playa
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear George, Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you’ll come back with us again soon for another great adventoure. Don’t hesitate to call if there is anything we can help you with. Yours sincerely Mario Sanabria Operation Manager
Read more
alvosc wrote a review Jan 2020
Europe22 contributions15 helpful votes
We had a very disappointing snorkel outing. Don‘t get me wrong. The actual owners and guys running the Dive Mexico Shop are lovely and super helpful. Really nice people trying to offer the best service they can. BUT.... the problem is, they don‘t own the boats they then send you out with. This is true for all scuba and dive shops in Playa del Carmen, and not just these guys. But it basically means that your experience with the dive shop you contract a service from and the actual boat then sub-contracted to execute the excursion, are completely disconnected. And our actual boat experience was terrible. You name it.... i) the boat was 45 minutes late; ii) the boat captain was unfriendly from the very beginning; iii) the boat engine broke on the way to the snorkelling destination, so that while we snorkelled the captain agreed with another boat to be towed back into the port; iv) we had to wait almost an hour until the towing boat was ready to leave; v) our captain and the towing boat captain got into a physical fist-fight over the entire towing procedure, in front of us and our children, and in front on the tourists of the other boat and their children. In the end, what was going to be a quick 2 hour snorkel excursion turned into a 4+ hour adventure. I feel bad having to review this as I am, given the friendliness of the staff. But I also think future tourists deserve to be warned that the dive shops depend on the boats they subcontract, and then it‘s just the luck of the draw. I wouldn‘t contract either snorkelling or scuba tours in Playa del C again. Not from here, not from anywhere. To their credit, the store owners offered a full reimbursement and were visibly upset to hear of our experience. I wish them the very best for the future. But until they can figure out a way where they have full quality control over the entire value chain, I am afraid things will not improve in Playa del Carmen.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DIVE MEXICO P, Gerente at Dive Mexico Playa
Responded Jan 11, 2020
Thank you for your honest opinion. We apologize for any inconveniences. It is important to take into account, as you mention, that we are an aquatic services agency and you were referred to a frequent allied operator. Even so, it is very disappointing to hear what happened, since as you can read the comments, all our clients, they always have wonderful experiences. Our effort to improve customer service every day is to dedicate many means and efforts to provide adequate training to all employees and strategic allies. In this sense we have taken the necessary measures to prevent similar situations from happening again. As a follower of our services, your comments are very valuable for the company. Again reiterating our apologies, receive our sincere greetings
Read more
Previous
123456