We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marietas Islands

Features Animals
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
More
About Marietas Islands
Hidden Beach Snorkeling Hidden Beach Snorkeling To Reach This Secluded Paradise, The Swimmers Need To Go Through A Short Tunnel And Swim From The Boat A Distance Of 200 Meters. Love Beach Our Marietas Islands Snorkeling Trip Is Different From Other Trips. We Only Take Small Groups And Our Trip Is Really Focused On Snorkeling And Enjoying The Beauty Of The Islands. We Also Tour Around The Island For Sightseeing.
Read more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Travelers talk about
55Reviews17Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 4
  • 3
  • 8
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jay & Bee's Travels wrote a review Nov 28
Tijuana, Mexico5 contributions1 helpful vote
The Entire thing was amazing. The Beach Boys crew aboard the Bora Bora were lovely, fun and full of energy. Nothing buy laughs and ewww and awws as the dolphins and whales swam along the bay. The captain even made a quick detour so we could all see the whales and dolphins. The entire staff went far and beyond to ensure that we all got to experience what we were there to experience-and then some. From the snorkling to the kayaking to exploring the beach and simply taking in the views as we sailed along. It was more than we expected and could ever ask for. A day to remember.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Tara J wrote a review Mar 2020
Provo2 contributions2 helpful votes
We have been wanting to snorkel marietas for 10 years, today we did the tour. 7 hour excursion with marietas and another one that starts with an M. This was advertised as a SNORKELING trip. However the water is so murky you cant see ANYTHING . Dont fall for the pictures...photoshopped is a wonderful thing It also said that there would be kayaking and paddle boarding available....nope. it was 7 hours of boring , bad music, no snorkeling, we get back to the drop off point and tell them how upset and disappointed we are. The lady says she called over to our hotel who booked our trip and that the manager said he would take care of getting us a different one free. We get back to the hotel SHE COMLLETELY LIED TO US TO GET US OUT OF THERE. nobody at the hotel knew anything and miraculously she couldnt be reached. Waste of money and time HORRIBLE if u want to snorkel. If you want a 7 hour boat ride go for it.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda_monroy, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marietas Islands
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Thanks for your comments, we only offer tours by our website, we don't have sellers at any hotel, we are very sorry you had a disappointing tour, Marietas Islands is now a national park and we have an exclusive reservation to follow the rules to preserve the islands. We also have another tour that visit the islands, but no hidden beach exclusive access, where you can have this fun activities close to the islands like kayak, snorkel and paddle boarding, there is an activity where you go in a small boat to visit closer around the islands, bun not hidden beach, as this area have more rules for a good preservation. The activities depend on the weather and tide and any company have a control of that, we hope you can have an opportunity to enjoy this tour and visit hidden beach. We wish you be health and close to your love ones.
Read more
Allan S wrote a review Mar 2020
Regina, Canada12 contributions
+1
Doesn't include access to the hidden beach, which is the main attraction. For that, you apparently have to book a couple months in advance, since the government is tightening up the public access for preservation reasons. Otherwise was a nice tour. We didn't snorkel, since we weren't experienced (no experience was necessary, however the waves were pretty big and most people that went said it was a hard swim and the water wasn't very clear.) Instead we just kayaked, which was great. They stopped along the way a few times for whale watching, and gave us some great views of the humpbacks. Friendly staff and good tour guide. Food (breakfast and lunch) was good. After Marietas, they took us to Playa Majahuitas, a pretty little secluded beach (must swim a short distance from the boat to the shore, so bring a waterproof camera bag if you plan on taking pictures). Kids had fun getting towed on the banana boats and paddleboarding. Nice hammocks to lounge in, but not very many available. Drinks included. A few folks were sea-sick, but that's to be expected with a tour group this big (about 70). Kinda crowded but not too bad. Seating was plastic lawn chairs. The entertainment on the ride back was kinda silly (air band performance), but still fun. We were the last to get on the boat, which turned out well since we got front row seats for the sights/whales. They had very good photographers who collected beautiful family shots throughout the entire tour, which was nice especially when we were doing activities and couldn't photo ourselves. Price for a photo book, digitals, and a 8x10 metal print was $100US (after some negotiation) and was worth it for me. Prints were delivered to our resort the next day. The process of boarding took quite a while - long lineups with multiple tours leaving around the same time from the marina. No single-use plastics or disposable water bottles allowed. A full day's trip, starting pretty early.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda_monroy, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marietas Islands
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Thanks for your comments, we wish you be health and close to your love ones.
Read more
Jane S wrote a review Feb 2020
Penticton, Canada79 contributions27 helpful votes
A wonderful five hour day with a great boat ride to an amazing area of the Marietas Islands for an Eco-Discovery Tour. Along the way we saw many whales and our guides told the history of the area. After guided snorkelling in an area around the island, we went aboard and had a fabulous lunch, drinks included. Then we were off on the boat again to another area where we stopped at a great beach where we could just hang out and/or do a bit of kayaking or paddle boarding. Once it was time to finish off the day, back on board, we were treated to an hilarious 'show' by the crew. Through the day, everyone was treated with special attention to our needs and very informative. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for a fun-filled day. It was definitely worth the money.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda_monroy, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marietas Islands
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Best of the time to also be lucky enjoy whales from December 12 to March 15, thanks for your comment and a good recommendation of a good time! we wish you be health and close to your love ones.
Read more
Ronald M wrote a review Feb 2020
Montreal, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
Beware of the various sales pitches out on the street for this tour, anywhere from 1400 to 2400 pesos. It takes in the full day and includes a nice breakfast and later the lunch with all drinks provided. Bring a towel, hat, sunscreen and sunglasses. Snorkeling gear and life jacket is supplied. The twin hulled boat comes with upper and lower decks. Proceeding about 20 miles out to the Islands which are off the norther tip of Banderos Bay we did see some interesting sea birds overhead and some dolphins. The sea had quite a swell, and in my opinion not necessarily the right type of boat to deal with the swell resulting in quite a few people being seasick. Once in the calm of the islands snorkeling is organised, we were instructed to proceed as close to the rocky shoreline as possible to do our snorkelling but not to attempt to climb on the rocks as the place is environmentally protected. We did see a few interesting fish but not that many. Then on to the next island a few hundred meters onwards where we were told that we could go onto a small sandy beach but we had to swim there as the boats are not allowed to hit the shore, again environmentally protected. We hung around on this interesting little piece of land for about a good 3/4 hour (15 mins would have done) before being informed to swim back out to our boat. Once back on the tour boat and as it was January (whale season extends thro Feb.) we saw some spectacular whale jumpings and this was the highlight of the days boat trip. My wife doesn't particularly swim so she had to spend the full day sitting on the boat. At 1400 pesos (US74.00) it was an OK days trip, but the Los Archos Island offers much better snorkelling and calmer waters. RonMacD
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Brenda_monroy, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marietas Islands
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Best of the time to also be lucky enjoy whales from December 12 to March 15, this tour have more activities as you travel in a catamaran boat, we have chance to bring food, kayaks, boards. Islands are in Bahia de banderas no in Puerto Vallarta so get ready to travel. we have other option where you can come by car to Bahia de Banderas and travel 15 min by boat to the islands. We appreciate your comments, we seriously commitment to follow the rules to preserve the islands!
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Puerto Vallarta
from $89.00
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info