We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rouken Glen Garden Centre

Open Now: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
BE AWARE THIS IS GLASGOW NIT EDINBURGH ROOKEN GLEN

Edinburgh branch is fantastic with high quality food. Any comments here are for Glasgow branch. It... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
David R
via mobile
More of a fancy goods shop than a garden centre

I have been going to this place for years. Over the years the garden area has been getting smaller... read more

Reviewed March 18, 2019
Colin M
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Read all 147 reviews
All photos (37)
All photos (37)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“rouken glen”(19 reviews)
“garden centre”(45 reviews)
“tea room”(6 reviews)
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
57°
41°
May
60°
46°
Jun
63°
49°
Jul
Contact
Rouken Glen Road, Giffnock G46 7JL, Scotland
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
61
46
15
7
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
61
46
15
7
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rouken glen garden centre tea room coffee shop my opinion garden furniture cakes on display many years free parking sunny day b q a bit pricey first class lovely evening plants cafe
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was here this week for the first time. Amazing array of plants, best selection of culinary herb plants I've seen in years. Well stocked gardening equipment section, with very reasonable prices indeed. Really chilled out atmosphere and very helpful staff.Great gift shop, something for every...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Cherds1967
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the garden centre is alright, the Cafe is an outdated disgrace. Only one guy there had an ounce of expression on their face and actually spoke louder than a bored whisper. No customer service at all! The cake was alright, but the hot chocolate...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank RachelM5873
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Edinburgh branch is fantastic with high quality food. Any comments here are for Glasgow branch. It is unfortunate that when searching Rooken Glen a very negative review often appears first in any search.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank David R
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited the cafe for breakfast, but disappointed with the content, square sausage was hard as was the bacon, a pot of tea consisted of a jug of hot water and a tea bag nestling in the cup.There is free parking and an extensive array of...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank menubuster
roukenglengarden, Public Relations Manager at Rouken Glen Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there We are sorry to hear about this regarding your food order. We would have been more than happy to have dealt with this matter if it had been raised with us at the time of your visit. Please do not hesitate in contacting...More

Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Plenty to see in this garden centre, from garden furniture, plants, trees, to many household items. There are a lot of quality items but don’t expect to get a bargain as I have seen many similar items cheaper elsewhere. There is also an on site...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank PeterY5
Reviewed March 18, 2019

I have been going to this place for years. Over the years the garden area has been getting smaller as fancy goods have taken over the majority of the shop floor. The plant section outside is still impressive with some really nice plants and pots....More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Colin M
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

Don’t ever bad review, as work in the customer service industry but I was shocked at what I saw. On a day out going round different garden centres were visiting Rouken glen for the first time witnessed a member of staff shouting across the shop...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Laneylot
roukenglengarden, Public Relations Manager at Rouken Glen Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Hi there, I am very sorry to hear about this experience. I have raised this as a matter of urgency and will now be dealing with this internally to ensure that something like this doesn't t not occur again. We have always strived in achieved...More

Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

Came here for lunch for my granny’s birthday as she used to love coming here. Lunch was fairly average... portions were tiny and food was definitely overpriced. However, on leaving the garden centre we unfortunately witnessed very bad customer service from one woman with blonde...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MSMcJenkins
roukenglengarden, Public Relations Manager at Rouken Glen Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Hi there, I am very sorry to hear about this experience. I have raised this as a matter of urgency and will now be dealing with this internally to ensure that something like this doesn't t not occur again. We have always strived in achieved...More

Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

I am giving 1 star because it needs to select one. We started in cafe where service was none existent and then were over charged which we didn’t notice untill food was finished. After this we walked round the garden centre something my partner regularly...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Gmeechan-13
roukenglengarden, Public Relations Manager at Rouken Glen Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Hi there, I am very sorry to hear about this experience. I have raised this as a matter of urgency and will now be dealing with this internally to ensure that something like this doesn't t not occur again. We have always strived in achieved...More

Reviewed December 19, 2018 via mobile

It’s definitely the right time of year to review Rouken Glen garden centre! It’s a bit of a tradition for me to visit the centre a few extra times in the run up to Christmas as it’s absolutely brilliant for the little ones (though there’s...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Thomohawk86
roukenglengarden, Public Relations Manager at Rouken Glen Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2018

Hi there Many thanks for your kind words and review. We are all delighted that you come along to our Centre to enjoy the Christmas atmosphere! We hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Orchard Park Hotel
165 reviews
.94 miles away
Redhurst Hotel
442 reviews
1.05 miles away
Premier Inn Glasgow Newton Mearns (M77 J4) Hotel
567 reviews
1.51 miles away
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
253 reviews
1.55 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
Banco Glasgow
203 reviews
.73 miles away
The Courtyard Indian Resturant
40 reviews
.06 miles away
The Boathouse
120 reviews
.49 miles away
L'Chaim's Kosher Restaurant Ltd
16 reviews
.91 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Rouken Glen Park
58 reviews
.31 miles away
Whitecraigs Golf Club
10 reviews
.89 miles away
Rouken Glen Golf Course
7 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alex F
June 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from coldal9305 | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately dogs are not allowed in Rouken Glen GC. I hope this unfortunate situation will change soon as competitors have moved to actually become dog friendly.
1
Vote
Hind A
December 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Keith J | Reviewed this property |
Look onto Google it will confirm opening times. K
0
Votes